You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-02 17:01:43

paramahamsa
Member
From: Chennai
Registered: 2008-12-17
Posts: 7
Website

Pacman download freezes afer a while

When I try to do a full system upgrade (after three months, by the way), with -Syu, pacman just stops downloading after a short while.

Illustration:

Total Download Size:    236.85 MB
Total Installed Size:   4027.74 MB

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
:: Retrieving packages from extra...
 kdeartwork-4.2.2-1-i686   16.9M   78.1K/s 00:03:42 [#########################################################]   7%
 kdebase-4.2.2-1-i686      23.1M   49.7K/s 00:07:57 [#########################################################]   9%
 kdeedu-4.2.2-1-i686       80.4M   29.6K/s 00:46:19 [#########################################################]  33%
 kdegames-4.2.2-1-i686    104.8M   18.5K/s 02:01:38 [#########################################----------------]  44%

I've been seeing that screen for the past half hour and nothing has moved. I know it's not downloading anything because my modem lights stopped flickering, too.
As you can also see, the download rate is slowing, too.
The only solution I found is to cancel it and run it again.
I tried changing the server in mirrorlist atleast five or six times with the same result.
Netstat shows a connection to the server I specified. (Incidentally, how do I see what connections a particular app making?)
Every other internet-related program works as expected, including fast downloads with wget as well as azureus.

Something similar seems to have happened to someone else, but on VirtualBox: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=65728

What's happening? Why is it freezing?

Offline

#2 2009-04-02 17:08:22

yourself
Member
Registered: 2008-10-23
Posts: 113

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

Maybe your internet cnnection drops for a while and then comes back up again, but having screwed your download?

The next time this thing happens, immediately try to search something with google. If it fails, that's it, you lost connection. Alternatively, your modem may indicate line uptime. If you see after the "hang" that the counter has been reset, there's your culprit.

Offline

#3 2009-04-02 17:12:22

paramahamsa
Member
From: Chennai
Registered: 2008-12-17
Posts: 7
Website

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

Hi yourself,

No, the internet link is fine. I noticed that pacman was hanging only because my azureus download rate went up!

Offline

#4 2009-04-02 18:11:57

josomebody
Member
Registered: 2008-06-20
Posts: 190

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

This has been happening to me as well for the last couple of weeks, And not just during package downloads. Sometimes it will hang before it even lists the packages to be installed and give the y/n prompt. Not all the time, just kind of at random, but often enough to be irritating.


: () { : | :& } ;:

Offline

#5 2009-04-02 23:06:00

Mountainjew
Member
From: Ireland
Registered: 2008-08-24
Posts: 405

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

Same problem here too, though i put it down to normalizing my music in the background eating loads of cpu. I guess it's a pacman bug though...

Offline

#6 2009-04-03 00:47:04

josomebody
Member
Registered: 2008-06-20
Posts: 190

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

Mountainjew wrote:

Same problem here too, though i put it down to normalizing my music in the background eating loads of cpu. I guess it's a pacman bug though...

I run pretty minimal systems and try not to have much more than a window manager and terminal open when I'm running pacman, and still get it, so it's not necessarily a cpu usage deal.


: () { : | :& } ;:

Offline

#7 2009-04-03 04:27:11

paramahamsa
Member
From: Chennai
Registered: 2008-12-17
Posts: 7
Website

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

josomebody wrote:

I run pretty minimal systems and try not to have much more than a window manager and terminal open when I'm running pacman, and still get it, so it's not necessarily a cpu usage deal.

I agree. It has nothing to do with RAM, either, for that matter.

Offline

#8 2009-04-04 15:01:47

bera
Member
Registered: 2009-04-04
Posts: 9

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

Hapens to me too. I am using arch for two days and in this middle time pacman has crashed many times.
.
Edit:
I am having the problem right now, while attempting to install gnome (by the second time)..

Last edited by bera (2009-04-04 15:16:32)

Offline

#9 2009-04-04 16:55:03

pogeymanz
Member
Registered: 2008-03-11
Posts: 1,020

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

bera wrote:

Hapens to me too. I am using arch for two days and in this middle time pacman has crashed many times.
.
Edit:
I am having the problem right now, while attempting to install gnome (by the second time)..

Well... Don't get a bad impression of Arch just yet. This is very atypical. Usually pacman is the greatest thing since sliced bread.

I too have had it freeze up a few times. Maybe it's not pacman, but the mirrors we're using??

Offline

#10 2009-04-04 17:09:57

paramahamsa
Member
From: Chennai
Registered: 2008-12-17
Posts: 7
Website

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

pogeymanz wrote:

I too have had it freeze up a few times. Maybe it's not pacman, but the mirrors we're using??

I doubt that the problem is with the mirrors. I spent something like an hour trying out atleast five or six mirrors, and I don't think I'd have been able to pick out only the ones that didn't work!
Anyhow, I checked this before trying: http://users.archlinux.de/~gerbra/mirrorcheck.html

Offline

#11 2009-05-10 01:11:38

mingus
Member
From: NV, USA
Registered: 2008-06-18
Posts: 5

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

Yeah, I'm having problems with the syncing aspect of pacman.  The -y option is hanging pacman for me.  Completely freezes at "Synchronizing package database."   Pacman was working fine for me this morning.  Very weird.

Offline

#12 2009-05-10 01:27:02

mingus
Member
From: NV, USA
Registered: 2008-06-18
Posts: 5

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

Well, I found a backup of mirrorlist, so I re-ran "rankmirrors" against it and redirected output to create a fresh mirrorlist.  Pacman is working normally again for me.

Offline

#13 2009-05-12 11:27:04

onguarde
Member
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 144

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

Try changing the download client used via the XferCommand= in pacman.conf. Aria2 is good.

That certainly helps on my part. It's becoming less and less noticeable these days. You can also try Xyne's powerpill to download stuff simultaneously.

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Imp … erformance

Offline

#14 2009-06-22 17:43:09

elsaturnino
Member
Registered: 2009-01-03
Posts: 12

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

I have been having the same problem for a couple months now.

As per the suggestion of onguard, I switched to using aria2 and my huge update went through without the same problem. Unfortunately I then ran into some problem with pidgin's tarball being corrupted and I could only get past that when I switch back to the default pacman download client. Hopefully that was a one-time fluke though.

Offline

#15 2009-08-12 20:43:29

sheex
Member
Registered: 2009-08-12
Posts: 13

Re: Pacman download freezes afer a while

I had the freezing happen to me on a fresh install of Arch. All I did was comment out all of the mirrors in /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist except for one and it worked like a charm.

HTH.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB