You are not logged in.

#1 2009-03-29 14:59:37

Roberth
Member
From: The Pale Blue Dot
Registered: 2007-01-12
Posts: 894

dual monitor setup and intel help

Hello

I am trying to set up and dual monitor setup here, with a monitor and a tv, the monitors resolution is 1680x1050, the tv's resolution is 1360x720, which results in that the desktop will have an resolution on 3040x1050.

When I try to do this with GNOME's xrandr gui, I get this:

required virtual size does not fit available size: requested=(3040, 1050), minimum=(320, 200), maximum=(1920, 1920)

When looking in the motherboards manual, it states that each out of my graphics card can do a resolution of 1980x1080. Is the intel driver missunderstanding something? Since both the dvi and hdmi output only delivers 1360x720 and 1680x1050, 3040x1050 is only an virtual resolution.

Any suggestions?


Use the Source, Luke!

Offline

#2 2009-03-29 16:14:26

anrxc
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 834
Website

Re: dual monitor setup and intel help

... 3040x1050 is only an virtual resolution.
Any suggestions?

Yes, you need to set that virtual size in your xorg.conf, Section Screen - Subsection Display: Virtual    3040 1050


You need to install an RTFM interface.

Offline

#3 2009-03-29 16:22:18

Roberth
Member
From: The Pale Blue Dot
Registered: 2007-01-12
Posts: 894

Re: dual monitor setup and intel help

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen        1  "Screen1" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load  "record"
    Load  "dbe"
    Load  "extmod"
    Load  "glx"
    Load  "dri"
    Load  "dri2"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    Driver      "kbd"
    Option        "XkbLayout" "no"
    Option        "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option        "XkbModel" "pc105"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse0"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option        "Protocol" "auto"
    Option        "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option        "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor1"
    VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver      "intel"
    VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
    BoardName   "4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller"
    BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
    Option         "AccelMethod" "exa"
    Option      "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Card1"
    Driver      "intel"
    VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
    BoardName   "4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller"
    BusID       "PCI:0:2:1"
    Option         "AccelMethod" "exa"
    Option      "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen1"
    Device     "Card1"
    Monitor    "Monitor1"
    Option        "LeftOf" "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "AutoAddDevices" "False"
EndSection

Uhm do I only need one Screen section?


Use the Source, Luke!

Offline

#4 2009-03-29 16:28:07

anrxc
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 834
Website

Re: dual monitor setup and intel help

Yes, with XRandR you don't need two, everything can be done dynamically so you don't need to do a setup like with Xinerama. You still could do a static setup if you want (and it's done a little differently then you did). Check my xorg.conf for both situations.

Last edited by anrxc (2009-03-29 16:30:29)


You need to install an RTFM interface.

Offline

#5 2009-03-29 16:57:55

Damnshock
Member
From: Barcelona
Registered: 2006-09-13
Posts: 414

Re: dual monitor setup and intel help

Notice that on intel cards you won't be able to get DRI once you go over 2048x2048 on resolution.

Damnshock


My blog: blog.marcdeop.com
Jabber ID: damnshock@jabber.org

Offline

#6 2009-03-29 17:16:22

anrxc
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 834
Website

Re: dual monitor setup and intel help

Notice that on intel cards you won't be able to get DRI once you go over 2048x2048 on resolution.

Only on cards prior to X3100.


You need to install an RTFM interface.

Offline

#7 2009-03-29 17:41:11

Roberth
Member
From: The Pale Blue Dot
Registered: 2007-01-12
Posts: 894

Re: dual monitor setup and intel help

anrxc wrote:

Notice that on intel cards you won't be able to get DRI once you go over 2048x2048 on resolution.

Only on cards prior to X3100.

I knew I would benefit of buying the latest intel card:D

You xorg config is quite huge, it only confuses me, can someone explain more simpler to me how do this is working, how do I create a dual monitor setup that is static?

Last edited by Roberth (2009-03-29 17:47:39)


Use the Source, Luke!

Offline

#8 2009-03-29 18:04:33

Wishes
Member
Registered: 2006-08-06
Posts: 36

Re: dual monitor setup and intel help

here is my xorg.conf.  Adjust the Virtuals as you need.

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "RadeonX4850"
        Driver          "radeon"
        Option          "AccelMethod"   "EXA"
        #Option         "AccelDFS"      "on"
        Option          "ColorTiling"   "on"
        Option          "XVideo"        "on"
        Option          "DRM"           "on"
        Option          "DRI"           "on"
        Option          "xv"            "on"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        #Device     "Card0"
        #Monitor    "Monitor0"
        #DefaultColorDepth 16
        #Option  "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
        #Option  "DisableGLXRootClipping"        "True"
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     1
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     4
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     8
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     15
                Modes "1920x1080" "1280x1024" "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
                #Virtual 2560 1024
                Virtual 3200 1080
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     16
                Modes "1920x1080" "1280x1024" "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
                #Virtual 2560 1024
                Virtual 3200 1080
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
               Depth     24
               Modes "1920x1080" "1280x1024" "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
               # Virtual 2560 1024
                Virtual 3200 1080
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth   32
                Modes "1920x1080" "1280x1024"  "1280x800"
                #Virtual  2560 1024
                Virtual 3200 1080
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Offline

#9 2009-03-29 18:11:03

Roberth
Member
From: The Pale Blue Dot
Registered: 2007-01-12
Posts: 894

Re: dual monitor setup and intel help

Wishes wrote:

here is my xorg.conf.  Adjust the Virtuals as you need.

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "RadeonX4850"
        Driver          "radeon"
        Option          "AccelMethod"   "EXA"
        #Option         "AccelDFS"      "on"
        Option          "ColorTiling"   "on"
        Option          "XVideo"        "on"
        Option          "DRM"           "on"
        Option          "DRI"           "on"
        Option          "xv"            "on"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        #Device     "Card0"
        #Monitor    "Monitor0"
        #DefaultColorDepth 16
        #Option  "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
        #Option  "DisableGLXRootClipping"        "True"
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     1
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     4
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     8
                Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     15
                Modes "1920x1080" "1280x1024" "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
                #Virtual 2560 1024
                Virtual 3200 1080
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     16
                Modes "1920x1080" "1280x1024" "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
                #Virtual 2560 1024
                Virtual 3200 1080
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
               Depth     24
               Modes "1920x1080" "1280x1024" "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
               # Virtual 2560 1024
                Virtual 3200 1080
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth   32
                Modes "1920x1080" "1280x1024"  "1280x800"
                #Virtual  2560 1024
                Virtual 3200 1080
        EndSubSection
EndSection

A little offtopic, how is the radeon driver working on r700 hardware?


Use the Source, Luke!

Offline

#10 2009-03-29 18:17:18

Roberth
Member
From: The Pale Blue Dot
Registered: 2007-01-12
Posts: 894

Re: dual monitor setup and intel help

Okay I think I got it right now, but I only get a black screen when I start the xserver.

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load  "record"
    Load  "dbe"
    Load  "extmod"
    Load  "glx"
    Load  "dri"
    Load  "dri2"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    Driver      "kbd"
    Option        "XkbLayout" "no"
    Option        "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option        "XkbModel" "pc105"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse0"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option        "Protocol" "auto"
    Option        "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option        "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor1"
    VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName    "Monitor Model"
    Option         "LeftOf" "Monitor0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver      "intel"
    VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
    BoardName   "4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller"
    BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
    Option         "AccelMethod" "exa"
    Option      "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"
    Option      "HDMI-1" "Monitor0"
    Option        "HDMI-2" "Monitor1"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth      24
        Modes       "1680x1050"
        Virtual    3040 1050
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "AutoAddDevices" "False"
EndSection

And when I comment out the virtual resolution line, it starts, what am I doing wrong?

EDIT: appearantly I can't either stop the xserver when it turns black, maybe it locks up while starting it?

Last edited by Roberth (2009-03-29 20:02:57)


Use the Source, Luke!

Offline

#11 2009-03-31 21:09:51

Roberth
Member
From: The Pale Blue Dot
Registered: 2007-01-12
Posts: 894

Re: dual monitor setup and intel help

No one know?


Use the Source, Luke!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB