You are not logged in.

#1 2004-10-15 18:14:36

bostoniman
Member
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 213
Website

Installing Arch with Windows on the same Hard Drive

I have an Averatec AV3250HX notebook.  I have Windows XP installed on a 65 GB partition, and the remainder I am leaving for Arch.  I was told not to use GRUB if both OS's are on the same hard drive.  Can somebody help me out with the LILO configuration?

Offline

#2 2004-10-15 18:33:03

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Installing Arch with Windows on the same Hard Drive

I've never had a problem with grub.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2004-10-15 18:43:53

bostoniman
Member
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 213
Website

Re: Installing Arch with Windows on the same Hard Drive

And you have both of them on the same hard drive?  Ok, then if you could tell me what code to put into the GRUB config file to load windows, i'd appreciate it.

Offline

#4 2004-10-15 19:57:11

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Installing Arch with Windows on the same Hard Drive

bostoniman wrote:

And you have both of them on the same hard drive?  Ok, then if you could tell me what code to put into the GRUB config file to load windows, i'd appreciate it.

# general configuration:
timeout   5
default   0
color light-blue/black light-cyan/blue

# (0) Arch Linux
title  archlinux
root   (hd0,3)
kernel (hd0,1)/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part4 ro vga=794 devfs=nomount noapm acpi=yes apm=no

# (1) Windows
title  windows
root (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1

that's mine - the only issue is that windows must be the first hard drive partition (and you probably dont need the kernel flags I have)

Offline

#5 2004-10-23 08:14:47

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: Installing Arch with Windows on the same Hard Drive

on my laptop i used  lilo till i found this

http://www.hk8.org/old_web/linux/lnut/ch04_04.htm

this does work IF you have both os's on same disk
if they are on seperate disks it wont at least not for me
& it dont work for win98 i did it with xp

Offline

#6 2004-11-15 20:42:18

bostoniman
Member
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 213
Website

Re: Installing Arch with Windows on the same Hard Drive

well, did you make sure that you changed the first numeral in the partition coordinates to match the hard drive?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB