You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-27 17:16:12

maxi_jac
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-08-02
Posts: 72

Amarok and libmysqlclient

Hi !

I have a x86_64 machine running Arch with [testing] enabled.
Since 2 days i have not been able to run amarok because libmysqlclient has been upgraded.
Amarok needs libmysqlclient.so.15, and the upgrade of mysql upgraded it to libmysqlclient.so.16.

I could downgrade but... I'll wait for it to be fixed (lazy xD , implies downgrading mysql also etc.. )
So, is there someone to warn ? A bug form to fill ? What should I do ?


Thanx smile

++ B.

EDIT : Maybe I should have posted this in the testing section hmm

Last edited by maxi_jac (2009-03-27 19:40:35)

Offline

#2 2009-03-27 22:36:16

The Unabeefer
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2009-01-30
Posts: 37
Website

Re: Amarok and libmysqlclient

I know this is NO help whatsoever, but I am using xmms on the upgraded system, while my other system is downgraded using amarok....  In short, I have the same problem as you (and apparently other people who just downgrade), and am using xmms until it's fixed.  Blech.


I am a flying cow. Worship me, or DIE!!!

...and there he was, reigning supreme at number two
The One... The Only... The Unabeefer.

Offline

#3 2009-03-28 04:54:28

foutrelis
Developer/TU
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 674
Website

Re: Amarok and libmysqlclient

MySQL 5.1 is placed into [testing] so that other packages which depend on it can be rebuilt and linked against the new shared library.

In the case of Amarok, the developers are already working on it. You can only wait (or stop using [testing] ;p).

Last edited by foutrelis (2009-03-28 04:55:17)

Offline

#4 2009-03-28 10:00:37

maxi_jac
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-08-02
Posts: 72

Re: Amarok and libmysqlclient

Thanks for the link foutrelis smile
This means they won't maintain amarok1 but jump directly to amarok2 ?

I'm using vlc The unabeefer tongue

Let's wait for amarok to be fixed then smile
Thank you wink


++ B.

Offline

#5 2009-03-30 17:14:46

alanhaggai
Member
From: World Wide Web
Registered: 2008-08-15
Posts: 25
Website

Re: Amarok and libmysqlclient

Creating a symbolic link works for me: ln -s /usr/lib/libmysqlclient_r.so.1{6,5}


The difference makes the difference.

Offline

#6 2009-03-30 19:55:22

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Amarok and libmysqlclient

alanhaggai wrote:

Creating a symbolic link works for me: ln -s /usr/lib/libmysqlclient_r.so.1{6,5}

Don't symlink libraries like that. You risk breaking your system. The appropriate fix is to rebuild amarok like foutrelis said.

Offline

#7 2009-03-31 03:03:02

alanhaggai
Member
From: World Wide Web
Registered: 2008-08-15
Posts: 25
Website

Re: Amarok and libmysqlclient

Oh I see.


The difference makes the difference.

Offline

#8 2009-03-31 15:56:03

maxi_jac
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-08-02
Posts: 72

Re: Amarok and libmysqlclient

I tried Rebuilding it too, but error at configure... of I "forced" the configure script to continue with a value I think that's good (KDE prefix), but this time error at compilation...


++ B.

Offline

#9 2009-03-31 22:59:38

maxi_jac
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-08-02
Posts: 72

Re: Amarok and libmysqlclient

Today's update fixed it ! smile


++ B.

Offline

#10 2009-04-17 21:15:31

louimjac
Member
Registered: 2009-04-16
Posts: 13

Re: Amarok and libmysqlclient

I guess this is slightly different, but I updgraded libmysqlclient as well (Amarok was working fine beforehand). Due to some file conflict I couldn't upgrade, so after several days I tried using the force option to overwrite the files already in place.
Now guess what, Amarok doesn't work at all.

Here is the log I get :
~]$ amarok(11499)/kdecore (KLibLoader) findLibraryInternal: plugins should not have a 'lib' prefix: "libamarok_collection-mtpcollection.so"
amarok(11499)/kdecore (KLibLoader) findLibraryInternal: plugins should not have a 'lib' prefix: "libamarok_collection-ipodcollection.so"
amarok(11499)/kdeui (KNotification) KNotification::slotReceivedId: 0
amarok(11499)/kdeui (KNotification) KNotification::close: 0
amarok(11499)/kdeui (KNotification) KNotification::~KNotification: -2
amarok(11499)/kdecore (KLibLoader) findLibraryInternal: plugins should not have a 'lib' prefix: "libamarok_collection-daapcollection.so"
QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
amarok(11499)/kdecore (K*TimeZone*) KSystemTimeZonesPrivate::instance: instance(): ... initialised
amarok(11499)/kdecore (K*TimeZone*) KSystemTimeZonesPrivate::readConfig: readConfig(): local zone= "America/Vancouver"
amarok(11499)/kdecore (K*TimeZone*) KSystemTimeZonesPrivate::readZoneTab: readZoneTab( "/usr/share/zoneinfo/zone.tab" )
KCrash: crashing... crashRecursionCounter = 2
KCrash: Application Name = amarok path = <unknown> pid = 11499
sock_file=/home/louim/.kde4/socket-louimama/kdeinit4__0

Is there anything to do about it?

Thanks a lot
Louimjac

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB