You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-10 04:18:47

MythicLlama
Member
Registered: 2009-04-07
Posts: 21

Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

Has anyone had any luck trying to get this card to work with dhcpcd with the new kernel?  I'm able to makepkg the driver from the modded PKGBUILD in the AUR comments for broadcom-wl (http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=19514) and wpa_supplicant works but dhcpcd cannot connect to my home network running WPA2-TKIP.  I've also tried using the wl_iw_v2.patch off of Broadcom's website (http://www.broadcom.com/docs/linux_sta/wl_iw_v2.patch) but at the first time, the patch fails until you strip out lines 3-19 because patch flags the first hunk as garbage data.  I've also tried Gentoo's patch which is essentially the same as the other patch with the first hunk ripped out also (http://bugs.gentoo.org/attachment.cgi?id=187456).  I know that broadcom-wl was flagged today for not being compatible with the new kernel but I was attempting to get this working (been stuck in CLI for the past week trying to install arch).

Anyone have any idea to get this working?

Edit: Sorry forgot some extra info, I've been using a 2.6.29 patch from leprosys (was posted on the AUR) combined with the wl_iw(_v2) patch.

Last edited by MythicLlama (2009-04-10 05:18:01)

Offline

#2 2009-04-10 09:23:54

lgolebio
Member
From: Poland / Wroclaw
Registered: 2008-07-28
Posts: 101

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

That's strange,cause in my case everything works just fine (except random kernel hangs, when I rmmod and modprobe the wl module). The driver is still unstable, and sometimes I need to hard reboot my system, but it works for most of time. Here is my wl.ko module I compiled myself. http://rapidshare.com/files/219598722/wl.ko.html

Offline

#3 2009-04-10 15:01:26

loudtiger
Member
Registered: 2009-01-08
Posts: 68

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

i didn't use the broadcom patch (there's a patch?) but i used the leprosys patch to install in 2.6.29. i can connect to my WPA2 AP, but the connection randomly drops out. i'm using broadcom 4322.

Offline

#4 2009-04-10 15:42:35

MythicLlama
Member
Registered: 2009-04-07
Posts: 21

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

@lgolebio Didn't work, throws a "Invalid module format". I'm running x86_64 so I bet it was compiled differently.

@loudtiger The patch is right on their website under the linux drivers and it is supposed to fix 32-bit WPA names and WPA-Enterprise hangups so I thought it would be integral to making it work in 2.6.29. I'll try compiling it without that patch.

Offline

#5 2009-04-10 17:17:05

putte_xvi
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-04-10
Posts: 21

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

My Broadcom 4322 works fine (relatively speaking) with hybrid-portsrc-x86_32-v5_10_79_10.tar.gz and these patches:
http://bugs.gentoo.org/attachment.cgi?id=184151
http://bugs.gentoo.org/attachment.cgi?id=184152
http://bugs.gentoo.org/attachment.cgi?id=187456

...except DHCP; dhcpcd just keeps broadcasting and never seems to get any replies. But it works with a static address.

Offline

#6 2009-04-10 18:56:06

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 804

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

I've run my laptop BCM4312 (rev 01) with that aur without problems, including 2.6.29. I use a static local IP but just tried dynamic and it connected. I control network connections with wicd.

Offline

#7 2009-04-10 19:49:25

MythicLlama
Member
Registered: 2009-04-07
Posts: 21

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

I got it working on my computer.  I just didn't use the wl_iw patch and it worked wonderfully.  I guess if I end up hanging on other connections then I'll run into a problem but until then I'll stick with this.

@putte_xvi I didn't try static but I was able to scan and notice my network so try without the wl_iw patch if you ever want to try DHCP (it worked with mine).

Offline

#8 2009-04-10 23:54:09

MythicLlama
Member
Registered: 2009-04-07
Posts: 21

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

Seems that my solution didn't stick.  For some reason the only way to get my wireless working with DHCP after a restart is copying wl.ko to the proper directory to modprobe it again.

Any solution?

Offline

#9 2009-04-11 06:46:03

MythicLlama
Member
Registered: 2009-04-07
Posts: 21

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

Yet again I was wrong in my synopsis of my problem.  I pratically spammed iwconfig in a second terminal while the first one is running dhcpcd and after about every 6 or so seconds, the connection will drop for a second an bump up some of the Rx invalid crypt.  So my problem is with my connection but not dhcp.

Anyway to force wpa_supplicant to refresh faster to make up for the invalid packets? Or a way to fix the packets with this dreaded Broadcom card?

Offline

#10 2009-04-11 13:06:27

tyr0
Member
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 152

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

Running 2.6.29 I can't connect to my WPA2-TKIP network with NetworkManager too. I use a rt2570 chip in my linksys wusb54g. After setting the encrytion to WEP I can connect again. Maybe this will help on your system too, although this solution is not really satisfying.

Offline

#11 2009-04-11 23:03:17

MythicLlama
Member
Registered: 2009-04-07
Posts: 21

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

Still nothing, I'ma just stick to the 2.6.28 kernel until Broadcom comes out with a new driver that works with .29.

Offline

#12 2009-04-12 01:12:32

suicideducky
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2007-09-13
Posts: 57
Website

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

Hey there, I mentioned in the aur that I have tried getting the same card to work in .29 with both the b43 and wl drivers, both of them allow me to see the network access point but neither allow me to connect, I use wpa-supplicant, and it times out when i goto use dhcpcd so I'm assumming its a wpa-supplicant issue. As dhcpcd still works with a wired connection.

I to rolled back to .28 until a fix is found.

Offline

#13 2009-04-13 17:07:59

andre.ramaciotti
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2007-04-06
Posts: 649

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

I've tried it here but it didn't work. I wasn't even able to try to run dhcpcd because wpa_supplicant would keep connecting and then about 5 seconds later desconnecting, then connecting...


(lambda ())

Offline

#14 2009-04-14 05:24:09

blithe
Member
Registered: 2009-04-14
Posts: 3

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

Had the same WPA problems with the wl.ko module. Managed to get it working by:

sudo modprobe -r wl
sudo modprobe lib80211_crypt_tkip
sudo modprobe wl

And then it was able to authenticate with wpa_supplicant and TKIP. This worked on both an EAP and a PSK based system. I think lib80211_crypt_tkip is part of compat-wireless in the AUR, but I'm not sure - as it was already on my system.

Last edited by blithe (2009-04-14 05:25:17)

Offline

#15 2009-04-14 15:12:56

Dheart
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-10-26
Posts: 951

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

It would seem that wl no longer auto-loads lib80211_crypt_tkip and that's the problem. I suppose putting lib80211_crypt_tkip before wl in rc.conf would solve the problem.

EDIT: typos...

Last edited by Dheart (2009-04-15 15:43:35)


My victim you are meant to be
No, you cannot hide nor flee
You know what I'm looking for
Pleasure your torture, I will endure...

Offline

#16 2009-04-15 12:31:54

andre.ramaciotti
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2007-04-06
Posts: 649

Re: Broadcom 4312 and 2.6.29

Dheart wrote:

I would seem that wl no longer auto-loads lib80211_crypt_tkip and that's the problem. I suppose putting lib80211_crypt_tkip before wl in rc.conf would solve the problem.

Indeed. It's working here now.


(lambda ())

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB