You are not logged in.

#1 2004-11-11 06:48:04

ScottTFrazer
Member
Registered: 2004-10-20
Posts: 47

Moving to udev

I followed the wiki on setting up udev and ran into an odd problem:

even with the devfs=nomount in my kernel line of menu.lst the first thing I saw after the Arch Linux banner was something about starting DevFS and it failing.  With DevFS failing, I couldn't mount any of my extended partitions (hda5-9)

I've fixed it my editing my rc.sysint to remove the check for DevFS, but I'm guessing that's not the best way to handle the issue.

Any suggestions?

Offline

#2 2004-11-11 11:41:44

oscar
Member
From: Kiruna, Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 457

Re: Moving to udev


To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password.

Offline

#3 2004-11-11 12:26:49

robot5x
Member
Registered: 2004-01-26
Posts: 266

Re: Moving to udev

He did say he followed the wiki already, which actually tells you pacman -Sy udev - so it's not a really helpful answer

Offline

#4 2004-11-11 14:58:03

ScottTFrazer
Member
Registered: 2004-10-20
Posts: 47

Re: Moving to udev

Heh,

I'm still a noob, but I'm trying really hard to track down most of the answers myself as best I can.

This is the block of code that seems to be failing for me:

if [ -e /dev/.devfsd -a -x /sbin/devfsd ]; then
        # Looks like devfs is running, use it
        status "Starting DevFS Daemon" /sbin/devfsd /dev
elif [ -x /etc/start_udev -a -d /sys/block ]; then
        # We have a start_udev script and /sys appears to be mounted, use UDev
        status "Starting UDev Daemon" /etc/start_udev
else
        # Static /dev, our last resort
        status "Using static /dev filesystem" /bin/true
fi

My sh skills are pitiful, so I don't completely understand that first "if" statement, but I changed the code to this:

if [ -x /etc/start_udev -a -d /sys/block ]; then
        # We have a start_udev script and /sys appears to be mounted, use UDev
        status "Starting UDev Daemon" /etc/start_udev
else
        # Static /dev, our last resort
        status "Using static /dev filesystem" /bin/true
fi

and everything's hunky-dory

Offline

#5 2004-11-11 15:34:50

kpiche
Forum Fellow
From: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Registered: 2004-03-30
Posts: 246
Website

Re: Moving to udev

The first 'if' checks for the devfsd binary and if it's there it starts devfs.  You just needed to remove the devfsd package but you're solution works too.  smile

-e = exists
-a = and
-x = exists and executable
Check 'man test' for more...

Offline

#6 2004-11-11 20:13:49

ScottTFrazer
Member
Registered: 2004-10-20
Posts: 47

Re: Moving to udev

sweet, I kept looking in 'man sh' and not finding it :-)

Should we update the wiki to reflect the requirement to remove devfs?

Offline

#7 2004-11-11 20:20:36

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Moving to udev

no, don't update the wiki, this is a special case.

I've never seen this before - could you possibly try this:
* put the old devfs stuff back into the boot process
* rm the /dev/.devfsd file
* make sure that your boot partition is mounted, in the case you set it up by hand and have the "noauto" option
* verify the devfs=nomount line in menu.lst
* reboot

see if this still happens - if it does, try "dmesg | grep -i dev" and look for devfs information... if the kernel is not picking up the parameter, then there is another problem

Offline

#8 2004-11-11 20:23:59

ScottTFrazer
Member
Registered: 2004-10-20
Posts: 47

Re: Moving to udev

Okay, I've put rc.sysinit back to the way it was.

I looked for /dev/.devfsd and didn't find it before the reboot.  After the reboot it's there.

crw-------  1 root root 253, 0 1969-12-31 19:00 /dev/.devfsd

I've checked my fstab for the /boot partition, here it is:

/dev/discs/disc0/part1 /boot ext2 defaults 0 1

here's my kernel line from menu.lst:

title  Arch Linux  [/boot/vmlinuz26]
        root   (hd0,2)
        kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part3 devfs=nomount ro vga=773

and here's the start of the output of the dmesg | grep -i dev command:

[root@sf-game ~]# dmesg | grep -i dev
Kernel command line: root=/dev/discs/disc0/part3 devfs=nomount ro vga=773
Console: colour dummy device 80x25
devfs: 2004-01-31 Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)
devfs: boot_options: 0x0
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device

There are no further references to devfs, just a bunch of hits various devices.

I'm going to try deleting that /dev/.devfsd file now and see what happens.

Offline

#9 2004-11-12 00:39:15

ScottTFrazer
Member
Registered: 2004-10-20
Posts: 47

Re: Moving to udev

deleting /dev/.devfsd solved it, though I still don't really understand why I could see when DevFS failed to load but not when I forced udev to load.

Thanks for the help!

Offline

#10 2004-11-12 05:30:13

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Moving to udev

hmmm, how odd....

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB