You are not logged in.

#1 2003-08-11 21:07:50

hApy
Member
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-04-13
Posts: 194
Website

i586?

I seem to recall talk of a i586 version of arch coming out at some point... just curious how that is going. I've got an i586 laptop I'd like to try arch on.. . Windows just doesn't cut it.. and well.. after you've used arch you don't really want to use anything else. smile

Hapy.

Offline

#2 2003-08-11 21:29:34

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: i586?

It's still in the works, but not ready yet.  The main thing we're missing is i586 builds of the boot disk images.

There are about 200 packages built for i586, mostly up-to-date: ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/testing/i586

Offline

#3 2003-08-11 22:37:01

contrasutra
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2003-07-26
Posts: 507

Re: i586?

Question:

when the i586 port is done, will it be officially supported?

Because one thing I like about Arch is its easy to build packages, you know that all the computers are i686 so thats what you optimize for. I never have to rebuild packages either, because once again, its already optimized.

Making people have to build two packages will hurt things I think. Then people have to worry about grabbing the wrong package and maintaing two different trees, it seems hard.


Semi OT:

Is a K6-2 350Mhz i686? Someone on IRC told me it was, but im not sure. I thought it was only Athlons.


"Contrary to popular belief, penguins are not the salvation of modern technology.  Neither do they throw parties for the urban proletariat."

Offline

#4 2003-08-11 23:18:09

neri
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, Canada
Registered: 2003-05-04
Posts: 552

Re: i586?

Hi,

contrasutra wrote:

Semi OT:

Is a K6-2 350Mhz i686? Someone on IRC told me it was, but im not sure. I thought it was only Athlons.

google shows, that it is a highly discussed question, but according to the
specs it is i586. In other words you might be lucky, but probably you
won't. sad

bye neri

Offline

#5 2003-08-12 00:34:12

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: i586?

Not set in stone yet, but the plan is to "hire" an i586 maintainer to build/rebuild packages as we make changes in the i686 repositories.

And yes, K6-2 processors are i586.

Offline

#6 2003-08-12 04:44:49

Jagged
Member
From: Blacksburg, VA
Registered: 2003-07-18
Posts: 153

Re: i586?

I've got an old Pentium 100  roll


Nkawtg...n!

Offline

#7 2003-08-12 07:16:41

Mork II
Member
From: Visby, Sweden
Registered: 2003-05-14
Posts: 87

Re: i586?

I got and old pentium 166 laptop. Have to figure some way to install though since it lacks network and the cd and floppy drives are on premanent vacation wink

About processors beeing i586 or i686: How about Celeron III? It should be i686 but there is (was?) a problem with the cmov extension and gcc. Anyone know if it has been fixed? I'm considering building a mini-itx based server (powered by Arch of course). Well, in any case a i586 version will be most welcome.

Offline

#8 2003-08-12 09:14:18

andy
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 374

Re: i586?

apeiro wrote:

The main thing we're missing is i586 builds of the boot disk images.

Third times is a charme :-) ... I wanted to ask this question on 2 previous threads but didn't ...
Anyways, would it be possible to add the stuff needed for the boot images into the CVS ? somehow out of ABS (or maybe even part of ABS, say as the category "release" or so).
For those who know their way around, the kernel config and the busybox config should be enough. If I wanted to make a custom boot image I could use these configs, copy the setup script and add the remaining binaries.

Alternatively, for maximum flexibility, why not compile the boot image with i386 optimizations only ? I don't think installation is CPU bound but rather I/O or network bound.

Offline

#9 2003-08-12 11:05:34

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: i586?

About processors beeing i586 or i686: How about Celeron III? It should be i686 but there is (was?) a problem with the cmov extension and gcc. Anyone know if it has been fixed? I'm considering building a mini-itx based server (powered by Arch of course). Well, in any case a i586 version will be most welcome.

Personally I installed an intranet server (http, samba, ftp, mail, cups, mysql, etc. etc.) with a
celeron 800 and arch. Untill now (3 months) no problem encountered.
Many programs running and no crash occourred.

Offline

#10 2003-08-12 17:24:00

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: i586?

andy wrote:

Anyways, would it be possible to add the stuff needed for the boot images into the CVS ?

Yep, it's in there, you just don't see it from the CVSWeb view.  Try checking out the full repository from the instructions here: http://www.archlinux.org/cvs.php

Check out arch/misc/bootdisk/busybox for starters.  If you want to build the image set, your best bet is to mount (or dd) the existing disk images and copy their layouts exactly, rebuilding any binaries for i586 as you go along. The boot disk's kernel config is at arch/misc/bootdisk/1/config.

Offline

#11 2003-08-12 19:27:51

Mork II
Member
From: Visby, Sweden
Registered: 2003-05-14
Posts: 87

Re: i586?

Bobonov wrote:

About processors beeing i586 or i686: How about Celeron III? It should be i686 but there is (was?) a problem with the cmov extension and gcc. Anyone know if it has been fixed? I'm considering building a mini-itx based server (powered by Arch of course). Well, in any case a i586 version will be most welcome.

Personally I installed an intranet server (http, samba, ftp, mail, cups, mysql, etc. etc.) with a
celeron 800 and arch. Untill now (3 months) no problem encountered.
Many programs running and no crash occourred.

This is good news. Thanks!

Offline

#12 2003-08-12 22:33:13

andy
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 374

Re: i586?

apeiro wrote:

Yep, it's in there, you just don't see it from the CVSWeb view.

Sweet ! I just would have never thought that there is more in the CVS than on the webview.

I just checked it out and am playing with it :-) .... my old laptop is going to get AL ... :-)

Offline

#13 2003-08-23 05:51:00

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: i586?

its getting there there are alot of packages made and some test boot disks kicking around so it is getting closer.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#14 2003-08-25 18:02:01

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: i586?

No i586 iso yet, but I've finished the base package set, as well as the three boot disk images used for install.

ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/testing/i586

Offline

#15 2003-08-26 07:29:23

Jagged
Member
From: Blacksburg, VA
Registered: 2003-07-18
Posts: 153

Re: i586?

... edit... nevermind... im on crack or somethin


Nkawtg...n!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB