You are not logged in.

#1 2004-10-28 21:42:27

djhizz
Member
From: Bucharest (Romania)
Registered: 2004-10-26
Posts: 68
Website

qustion - wine

i have a little problem.i have a pc game (finfal fantasy 7).it has 4 cd-s:
1)       install
2,3,4) play
i tryed to play this game under arch
i installed wine
wine has created a directory ~/.wine
this directory has this other subdirectories :dosdevices and drive_c
then i inserted the cd.i mounted the cd under : /mnt/cd(this my direcory for the cd's).
then i emulated the instalation :"wine /mnt/cd/install.exe".
wine installed the game in ~/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/ff7/
then i had to play the game but it only runs with the cd in the cd-rom.it doesn't permit to install the game completley.it just needs the cd in the cd-rom.so i aked my self...the game needs to see that the cd is inside.i read the manula and i found out this command :
ln -s /mnt/cd ~/.wine/dosdevices/e:.it didn't worked.it just says:please insert cd 1, 2,  3..i managed to mount the cd in /.wine/drive_d/ ....still nothing.then i mounted in /.wine/d and /.wine/dosdevices/d and so one .......
what should i do???????? :?


My mama said once: ...........***K OFF!!!!   She was right!
<a href="http://www.nobelcom.com">phone cards</a>

Offline

#2 2004-10-28 23:28:32

dadexter
Member
From: Dorval, QC, Canada
Registered: 2004-09-07
Posts: 274
Website

Re: qustion - wine

I don't wanna shatter your dreams... but I don't think FF will work... I have tried version 7 and 8, and all of them fail because of the midi devices... it's discussed alot in the forums at transgaming.com, and I have yet to see a resolution...

Offline

#3 2004-10-29 08:58:33

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 876

Re: qustion - wine

in order to have cd detection working you need to add a symblink to the cd device called e:: running this:

ln -s /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 ~/.wine/dosdevices/e::

Offline

#4 2004-10-29 09:02:45

Pajaro
Member
Registered: 2004-04-21
Posts: 876

Re: qustion - wine

and to tell wine where's your cd drive. For that copy your wine sample config file (/etc/wine/samples/config) to your .wine directory and ad the cdrom device.

[Drive F]
"Label"="CD-ROM"
"Type"="cdrom"
"Path"="/mnt/cd"
"Device"="/dev/cdroms/cdrom0"

Offline

#5 2004-10-29 14:59:15

djhizz
Member
From: Bucharest (Romania)
Registered: 2004-10-26
Posts: 68
Website

Re: qustion - wine

thanks....i managed to configure the cd-rom part...but something else came out....the video and audio settings (directx and midi files)........so what...i downloaded ff5 and zsnes    now i am playing ff5  wink


My mama said once: ...........***K OFF!!!!   She was right!
<a href="http://www.nobelcom.com">phone cards</a>

Offline

#6 2004-10-29 15:01:23

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: qustion - wine

wine does not support directX - you need wineX for that (or cedega, whatever it's called now)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB