You are not logged in.

#1 2009-01-07 19:10:21

Kruppe
Member
Registered: 2008-09-28
Posts: 30

Awesome3 and OpenOffice [Solved]

Im having trouble assigning a tag number in rc.lua to open office, does anyone know what name works for it? I know to get Firefox to appear on the desired tag I had to use the name "Gran Paradiso", otherwise awesome did not recognize it.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Kruppe (2009-01-08 16:39:44)

Offline

#2 2009-01-07 19:14:33

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: Awesome3 and OpenOffice [Solved]

Searching for 'awesome openoffice' yielded:

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=61185

Offline

#3 2009-01-07 19:38:37

andre.ramaciotti
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2007-04-06
Posts: 649

Re: Awesome3 and OpenOffice [Solved]

Run xprop in a terminal and click the OO.o window. Then use the string from the variable WM_CLASS(string) = "something".


(lambda ())

Offline

#4 2009-01-07 20:35:08

anrxc
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 834
Website

Re: Awesome3 and OpenOffice [Solved]

Help your self with this to tag all your other applications:

alias xpop='xprop | grep --color=none "WM_WINDOW_ROLE\|WM_CLASS" | xmessage -file - -center'

You need to install an RTFM interface.

Offline

#5 2009-01-08 16:28:17

patroclo7
Member
From: Bassano del Grappa, ITALY
Registered: 2006-01-11
Posts: 915

Re: Awesome3 and OpenOffice [Solved]

With the following in rc.lua:

keybinding({ modkey, "Ctrl" }, "i", function ()
                                        local s = mouse.screen
                                        if mypromptbox[s].text then
                                            mypromptbox[s].text = nil
                                        elseif client.focus then
                                            mypromptbox[s].text = nil
                                            if client.focus.class then
                                                mypromptbox[s].text = "Class: " .. client.focus.class .. " "
                                            end
                                            if client.focus.instance then
                                                mypromptbox[s].text = mypromptbox[s].text .. "Instance: ".. client.focus.instance .. " "
                                            end
                                            if client.focus.role then
                                                mypromptbox[s].text = mypromptbox[s].text .. "Role: ".. client.focus.role
                                            end
                                        end
                                    end):add()

(from the default rc.lua), it is enough to press ctrl + mod4 + 1 and you get the class in your awesome prompt box.


Mortuus in anima, curam gero cutis

Offline

#6 2009-01-08 16:38:57

Kruppe
Member
Registered: 2008-09-28
Posts: 30

Re: Awesome3 and OpenOffice [Solved]

skottish, thanks for the effort but thats not what I was looking for, to everyone else thanks very much thats exactly what I was looking for!

Offline

#7 2009-02-02 11:49:22

capnfabs
Member
From: Wollongong, Australia
Registered: 2008-12-27
Posts: 32
Website

Re: Awesome3 and OpenOffice [Solved]

Just another thanks to everyone for this.
Also a note: i was having problems with a notification window that doesn't accept focus, and thus the rc.lua version doesn't work -- in this case, the xprop | xmessage version works a treat smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB