You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-05 20:42:01

test1000
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 834

QT 4.5.0-rc1

Put it in your /var/abs/qt dir or copy it's contents elsewhere. It works for meTM and is faster than the beta for meTM, and the kde guys say it is(in their blog), or depending on how you interpret it, atleast faster than the stable version.

I don't think qtcopy is needed, that's why i didn't enable it. This is just a draft however, and works for me, and I haven't recompiled KDE4.2 after updating QT which also "seems to pse no problems"TM

# $Id: PKGBUILD 24831 2009-01-21 14:50:46Z pierre $
# Maintainer: Pierre Schmitz <pierre@archlinux.de>

pkgname=qt
pkgver=4.5.0
pkgrel=2
#_qtcopyver=918187
pkgdesc="The QT gui toolkit."
arch=('i686' 'x86_64')
url="http://www.trolltech.com/products/qt"
license=('GPL3')
options=('!libtool' '!docs')
depends=('libpng' 'libxi' 'mesa' 'fontconfig' 'libxrandr' 'glib2' 'libtiff' 'libmng' 'sqlite3' 'dbus' 'libxcursor' 'libxinerama')
optdepends=('postgresql-libs' 'libmysqlclient' 'unixodbc')
makedepends=('inputproto' 'postgresql-libs' 'mysql' 'unixodbc' 'cups' 'libxfixes')
provides=("qt4=${pkgver}")
replaces=('qt4')
conflicts=('qt4')
_pkgfqn=qt-x11-opensource-src-${pkgver}-rc1
#svn export -r -${_qtcopyver} svn://anonsvn.kde.org/home/kde/trunk/qt-copy/patches/ qt-copy-patches-${_qtcopyver}
source=("ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/source/${_pkgfqn}.tar.gz"
        'qt4-assistant.desktop' 'qt4-designer.desktop' 'qt4-linguist.desktop')

        #"ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/other/qt/qt-copy-patches-${_qtcopyver}.tar.bz2"
build() {
    unset QMAKESPEC
    export QT4DIR=$srcdir/$_pkgfqn
    export PATH=${QT4DIR}/bin:${PATH}
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=${QT4DIR}/lib:${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}

    cd $srcdir/$_pkgfqn
#    for i in $srcdir/qt-copy-patches-${_qtcopyver}/*; do
#        echo "applying $i"
#        patch -p0 -i $i
#    done

    # remove unwanted mkspecs
    cd mkspecs/
    find . -maxdepth 1 -regextype posix-egrep -type d ! -regex "./linux.*|./common|./features|./qws" -exec rm -rf "{}" \;
    cd qws
    find . -maxdepth 1 -regextype posix-egrep -type d ! -regex "./linux.*" -exec rm -rf "{}" \;
    cd ../../

    sed -i 's|-cp -P -f|-cp -L -f|' qmake/Makefile.unix
    sed -i "s|-O2|$CXXFLAGS|" mkspecs/common/g++.conf
    # fix postgres build
    sed -e '/pg_config --libs/d' -i configure
    # do not compile demos, examples and docs
    sed -i 's|CFG_NOBUILD_PARTS=""|CFG_NOBUILD_PARTS="demos examples docs"|' configure

    ./configure -confirm-license \
        -prefix /usr \
        -docdir /usr/share/doc/qt \
        -plugindir /usr/lib/qt/plugins \
        -datadir /usr/share/qt \
        -translationdir /usr/share/qt/translations \
        -sysconfdir /etc \
        -examplesdir /usr/share/doc/qt/examples \
        -demosdir /usr/share/doc/qt/demos \
        -no-exceptions \
        -plugin-sql-{psql,mysql,sqlite,odbc} \
        -system-sqlite \
        -no-phonon \
        -webkit \
        -no-separate-debug-info \
        -nomake examples \
        -nomake docs \
        -nomake demos \
        -system-libpng \
        -system-libjpeg \
        -system-zlib \
        -openssl-linked \
        -cups \
        -reduce-relocations \
        -xinerama \
        -xcursor \
        -xfixes \
        -optimized-qmake || return 1

    make || return 1
    make INSTALL_ROOT=$pkgdir install || return 1

    install -D -m644 tools/assistant/tools/assistant/images/assistant.png ${pkgdir}/usr/share/pixmaps/assistant.png
    install -D -m644 tools/linguist/linguist/images/appicon.png ${pkgdir}/usr/share/pixmaps/linguist.png
    install -D -m644 tools/designer/src/designer/images/designer.png ${pkgdir}/usr/share/pixmaps/designer.png
    install -d ${pkgdir}/usr/share/applications
    install -m644 ${srcdir}/qt4-{linguist,designer,assistant}.desktop ${pkgdir}/usr/share/applications/

    # cleanup and path fixes
    find $pkgdir/usr/lib -type f -name '*prl' -print -exec sed -i -e "/^QMAKE_PRL_BUILD_DIR/d" {} \;
    sed -i -e "s|-L$srcdir/${_pkgfqn}/lib||g" $pkgdir/usr/lib/pkgconfig/*.pc
    sed -i -e "s|$srcdir/${_pkgfqn}/bin/moc|/usr/bin/moc|g" $pkgdir/usr/lib/pkgconfig/*.pc
    sed -i -e "s|$srcdir/${_pkgfqn}/bin/uic|/usr/bin/uic|g" $pkgdir/usr/lib/pkgconfig/*.pc
}

If you want to put it in aur(remember to include the other files in updated abs qt dir), go ahead.

Last edited by test1000 (2009-02-05 20:42:44)


KISS = "It can scarcely be denied that the supreme goal of all theory is to make the irreducible basic elements as simple and as few as possible without having to surrender the adequate representation of a single datum of experience." - Albert Einstein

Offline

#2 2009-02-06 04:11:41

deltaecho
Member
From: Georgia (USA)
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 185

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

Great stuff @test1000, thanks!


Dylon

Offline

#3 2009-02-06 04:11:43

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

test1000 wrote:

If you want to put it in aur(remember to include the other files in updated abs qt dir), go ahead.

Don't put this in AUR. qt is in extra repo.

Offline

#4 2009-02-06 04:15:11

deltaecho
Member
From: Georgia (USA)
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 185

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

I won't, but I think the PKGBUILD is for the RC (I'll probably modify it to use /opt/qtrc as its prefix).


Dylon

Offline

#5 2009-02-06 04:24:49

agapito
Member
From: Who cares.
Registered: 2008-11-13
Posts: 641

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

Sounds interesting... Checking.


Excuse my poor English.

Offline

#6 2009-02-06 13:33:16

Mikko777
Member
From: Suomi, Finland
Registered: 2006-10-30
Posts: 837

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

Ty for making me test this ^^

kdm doesn't work with this btw and there are some anomalies in graphics with this...

but

It does seem to be faster indeed, doesn't fix the slow composite resizing with ati but makes it a bit better and 2d everything is very fast indeed.

http://doc.trolltech.com/4.5-snapshot/qt4-5-intro.html

Last edited by Mikko777 (2009-02-06 13:42:02)

Offline

#7 2009-02-07 00:50:13

sirius
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2008-12-25
Posts: 68

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

With -no-exceptions QtXmlPatterns will not be built, by the way...

Offline

#8 2009-02-07 11:07:30

dyscoria
Member
Registered: 2008-01-10
Posts: 1,007

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

sirius wrote:

With -no-exceptions QtXmlPatterns will not be built, by the way...

I've always built qt-copy with -no-exceptions thinking that i don't need QtXmlPatterns, but i've never really understood what it's actually used/useful for tongue
I think it's mentioned in the README that it improves memory use.

Last edited by dyscoria (2009-02-07 11:07:58)


flack 2.0.6: menu-driven BASH script to easily tag FLAC files (AUR)
knock-once 1.2: BASH script to easily create/send one-time sequences for knockd (forum/AUR)

Offline

#9 2009-02-07 11:28:08

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

That might provide a nice speedup.

Last edited by lucke (2009-02-07 11:28:40)

Offline

#10 2009-02-07 13:06:33

Damnshock
Member
From: Barcelona
Registered: 2006-09-13
Posts: 414

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

Well, I'll try to compile this version using the opengl rendering engine instead of raster/native and see how it behaves (let's hope it works well enought, 'cause it's supposed to be experimental)

I'll be back in some hours....

[edited]

I've gotta say that compiling with the opengl engine got my system to fo completely freeze :S. Let's try again with raster...

Last edited by Damnshock (2009-02-07 18:28:16)


My blog: blog.marcdeop.com
Jabber ID: damnshock@jabber.org

Offline

#11 2009-02-07 22:38:08

deltaecho
Member
From: Georgia (USA)
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 185

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

I compiled Qt with raster, but lost most of KDE's compositing -- it was certainly fast, though -- I'm going to do the opposite as you, @Damnshock, and try compiling it with opengl (native works well, but if I can juice more speed out of the opengl module, that's what I'm going to use) tongue


Dylon

Offline

#12 2009-02-08 00:30:45

Damnshock
Member
From: Barcelona
Registered: 2006-09-13
Posts: 414

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

deltaecho wrote:

I compiled Qt with raster, but lost most of KDE's compositing -- it was certainly fast, though -- I'm going to do the opposite as you, @Damnshock, and try compiling it with opengl (native works well, but if I can juice more speed out of the opengl module, that's what I'm going to use) tongue

I hope you have better luck that I had wink

I finised compiling with raster engine and KDE4.2 was nearly unusable: can't move windows, risizing was painfully slow, lots of glitches... I'll stick with the 4.4.3 for a while smile


My blog: blog.marcdeop.com
Jabber ID: damnshock@jabber.org

Offline

#13 2009-02-08 23:49:30

test1000
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 834

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

Iv'e had no problems with the opengl backend. Haven't tried the raster one, however, everything is blazing fast here. I remember turning on nepomuk and search just slowed it down a little bit.. I have two bugs though. Akregator can't remember line length and killed widgets on the desktop(atleast some), even though iv'e closed them, reappear on each login tongue also see this: http://vizzzion.org/?blogentry=906

However the stability & speed-differences are too great, so i'm going to stay with this version big_smile

running i686
nvidia 8500 and
Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E4500 @ 2.20GHz

Last edited by test1000 (2009-02-08 23:50:27)


KISS = "It can scarcely be denied that the supreme goal of all theory is to make the irreducible basic elements as simple and as few as possible without having to surrender the adequate representation of a single datum of experience." - Albert Einstein

Offline

#14 2009-02-09 00:03:38

Damnshock
Member
From: Barcelona
Registered: 2006-09-13
Posts: 414

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

I just read a blog from one of the KDE developer (http://vizzzion.org/?blogentry=906)  who warns not to use QT 4.5 with KDE 4.2 due to incompatiblities on plasma.


My blog: blog.marcdeop.com
Jabber ID: damnshock@jabber.org

Offline

#15 2009-02-09 00:05:58

test1000
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 834

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

see above tongue


KISS = "It can scarcely be denied that the supreme goal of all theory is to make the irreducible basic elements as simple and as few as possible without having to surrender the adequate representation of a single datum of experience." - Albert Einstein

Offline

#16 2009-02-09 12:14:33

Damnshock
Member
From: Barcelona
Registered: 2006-09-13
Posts: 414

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

test1000 wrote:

see above tongue

Uops! My bad, sorry about that :S


My blog: blog.marcdeop.com
Jabber ID: damnshock@jabber.org

Offline

#17 2009-02-10 16:16:58

eric
Member
From: under heaven
Registered: 2004-02-11
Posts: 117

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

In my experience the opengl and raster graphicssystems don't work well with composite and kwin4 effects turned on... because I like those effects I've compiled qt-4.5 with the default graphicssystem. To test those graphicssystem, it is always possible to use the command line option only available on qt applications (for example: 'qtconfig -graphicssystem raster').

I've also had to recompile kdelibs and kdebase-workspace after installing qt-4.5 to avoid login and other issues.

Notification sounds doesn't work anymore (like the sound that is played when logging in and out)... someone else has this issue? Phonon works like it should... I think... I can play mp3's with amarok.

sirius wrote:

With -no-exceptions QtXmlPatterns will not be built, by the way...

I've compiled qt-4.5 with this configure option... so can someone tell me what is the importance of QtXmlPattern?

Last edited by eric (2009-02-10 16:35:50)

Offline

#18 2009-02-10 16:47:09

test1000
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 834

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

here's a QT dev echoing my opinion that kde is more stable with qt 4.5.. http://labs.trolltech.com/blogs/ (he also says qt-copy helps a bit so you should probably enable that too, although i can't be arsed)

"In my experience the opengl and raster graphicssystems don't work well with composite and kwin4 effects turned on.." have worked flawless for me with the opengl backend. I don't know remember completely wheter or not i deleted .kde4 and started anew but i think i did and that might have something to do with it.

Last edited by test1000 (2009-02-10 16:48:34)


KISS = "It can scarcely be denied that the supreme goal of all theory is to make the irreducible basic elements as simple and as few as possible without having to surrender the adequate representation of a single datum of experience." - Albert Einstein

Offline

#19 2009-02-10 17:31:47

sirius
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2008-12-25
Posts: 68

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

eric wrote:
sirius wrote:

With -no-exceptions QtXmlPatterns will not be built, by the way...

I've compiled qt-4.5 with this configure option... so can someone tell me what is the importance of QtXmlPattern?

QtXmlPatterns brings XQuery and XPath to Qt. It's not a very important module, but if some applications use QtXmlPatterns, (I'm using it in some of my projects) they will not compile/run on Arch with a "default" Qt-package, because QtXmlPatterns depends on exceptions.

Read more about QtXmlPatterns here http://doc.trolltech.com/4.5-snapshot/q … terns.html

Offline

#20 2009-02-10 19:39:54

schuay
Package Maintainer (PM)
From: Austria
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 564

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

all i want is a way to get rid of kde display glitches - i'm getting really annoyed with them. specifically the broken tray drawing really pisses me off.
kde4 looks great otherwise but this needs to be fixed.

i installed nvidia-beta 180.27-1 yesterday, and i'm building your qt4.5 package now. may this will help..

edit: 4.5 seems to have fixed many of the display issues, the tray looks fine now. kdm doesn't work though..

Last edited by schuay (2009-02-10 21:29:18)

Offline

#21 2009-02-10 22:33:05

eric
Member
From: under heaven
Registered: 2004-02-11
Posts: 117

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

test1000 wrote:

"In my experience the opengl and raster graphicssystems don't work well with composite and kwin4 effects turned on.." have worked flawless for me with the opengl backend. I don't know remember completely wheter or not i deleted .kde4 and started anew but i think i did and that might have something to do with it.

Hmmm... I've just recompiled qt-4.5 with '-graphicssystem opengl' as a configuration option and the same thing happened like the last time: I can't get into kdm, so I can't log in to kde. How do you log in to kde when kdm doesn't work? Normally I recompiled kdelibs and kdebase-workspace and kdm work again, but not this time.

test1000, can you tell me if you've recompiled some of the kde packages after installing qt-4.5? What graphicdriver do you use? I use the open source driver of Ati's radeon (xf86-video-ati).

Offline

#22 2009-02-11 04:07:55

test1000
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 834

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

see above ^ >:| i'm also using nvidia driver 180.27, no i still haven't recompiled anything except qt. you might want to enable the svn version of qt-copy in the build and see if that makes any difference and also check if there's a newer ati driver.


KISS = "It can scarcely be denied that the supreme goal of all theory is to make the irreducible basic elements as simple and as few as possible without having to surrender the adequate representation of a single datum of experience." - Albert Einstein

Offline

#23 2009-02-11 09:12:35

schuay
Package Maintainer (PM)
From: Austria
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 564

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

eric wrote:

"I can't get into kdm, so I can't log in to kde. How do you log in to kde when kdm doesn't work?

uncomment startkde in your ~/.xinitrc, login from the console and run startx.

Last edited by schuay (2009-02-11 15:16:41)

Offline

#24 2009-02-11 14:29:35

deltaecho
Member
From: Georgia (USA)
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 185

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

eric wrote:

Hmmm... I've just recompiled qt-4.5 with '-graphicssystem opengl' as a configuration option and the same thing happened like the last time: I can't get into kdm, so I can't log in to kde. How do you log in to kde when kdm doesn't work? Normally I recompiled kdelibs and kdebase-workspace and kdm work again, but not this time.

I haven't been able to get KDM to work with Qt 4.5 either, and recompiling all the KDE packages didn't help, so I've installed and have been almost happily using GDM for a couple days now.


Dylon

Offline

#25 2009-02-11 16:50:11

mini-man
Member
Registered: 2009-02-10
Posts: 6

Re: QT 4.5.0-rc1

I get a segfault when compiling sad

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB