You are not logged in.

#1 2009-01-15 18:13:25

000krf
Member
Registered: 2008-10-30
Posts: 23

XMonad: Could not find module XMonad.Util.EZConfig

I've just installed and am trying to configure XMonad. I'm following the step-by-step guide to configuring xmonad from the xmonad web site.

Here is my current xmonad.hs file:

import XMonad
import XMonad.Hooks.DynamicLog
import XMonad.Hooks.ManageDocks
import XMonad.Util.Run(spawnPipe)
import XMonad.Util.EZConfig(additionalKeys)
import System.IO

main = do
   xmproc <- spawnPipe "/usr/bin/xmobar /home/kent/.xmonad/xmobar"
   xmonad $ defaultConfig {
                manageHook = manageDocks <+> manageHook defaultConfig,
                layoutHook = avoidStruts  $  layoutHook defaultConfig
                logHook = dynamicLogWithPP $ xmpbarPP {
                                   ppOutput = hPutStrLn xmproc
                                   ppTitle = xmobarColor "green" "" . shorten 50
               modMask = mod4Mask     --Rebind Mod to the Windows Key
} `additionalKeys`
[((mod4Mask .|. shiftMask, xK_z),
   spawn "xscreensaver-command -lock")
 ((controlMask, xK_Print), spawn "scrot -s"),
 ((0, xK_Print), spawn "scrot")
]

Then when I run

ghci -v ~/.xmonad/xmonad.hs

I get (in part)

*** Chasing depencies:
Chasing modules from: /home/kent/ .xmonad/xmonad.hs

/home/kent/.xmonad/xmonad.hs:5:7
       Could not find module `Xmonad.Util.EZConfig':
           locations searched:
             XMonad/Util/EZConfig.hs
             XMonad/Util/EZConfig.lhs
Failed, modules loaded: none.
Prelude> (cursor)

Any help appreciated.

Kent

Last edited by 000krf (2009-01-15 19:25:57)

Offline

#2 2009-01-15 19:23:01

PeteMo
Member
From: H'Burg, VA
Registered: 2006-01-26
Posts: 191
Website

Re: XMonad: Could not find module XMonad.Util.EZConfig

You need to capitalize the M in XMonad; eg change Xmonad.Util.EZConfig -> XMonad.Util.EZConfig in the import line.

Offline

#3 2009-01-15 19:25:37

000krf
Member
Registered: 2008-10-30
Posts: 23

Re: XMonad: Could not find module XMonad.Util.EZConfig

PeteMo wrote:

You need to capitalize the M in XMonad; eg change Xmonad.Util.EZConfig -> XMonad.Util.EZConfig in the import line.

Opps...

It is capitalized in my xmonad.hs file I'll correct my inital post.

Offline

#4 2009-01-15 19:36:04

pointone
Wiki Admin
From: Waterloo, ON
Registered: 2008-02-21
Posts: 379

Re: XMonad: Could not find module XMonad.Util.EZConfig

Have you installed xmonad-contrib? I think EZConfig is included in this package.


M*cr*s*ft: Who needs quality when you have marketing?

Offline

#5 2009-01-15 19:48:33

000krf
Member
Registered: 2008-10-30
Posts: 23

Re: XMonad: Could not find module XMonad.Util.EZConfig

pointone wrote:

Have you installed xmonad-contrib? I think EZConfig is included in this package.

I had not. I have now and re-ran "ghci -v ~/.xmonad/xmonad.hs" I get the following:

*** Parser:

/home/kent/.xmonad/xmonad.hs:13:17: parse error on input `='
*** Deleting temp files:
Deleting
Upsweep partially successful.
***Deleting temp files:
Deleting
Failed, modules loaded: none.

Offline

#6 2009-01-15 21:36:08

pointone
Wiki Admin
From: Waterloo, ON
Registered: 2008-02-21
Posts: 379

Re: XMonad: Could not find module XMonad.Util.EZConfig

Looks like you're missing a comma after "ppOutput = hPutStrLn xmproc" and a closing "}" after the entire logHook block.

*EDIT* -- and a comma after your layoutHook line. Possibly you're missing other commas, too. Remember that punctuation is important in Haskell and many other languages.

Last edited by pointone (2009-01-15 21:38:27)


M*cr*s*ft: Who needs quality when you have marketing?

Offline

#7 2009-01-15 22:41:45

000krf
Member
Registered: 2008-10-30
Posts: 23

Re: XMonad: Could not find module XMonad.Util.EZConfig

Thanks,

It seems to be working now.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB