You are not logged in.

#1 2004-11-09 15:25:28

tony
Member
Registered: 2004-10-11
Posts: 108

Open Office not working

After installing Open Office I wanted to use its writer but it didn't start than I've tried all other applications impress, calc, etc. non of them started is there some explanation, help something what I can do? Thanks  sad

Offline

#2 2004-11-09 15:56:05

murkus
Member
From: Europe/Helsinki
Registered: 2004-03-19
Posts: 254

Re: Open Office not working

tony wrote:

After installing Open Office I wanted to use its writer but it didn't start than I've tried all other applications impress, calc, etc. non of them started is there some explanation, help something what I can do? Thanks  sad

Did you just do

pacman -Sy openoffice

if so, you have to run as user:

 /opt/openoffice/setup

.murkus

Offline

#3 2004-11-09 17:09:11

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: Open Office not working

i think you forgot to install a language package
try pacman -S openoffice-[yourlanghere] then it should work
the package divided up in two packages one core called openoffice-base
and one lang pack that you have to install additional

Offline

#4 2004-11-09 18:09:30

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Open Office not working

tpowa wrote:

i think you forgot to install a language package
try pacman -S openoffice-[yourlanghere] then it should work
the package divided up in two packages one core called openoffice-base
and one lang pack that you have to install additional

is this fact documented anywhere?  when one installs OOo base does one get the warning to install a language package?


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#5 2004-11-10 06:34:52

tony
Member
Registered: 2004-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Open Office not working

Thanks its working big_smile  but my language package was missing so I must have installed english one.
By the way during the install it asked me about java runtime environment but it seems to be missing I tried to use "mozilla-java"  :oops: but it didn't work. Is there some sollution for that?
And one more question off topic mozilla-firefox is trying to download and install some critical updates but it is not able to every time it takes more than 15 to 20 minutes than I got tired of it and canceled that what should I do?

Offline

#6 2004-11-10 06:46:12

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Open Office not working

tony wrote:

By the way during the install it asked me about java runtime environment but it seems to be missing I tried to use "mozilla-java"  :oops: but it didn't work. Is there some sollution for that?

You can use Sun's java runtime environment

pacman -S j2re
tony wrote:

And one more question off topic mozilla-firefox is trying to download and install some critical updates but it is not able to every time it takes more than 15 to 20 minutes than I got tired of it and canceled that what should I do?

If you know the URL, you can use wget to download the files:

pacman -S wget

and then

wget -c URL

Offline

#7 2004-11-10 10:43:32

tony
Member
Registered: 2004-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: Open Office not working

Thank you for your quick response. Now it works lol

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB