You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-05 13:19:02

mamr
Member
Registered: 2008-08-16
Posts: 63

NC10 and backlight brightness

Hi,
I'm running Archlinux on a Samsung NC10. Everything is working great.

For power management issues I installed and configured cpufrequtils and laptop-mode-tools and added my user to the 'power' group. Additionally (for comfortable control) I use KDE4.2's Power Management Tool 'PowerDevil'.

Everything works fine, except brightness control. This does neither work with the slider integrated in PowerDevil nor with the function keys. Does anyone know, what I have to install in order to get brightness control working?


Thanks in advance,
mamr

Offline

#2 2009-02-05 13:20:51

initbox
Member
Registered: 2008-09-27
Posts: 168

Re: NC10 and backlight brightness

The package xorg-utils has xbacklight, which you can use to adjust the brightness.

I don't know if you "need" that for the other apps, but that's one way.

It would be easy to just bind xbacklight-commands into the appropriate keys.

Last edited by initbox (2009-02-05 13:21:10)

Offline

#3 2009-02-05 15:09:51

mamr
Member
Registered: 2008-08-16
Posts: 63

Re: NC10 and backlight brightness

I already did this as a workaround. But it doesn't integrate into the autmatic changes of powerdevil (e.g. plugging in the ac and backlight gets brighter).

2 new things I found out:

xbacklight = 100

works, but

solid-powermanagement brightness set 100

only tells me it worked but has no effect.


EDIT: Looks like someone already filed a bug report: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=182099

Last edited by mamr (2009-02-05 15:15:06)

Offline

#4 2009-02-09 14:00:53

Mogger
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2008-12-07
Posts: 153
Website

Re: NC10 and backlight brightness

I use KDEmod4 on my NC10 and have a similar problem. However, when running solid-powermanagement brightness set 100 I get:

solid-powermanagement(7269)/kdecore (KSycoca) KSycocaPrivate::openDatabase: Trying to open ksycoca from  "/var/tmp/kdecache-hans/ksycoca4"
solid-powermanagement(7269)/kdecore (KLibLoader) kde4Factory: The library "/home/kde4/kde4/lib/kde4/solid_hal_power.so" does not offer a qt_plugin_instance function.
solid-powermanagement(7269) Solid::Control::ManagerBasePrivate::loadBackend: Backend loaded:  "HAL-Power"

(My user is in the 'power' group)
I found someone with the same problem here, but no solution. My system is up to date. Is this a KDEmod issue?

I also use the xbacklight workaround but it would be great if we could solve this.

Offline

#5 2009-03-01 07:02:17

szym
Member
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 14

Re: NC10 and backlight brightness

Same issue here with Fujitsu-Siemens. I had to use xrandr to make xbacklight work, but couldn't get solid-powermangement to do anything regarding backlight.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB