You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-04 14:49:34

Zariel
Member
Registered: 2008-10-07
Posts: 446

nouveau

Hey, im using (or trying) to use nouveau from testing but when I start X it says it cant find the nouveau module and its unable to load the nouveau DRM.

I removed nvidia && utils, rebooted then installed nouveau/drm then xorg-server 1.6.

How can I tell if im using the nouveau driver?

Offline

#2 2009-03-04 14:51:52

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,045

Re: nouveau

/var/log/Xorg.0.log?


1000

Offline

#3 2009-03-04 17:26:50

Zariel
Member
Registered: 2008-10-07
Posts: 446

Re: nouveau

Hm, i think i must be. I dont have any borders in xmonad with nouveau drivers though, odd.

Offline

#4 2009-03-04 17:30:07

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: nouveau

I don't know if this will help, but check out this post. Read the stuff towards the bottom:

http://www.archlinux.org/pipermail/arch … 10491.html

Offline

#5 2009-03-04 17:31:37

esters
Member
Registered: 2006-11-04
Posts: 173

Re: nouveau

@ Zariel

Do you have an integrated VGA ?

Offline

#6 2009-03-04 18:14:07

Zariel
Member
Registered: 2008-10-07
Posts: 446

Re: nouveau

No, im running an 8800GTS

/e

I get this in Xorg.log

(II) Loading sub module "dri"
(II) LoadModule: "dri"
(II) Reloading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions//libdri.so
(II) NOUVEAU(0): Loaded DRI module
drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
drmOpenDevice: Open failed
[drm] failed to load kernel module "nouveau"
(EE) NOUVEAU(0): [dri] Failed to open the DRM


Should i disable DRI ?

Last edited by Zariel (2009-03-04 18:24:06)

Offline

#7 2009-03-06 10:59:03

ak-89
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2008-08-26
Posts: 86
Website

Re: nouveau

Do you have both nouveau-drm and xf86-video-nouveau installed? Did you load "nouveau" module manually or put it to rc.conf?

Offline

#8 2009-03-06 12:18:36

Ranguvar
Member
From: Our collective subconscious
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 2,515
Website

Re: nouveau

"Some gpu's integrated onto the motherboard do not function with nouveau for unknown reason, they include the geforce 8200/8300 and probably some 9400 as well. All other 8000/9000 series should be able to function, assuming someone bothers to extract some microcode from a mmio-trace in case this is not done already. The problematic gpu's identify as NVIDIA NVAx in the xorg log, with x a hexidecimal number."

Make sure your card is not identified as such in the log.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB