You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-28 04:02:17

leo2501
Member
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Registered: 2007-07-07
Posts: 637

[SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

Im having this same error for a few days right now... i read the HAL wiki but the problem persist... tryed a lot of settings in /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf with no luck yet...

org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-removable no <-- (action, result).

here's my /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf file:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <!-- -*- XML -*- -->

<!DOCTYPE pkconfig PUBLIC "-//freedesktop//DTD PolicyKit Configuration 1.0//EN"
"http://hal.freedesktop.org/releases/PolicyKit/1.0/config.dtd">

<!-- See the manual page PolicyKit.conf(5) for file format -->

               <match action="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.*">
                       <return result="yes" />
           </match>
               <match action="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-removable"
                   <return result="yes" />
           </match>
               <match action="hal-storage-mount-fixed-extra-options">
                       <return result="yes" />
               </match>
               <match action="hal-storage-mount-removable-extra-options">
                       <return result="yes" />
               </match>

</config>

and my fstab...

# 
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0


UUID=71d30e9e-9848-46e4-82f9-761e9f64cc34 /sda4 ext3 defaults,noatime 0 1
UUID=be68fc53-e216-4681-8afb-f532a4af91cc swap swap defaults,noatime 0 0
UUID=eab9df0d-f99c-409c-ac0b-32e58142c979 /home ext3 defaults,noatime 0 1
UUID=fce3004a-2e1e-4341-9c16-efe3b2f5be02 / ext3 defaults,noatime 0 1
#UUID=aee55ed4-f539-4095-90e7-9e2b8b93d82f /sdc1 ext3 noauto,exec,rw,async,user,noatime 0 1
#UUID=3436-3133 /mnt/usb1 vfat noauto,exec,rw,async,user,noatime 0 1
#UUID=F4C2-19E5 /mnt/usb2 vfat noauto,exec,rw,async,user,noatime 0 1

Last edited by leo2501 (2009-02-28 04:10:49)


Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.
-- Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Offline

#2 2009-02-28 04:12:47

leo2501
Member
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Registered: 2007-07-07
Posts: 637

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

Well finally found the solution here http://foo-projects.org/pipermail/lunar … 08081.html maybe it's usefull for somebody else...

"org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-removable no <-- (action, result)"

There is easy fix for this error. Just define security rules
in /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf like these:

<config version="0.1">

<match action="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-removable">
  <match user="Put user account name here">
    <return result="yes"/>
  </match>
</match>

<match action="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-fixed">
  <match user="Put user account name here">
    <return result="yes"/>
  </match>
</match>

</config>

First rule allows automounting pendrives, the second one is for fixed disks
like hard drives.


Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.
-- Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Offline

#3 2009-02-28 04:17:45

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

On your original PolicyKit.conf file, you didn't have an open <config>. I'm guessing that's why it wasn't working.

Offline

#4 2009-02-28 04:19:33

leo2501
Member
From: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Registered: 2007-07-07
Posts: 637

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

lol... you're right, sure it was a copy/paste issue of me


Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.
-- Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Offline

#5 2009-03-02 18:24:10

Wilco
Member
Registered: 2008-11-09
Posts: 431

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

Hmm strange had the same problem but I have never edited Policykit.info.
Anyway your fix works! Thanks

Offline

#6 2009-03-03 17:43:31

ammon
Member
Registered: 2008-12-11
Posts: 413

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

Does not work for me. But this does:

http://sathyasays.com/2008/08/20/how-to … ensuse-11/

Offline

#7 2009-03-06 21:22:32

vaskas
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2009-02-25
Posts: 11
Website

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

Strangely, leo2501's way worked and the last one didn't though they are similar.


Arch64@MB166

Offline

#8 2009-03-31 00:15:04

jacob123
Member
Registered: 2009-03-31
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

Thanks that fixed my problem

Offline

#9 2009-05-30 15:17:38

prol
Member
Registered: 2008-03-27
Posts: 75

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

Thanks leo, mounting works for me now XD

Offline

#10 2009-07-16 03:44:01

Sirrah
Member
Registered: 2009-05-16
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

Sorry to reopen this after so long, but I had the same problem.  Leo's solution stopped me from receiving the "org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-removable no <-- (action, result)" error, but now when I double-click the icon of my hard drive I get an error saying "Failed to open directory "OneTouch4 Mini".  Permission denied."  I tried editing permissions by opening my file manager as root, but allowing my user account read/write access gives me the error "Failed to change file group of "[FILENAME]".  Operation not supported.  Do you want to skip it?" for every single file.

Offline

#11 2009-07-16 05:29:28

fh
Member
Registered: 2009-07-11
Posts: 31

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

See post #5 here (http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 38#p585338). That works for me.

Offline

#12 2009-07-16 21:37:42

Sirrah
Member
Registered: 2009-05-16
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

fh wrote:

See post #5 here (http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 38#p585338). That works for me.

Already tried that, my remaining problem is just one of permissions (I think), but when I try to modify permissions I get an "operation not supported" error.  But I'm now juggling two threads, and I've posted more information here: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 50#p585650, so if anyone has further advice please post it there to help keep this forum clean.  Thanks!

Offline

#13 2009-07-18 05:26:13

beatbreaker
Member
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 46

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

thanks, this fixed my problem too

$  sudo nano /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf

and wack in your above code.

I thought there was something wrong with hotplugging before!

Offline

#14 2009-10-04 05:28:00

Malnilion
Member
Registered: 2009-10-04
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

None of the suggestions posted here worked the way they should. It's a bit of a compromise to hardcode your username into a global config file. I came across this message on the arch-general mailing list:

Don't modify any policykit or hal configurations, they are fine. All you need to do is register a session with consolekit. If you use KDM (KDE4 versions only) or GDM, this is done automatically.

If you start your session with startx over .xinitrc, you just have to replace:

exec startkde
with
exec ck-launch-session startkde

So in my case in my .xinitrc I put:
exec ck-launch-session startxfce4

Voila, things seem to work fine again!

Offline

#15 2009-10-08 11:19:06

_saiko
Member
From: systemreich
Registered: 2007-08-06
Posts: 91
Website

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

Ok first to say... my USB drives all mounted without problems
the problem was when i added the eSATA drive
So i applied the PolicyKit code for the org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-fixed and now the eSATA drive mounts fine in /media
the problem is...
unlike my USB drives it DOESN'T appear as an icon on the desktop upon mount
why is that? sad

Last edited by _saiko (2009-10-08 11:23:34)


cat.7 - where crosstalk is not an issue anymore :'(

Offline

#16 2010-01-07 19:53:57

monstermudder78
Member
Registered: 2008-05-18
Posts: 120

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

Malnilion wrote:

None of the suggestions posted here worked the way they should. It's a bit of a compromise to hardcode your username into a global config file. I came across this message on the arch-general mailing list:

Don't modify any policykit or hal configurations, they are fine. All you need to do is register a session with consolekit. If you use KDM (KDE4 versions only) or GDM, this is done automatically.

If you start your session with startx over .xinitrc, you just have to replace:

exec startkde
with
exec ck-launch-session startkde

So in my case in my .xinitrc I put:
exec ck-launch-session startxfce4

Voila, things seem to work fine again!

Thanks!  Works perfect.

Offline

#17 2010-01-07 19:57:41

JuseBox
Member
Registered: 2009-11-27
Posts: 260

Re: [SOLVED] HAL automount in thunar - org.freedesktop PolicyKit error

monstermudder78 wrote:
Malnilion wrote:

None of the suggestions posted here worked the way they should. It's a bit of a compromise to hardcode your username into a global config file. I came across this message on the arch-general mailing list:

Don't modify any policykit or hal configurations, they are fine. All you need to do is register a session with consolekit. If you use KDM (KDE4 versions only) or GDM, this is done automatically.

If you start your session with startx over .xinitrc, you just have to replace:

exec startkde
with
exec ck-launch-session startkde

So in my case in my .xinitrc I put:
exec ck-launch-session startxfce4

Voila, things seem to work fine again!

Thanks!  Works perfect.

This was my issue too.


Linux ArchLinux 3.2.8-1-ARCH
#1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Feb 27 21:51:46 CET 2012 x86_64 AMD FX(tm)-8120 Eight-Core Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
8192MB DDR3 1300MHz | Asus m5a97 | GeForce GTX 550 Ti | 120 GB SSD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB