You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-02 20:47:16

neri
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, Canada
Registered: 2003-05-04
Posts: 552

XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Hi guys,

Andy and myself have been busy to prepare the new xfce-4.6 release. Despite the very moderate version number update, there are some major changes in the internals. The mcs plugin system is dead, as in not alive anymore. The re is a new configuration system instead called xfconf. The xfce author did a fine job on finding old 4.4 configs and migrating them for you you to 4.6. Worked fine for me and for Andy but not for ise ... so we do need testing and if your xfce4 config is a matter of life or death, do a backup.
Second major change is the mixer uses the gst-streamer now. There is nothing we can do about it(yes, I don't like gst-streamer tongue ) but you have to make sure that you install the plugins for your audio device.
There are some changes in the way the shortcuts are triggered (my beloved Ctrl+Shift+arrow for resizing is gone) but you will figure it all out.

I know, I'm listing the negative things here, but don't worry, there is a lot of good new stuff in there so give it a shot. Report the bugs and the success of cause.

Peace!

Offline

#2 2009-02-02 20:56:05

xaiviax
Member
From: Michigan
Registered: 2008-11-04
Posts: 282

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Looking forward to it...  Timeline on i686?

Edit:  and here it is  smile

Last edited by xaiviax (2009-02-02 22:09:26)

Offline

#3 2009-02-02 21:30:53

Dextro
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 16

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Nice! Off to download it now. I was thinking of compiling xfce 4.6 to try it out on my laptop but never had the time. Can't wait to give it a shot big_smile

Offline

#4 2009-02-02 22:15:25

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,636

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

i686 is now also done. give it a try.

Offline

#5 2009-02-03 01:59:57

Maki
Member
From: Skopje, Macedonia
Registered: 2007-10-16
Posts: 345
Website

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

pacman -Sy testing/xfce4 (testing is behind core) doesn't work ?
There are also conflicts when trying to install it with testing before core. :: xfce4-settings: conflicts with xfce-mcs-manager

Last edited by Maki (2009-02-03 02:05:34)


If it ain't broke, broke it then fix it.

Offline

#6 2009-02-03 02:31:14

Ranguvar
Member
From: Our collective subconscious
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 2,515
Website

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Are you using testing fully? Packages from testing aren't engineered to work outside a fully testing system.

Offline

#7 2009-02-03 02:37:04

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,329
Website

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Running it now.  Upgrade went without an issue (exited XFCE first).

May be a package issue:
When I right click on the menu and go properties, I get a message saying "Error starting the file '/etc/xdg/xfce4/desktop': No such file or directory".

Minor annoyances for me (nothing to do with packaging...):
- The system tray is sort by name of program rather than launch order
- The text size in terminal is smaller.  I used to use size 11. Now 12 is too small and 13 is too large
- The text size in mousepad is larger.  I used to use 12.  Now 11 is too large and 10 is too small
- How do I edit the menu?  I used to be able to right click and edit

Offline

#8 2009-02-03 03:44:28

peart
Member
From: Kanuckistan
Registered: 2003-07-28
Posts: 510

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Allan wrote:

- The text size in terminal is smaller.  I used to use size 11. Now 12 is too small and 13 is too large

Hey Allan,

I also noticed that monospaced fonts got smaller, and kinda stumbled upon a "feature" (bug?).  I went into the Settings Manager, under Appearance.  Under the "Fonts" tab, I checked the "Custom DPI settings" box.  It was previously set to the system default of 98, but just checking the box and not changing the value suddenly made my monospace fonts go back to the right size.

I haven't seen any problems with variable size fonts.

Thanks to neri and Andy for the pkgs.

Offline

#9 2009-02-03 03:59:15

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,329
Website

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

peart wrote:

I also noticed that monospaced fonts got smaller, and kinda stumbled upon a "feature" (bug?).  I went into the Settings Manager, under Appearance.  Under the "Fonts" tab, I checked the "Custom DPI settings" box.  It was previously set to the system default of 98, but just checking the box and not changing the value suddenly made my monospace fonts go back to the right size.

Nice find.  That makes all my font issues fixed but causes thunderbird to use smaller fonts throughout its interface (weird...).

Offline

#10 2009-02-03 04:28:01

kensai
Member
From: Puerto Rico
Registered: 2005-06-03
Posts: 2,475
Website

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

neri wrote:

Worked fine for me and for Andy but not for ise ...

You know, ise is a case all in himself. No wonder it didn't worked for him. LOL. HI, ise!!! I pwn you in Urbanterror. tongue

[serious]
Nice to see 4.6 is finally nearing a release, since it does contain some exiting features and system polish. I think they should release more often.
[/serious]


Follow me in: Identi.ca, Twitter, Google+

Offline

#11 2009-02-03 06:00:24

xaiviax
Member
From: Michigan
Registered: 2008-11-04
Posts: 282

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Allan wrote:

How do I edit the menu?  I used to be able to right click and edit

http://wiki.xfce.org/howto/customize-me … _menu_file

Offline

#12 2009-02-03 07:18:47

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

No issues, but since I was using xfce4-svn from the unofficial muflax repo this was to be expected.
But... where is mousepad? (32-bit repo)


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#13 2009-02-03 08:14:48

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,636

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Allan wrote:

May be a package issue:
When I right click on the menu and go properties, I get a message saying "Error starting the file '/etc/xdg/xfce4/desktop': No such file or directory".

I also don't have that file but I can open the properties dialog. I have it set to use the standard file for the menu, not a custom one (no idea how this is shown in english).

Offline

#14 2009-02-03 08:29:19

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,329
Website

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

AndyRTR wrote:
Allan wrote:

May be a package issue:
When I right click on the menu and go properties, I get a message saying "Error starting the file '/etc/xdg/xfce4/desktop': No such file or directory".

I also don't have that file but I can open the properties dialog. I have it set to use the standard file for the menu, not a custom one (no idea how this is shown in english).

I also use the standard file.  I created this directory and the error went away.  No idea what is going on there.

Offline

#15 2009-02-03 10:58:15

RaisedFist
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2007-01-30
Posts: 553
Website

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

how about xfce4-power-manager plugin? is it working fine? I don't want to mess with my laptop, I had issues with suspend already big_smile

Offline

#16 2009-02-03 20:12:45

xaiviax
Member
From: Michigan
Registered: 2008-11-04
Posts: 282

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

RaisedFist wrote:

how about xfce4-power-manager plugin? is it working fine? I don't want to mess with my laptop, I had issues with suspend already big_smile

I've never used suspend before (just not a feature I care for), but after updating to 4.6 suspend and hibernate were added to my log out options.  Since you asked, I tried it, and it worked just fine.

Offline

#17 2009-02-03 20:20:10

Roberth
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2007-01-12
Posts: 887

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Because of the absence of an menu editor Ill have no other choice than sticking to GNOME:(


Use the Source, Luke!

Offline

#18 2009-02-03 21:43:18

EVRAMP
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2008-10-03
Posts: 173
Website

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Hi, thank you for bringing us Xfce4.6!
There is a just one typo issue:

yaourt -Si xfce4-screenshooter
Conflicts  : xfce4-screenshooter-pluin  
Replace      : xfce4-screenshooter-pluin

pluin => plugin

Offline

#19 2009-02-03 22:02:16

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,636

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

thanks. just fixing the typo.

Offline

#20 2009-02-03 23:06:47

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

scarecrow wrote:

No issues, but since I was using xfce4-svn from the unofficial muflax repo this was to be expected.
But... where is mousepad? (32-bit repo)

I used muflax svn versions for some time too and have exactly zero issues.
xfce4-svn is so much more stable and "final" than kde4.2. smile

I don't use mousepad, i use leafpad instead. I changed because there are other programs starting with mouse so bash autocompletion worked better with fewer letters for leafpad...


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#21 2009-02-03 23:29:26

thunderogg
Member
From: Rio de Janeiro
Registered: 2008-07-13
Posts: 172

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

xaiviax wrote:
Allan wrote:

How do I edit the menu?  I used to be able to right click and edit

http://wiki.xfce.org/howto/customize-me … _menu_file

Cool! I just left openbox to get rid of the XML crap. Xfce 4.4.3 seemed perfect. And now this: XML editing. sad

Last edited by thunderogg (2009-02-03 23:30:53)

Offline

#22 2009-02-04 02:41:25

Renan Birck
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2007-11-11
Posts: 401
Website

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Works well here, but it destroyed the nice, shiny menu I had painstakingly edited to include all installed apps  sad sad sad

Offline

#23 2009-02-05 15:26:12

EVRAMP
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2008-10-03
Posts: 173
Website

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

I tried to add fusion-icon & to .xinitrc, but Xfce won't load - only wallpaper is shown. The same thing happened when I added fusion-icon into Automatically launched programmes (Session settings).
With Xfce 4.4 it works fine.
Can anyone confirm or am I doing something bad?

Offline

#24 2009-02-06 06:40:06

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

fusion-icon.desktop has to be added to ~.config/autostart, not to .xinitrc
It's working fine here- I can use it to change wm within xfce 4.6 between compiz, openbox and fvwm4 without issues (just some mildly annoying quirks when compiz is loaded and some apps go fullscreen).


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#25 2009-02-07 00:18:37

john_schaf
Member
From: France
Registered: 2007-02-24
Posts: 103

Re: XFCE 4.6 hits testing

Hi,

About the upgrade, my configs was messed-up, and font went HUGE.
I removed ~/.config/xfce4 and everything worked well.

Note that xfce was running during upgrade... roll

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB