You are not logged in.

#1 2009-05-05 05:13:41

futonrevolutionary
Member
Registered: 2008-09-16
Posts: 9

conky broken after global update

I just ran a pacman -Syu and conky was updated to the newest version. Since then I have restarted my computer. When I started KDE I noticed that Conky was not running. I opened up a terminal and tried to run it manually, and I got the following error:

[futonrevolutionary@napalm .conky]$ conky
Conky: can't load font 'arial'
Conky: got an endif without matching if

Here is my .conkyrc file:

# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

# Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
double_buffer yes

# fiddle with window
use_spacer right
use_xft no

# Update interval in seconds
update_interval 2.0

# Minimum size of text area
# minimum_size 250 5

# Draw shades?
draw_shades no

# Text stuff
draw_outline no # amplifies text if yes
draw_borders no
font arial
uppercase no # set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase

# Stippled borders?
stippled_borders 3

# border margins
border_margin 9

# border width
border_width 10

# Default colors and also border colors, grey90 == #e5e5e5
#default_color black

#own_window_colour brown
own_window_transparent yes

# Text alignment, other possible values are commented
#alignment top_left
alignment top_right
#alignment bottom_left
#alignment bottom_right

# Gap between borders of screen and text
gap_x 10
gap_y 10

# stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screen

TEXT
$color
${color orange}SYSTEM ${hr 2}$color
$nodename running Arch GNU/Linux $kernel
Uptime: $uptime

${color orange}CPU ${hr 2}$color
Processor clock speed: ${freq}MHz
$cpubar
${cpugraph 000000 ffffff}
NAME             PID       CPU%      MEM%
${top name 1} ${top pid 1}   ${top cpu 1}    ${top mem 1}
${top name 2} ${top pid 2}   ${top cpu 2}    ${top mem 2}
${top name 3} ${top pid 3}   ${top cpu 3}    ${top mem 3}
${top name 4} ${top pid 4}   ${top cpu 4}    ${top mem 4}

 
${color orange}MEMORY${hr 2}$color
RAM:   $memperc%   ${membar 6}$color
Swap:  $swapperc%   ${swapbar 6}$color


${color orange}NETWORK (${addr eth0}) ${hr 2}$color
Down: $color${downspeedf eth0} k/s ${alignr}Up: ${upspeedf eth0} k/s
${downspeedgraph eth0 25,140 000000 ff0000} ${alignr}${upspeedgraph eth0
25,140 000000 00ff00}$color
Total: ${totaldown eth0} ${alignr}Total: ${totalup eth0}
Inbound: ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 count} Outbound: ${tcp_portmon 32768
61000 count}${alignr}Total: ${tcp_portmon 1 65535 count}


${color orange}FILESYSTEMS${hr 2}$color
${color}arch:    ${fs_used_perc /}%  ${fs_used /}/${fs_size /} ${fs_bar /}
${color}windows: ${fs_used_perc /media/windows/}%  ${fs_used /media/windows/}/${fs_size /media/windows/} ${fs_bar /media/windows/}
${color}video:   ${fs_used_perc /media/video/}%  ${fs_used /media/video/}/${fs_size /media/video/} ${fs_bar /media/video/}
${color}music:   ${fs_used_perc /media/music/}%  ${fs_used /media/music/}/${fs_size /media/music/} ${fs_bar /media/music/}


${color orange}QUOTE${hr 2}$color
"Freedom is the freedom to say that two plus
 two make four. If that is granted, all
 else follows."---Winston Smith


$color$stippled_hr
${color}${alignc}Now Playing${color white}
${alignc}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok artist}
${alignc}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok title}
${execibar 1 ~/.conky/amarok progress}
${alignc}"${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok album}"
${alignc}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok year} - ${color white}${alignc}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok genre}
$color$stippled_hr
${alignc}Collection Information
Artists: ${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok totalArtists} $color${alignr}Compilations: ${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok totalCompilations}$color
Albums:  ${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok totalAlbums} $color${alignr}Genres: ${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok totalGenres}$color
Tracks:  ${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok totalTracks}
$color$stippled_hr
${alignc}Collection Statisctics
Most songs by ${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_songs_by_artist} $alignr${color}(${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_songs_by_artist_n}${color})
Most songs are ${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_songs_are_genre} $alignr${color}(${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_songs_are_genre_n}${color})
Most songs during ${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_songs_during_year} $alignr${color}(${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_songs_during_year_n}${color})
Most albums by ${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_albums_by_artist} $alignr${color}(${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_albums_by_artist_n}${color})
Most albums are ${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_albums_are_genre} $alignr${color}(${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_albums_are_genre_n}${color})
Most albums during ${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_albums_during_year} $alignr${color}(${color white}${execi 10 ~/.conky/amarok most_albums_during_year_n}${color})$endif

and here is the .amarok file that generates all the statistics and whatnot:

#!/bin/bash
# amaroK info display script by eirc <eirc.eirc@gmail.com>
#
# requirements: amaroK (!)
# for Collection stats to work amarok must be using
# mySQL to store it's collection

case "$1" in

# Now Playing Info
artist) dcop amarok player artist ;;
title)  dcop amarok player title ;;
album)  dcop amarok player album ;;
year)   dcop amarok player year ;;
genre)  dcop amarok player genre ;;
progress)
    curr=`dcop amarok player trackCurrentTime`
    tot=`dcop amarok player trackTotalTime`
    if (( $tot )); then
        expr $curr \* 100  / $tot
    fi
    ;;

# Collection Info
totalArtists)      dcop amarok collection totalArtists ;;
totalAlbums)       dcop amarok collection totalAlbums ;;
totalTracks)       dcop amarok collection totalTracks ;;
totalGenres)       dcop amarok collection totalGenres ;;
totalCompilations) dcop amarok collection totalCompilations ;;

# Collection Stats
most_songs_by_artist) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT t1.name FROM artist t1 INNER JOIN tags t2 ON t1.id = t2.artist GROUP BY t2.artist ORDER BY COUNT(t2.artist) DESC LIMIT 1;' ;;
most_songs_by_artist_n) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT count(t2.artist) FROM artist t1 INNER JOIN tags t2 ON t1.id = t2.artist GROUP BY t2.artist ORDER BY COUNT(t2.artist) DESC LIMIT 1;' ;;
most_songs_are_genre) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT t1.name FROM genre t1 INNER JOIN tags t2 ON t1.id = t2.genre GROUP BY t2.genre ORDER BY COUNT(t2.genre) DESC LIMIT 1;' ;;
most_songs_are_genre_n) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT count(t2.genre) FROM genre t1 INNER JOIN tags t2 ON t1.id = t2.genre GROUP BY t2.genre ORDER BY COUNT(t2.genre) DESC LIMIT 1;' ;;
most_songs_during_year) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT t1.name FROM year t1 INNER JOIN tags t2 ON t1.id = t2.year GROUP BY t2.year ORDER BY COUNT(t2.year) DESC LIMIT 1;' ;;
most_songs_during_year_n) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT count(t2.year) FROM year t1 INNER JOIN tags t2 ON t1.id = t2.year GROUP BY t2.year ORDER BY COUNT(t2.year) DESC LIMIT 1;' ;;
most_albums_by_artist) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT name FROM artist WHERE id=(SELECT t1.artist from (SELECT artist FROM tags GROUP BY album) AS t1 GROUP BY t1.artist ORDER BY count(artist) DESC LIMIT 1);' ;;
most_albums_by_artist_n) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT count(artist) from (SELECT artist FROM tags GROUP BY album) AS t1 GROUP BY t1.artist ORDER BY count(artist) DESC LIMIT 1;' ;;
most_albums_are_genre) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT name FROM genre WHERE id=(SELECT t1.genre from (SELECT genre FROM tags GROUP BY album) AS t1 GROUP BY t1.genre ORDER BY count(genre) DESC LIMIT 1);' ;;
most_albums_are_genre_n) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT count(genre) from (SELECT genre FROM tags GROUP BY album) AS t1 GROUP BY t1.genre ORDER BY count(genre) DESC LIMIT 1;' ;;
most_albums_during_year) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT name FROM year WHERE id=(SELECT t1.year from (SELECT year FROM tags GROUP BY album) AS t1 GROUP BY t1.year ORDER BY count(year) DESC LIMIT 1);' ;;
most_albums_during_year_n) dcop amarok collection query 'SELECT count(year) from (SELECT year FROM tags GROUP BY album) AS t1 GROUP BY t1.year ORDER BY count(year) DESC LIMIT 1;' ;;

esac

I've tried googling and searching various forums, but it seems like a problem that was just created with the new version. I have no clue. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline

#2 2009-05-05 06:28:23

evr
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2009-01-23
Posts: 554

Re: conky broken after global update

i don't know about the font issue, but it looks like you have an endif on the last line without an if anywhere else.

Offline

#3 2009-05-05 08:31:48

gav616
Member
Registered: 2008-01-16
Posts: 182

Re: conky broken after global update

i also have problems after update

${color slate grey}/var/log/everything.log:
${color}${exec tail -n27 /var/log/everything.log}

this doesn't output any updates now..


EDIT >

it does, but only 3 lines regarding 'agpgart-nvidia' 3 hours ago

Last edited by gav616 (2009-05-05 08:34:09)

Offline

#4 2009-05-05 09:26:54

nictki
Member
Registered: 2008-12-06
Posts: 20

Re: conky broken after global update

me as well

Conky: unknown variable ibm_temps
Conky: unknown variable ibm_fan

EDIT:

i've to add

 --enable-ibm

to PKGBUILD, and now everything works,

could this feature be enabled by default ?

Last edited by nictki (2009-05-05 09:37:37)

Offline

#5 2009-05-05 13:50:06

futonrevolutionary
Member
Registered: 2008-09-16
Posts: 9

Re: conky broken after global update

evr wrote:

i don't know about the font issue, but it looks like you have an endif on the last line without an if anywhere else.

Where? I grep'ed for endif and nothing was found. How can I fix it? Just delete it?

EDIT: *Facepalm*. I found and commented out the last $endif. Is there another one? I'm getting the same error.

Last edited by futonrevolutionary (2009-05-05 13:59:01)

Offline

#6 2009-05-05 14:05:55

UQ-igor
Member
Registered: 2009-03-05
Posts: 42

Re: conky broken after global update

Yup, my ibm_temps are not recognized anymore too. Conky must have been compiled without them for some reason.....

Offline

#7 2009-05-05 14:23:05

nictki
Member
Registered: 2008-12-06
Posts: 20

Re: conky broken after global update

UQ-igor wrote:

Yup, my ibm_temps are not recognized anymore too. Conky must have been compiled without them for some reason.....

i don't understand, for me conky works fine with --enable-ibm,
could you coll those reasons ?

thx

Offline

#8 2009-05-05 15:07:25

evr
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2009-01-23
Posts: 554

Re: conky broken after global update

futonrevolutionary wrote:
evr wrote:

i don't know about the font issue, but it looks like you have an endif on the last line without an if anywhere else.

Where? I grep'ed for endif and nothing was found. How can I fix it? Just delete it?

EDIT: *Facepalm*. I found and commented out the last $endif. Is there another one? I'm getting the same error.

i believe you have to delete it completely, you can't comment things out in the main body of the conky config.

Offline

#9 2009-05-05 17:13:26

CheesyBeef
Member
Registered: 2008-06-04
Posts: 190

Re: conky broken after global update

My download/upload speeds are performing strange now.

Previously, Conky just displayed only the download speed number (in kilobytes), so I added a constant "KB/s" following the number.  Now Conky appears to report the numbers as 100B or 1000KiB. 

The .conkyrc section looks like this:

${color 979797}Up: ${color }${upspeed eth0} KB/s  ${totalup eth0}  ::  ${color 979797}Down: ${color }${downspeed eth0} KB/s  ${totaldown eth0}

and the bar when running, for example, reads:

Up: 73B  KB/s 16.5MiB :: Down: 1023 KiB  KB/s 205MiB

So I don't know, it didn't used to do that before, but it's not THAT big of a problem.  At first I was wondering why it looked like I was downloading, for example, 100B KB/s constantly (the B for Bytes looks like an 8 on my screen)

Offline

#10 2009-05-05 17:16:01

firecat53
Member
From: Lake Stevens, WA, USA
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,542
Website

Re: conky broken after global update

Did anyone else have the upspeed and downspeed variables start appending a B or K ? They didn't do that before this update. I added 'short_units on' to the config, but it still puts the B or the K after the number. How to get just the number??

Thanks,
Scott

Offline

#11 2009-05-05 17:22:50

evr
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2009-01-23
Posts: 554

Re: conky broken after global update

i just checked it out, and it seems that the upspeed and downspeed will give the B or K, but the upspeedf and downspeedf will not show the B or K as it is always in KiB

Offline

#12 2009-05-05 18:41:38

firecat53
Member
From: Lake Stevens, WA, USA
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,542
Website

Re: conky broken after global update

@evr - yes I tried that too, but the upspeedf/downspeedf also put a decimal point in (54.6, 0.0). They don't have the B or K or Kib appended, but the old upspeed and downspeed didn't have those either -- and no decimal point!  I tried recompiling, but ended up with the same result. Guess I'll have to go see if the devs changed something in this new release.

Scott

Offline

#13 2009-05-05 18:47:12

CheesyBeef
Member
Registered: 2008-06-04
Posts: 190

Re: conky broken after global update

firecat53 wrote:

@evr - yes I tried that too, but the upspeedf/downspeedf also put a decimal point in (54.6, 0.0). They don't have the B or K or Kib appended, but the old upspeed and downspeed didn't have those either -- and no decimal point!  I tried recompiling, but ended up with the same result. Guess I'll have to go see if the devs changed something in this new release.

Scott

I'm not sure if you read above, but I posted the same issue about 2.5 minutes before you.

I actually like the upspeedf/downspeedf with the decimal places - it shows your internet is being used at 0.1 KB/s when normally it would just show 0 KB/s.  When my ethernet devices haven't worked in the past, I would have found it very helpful to see if they are connected or not by viewing that they are transferring bytes, since they sit under 1 KB/s at idle.

Also, I'm having some weird "null" text in place of where the MPD script I have displays song and artist info.  Maybe that's just from the upgrade and it will fix when I play some music again.  We'll see.

Edit: Yes, the MPD "null" message was fixed by simply playing a song again.

Last edited by CheesyBeef (2009-05-05 18:49:33)

Offline

#14 2009-05-05 19:25:01

firecat53
Member
From: Lake Stevens, WA, USA
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,542
Website

Re: conky broken after global update

@CheesyBeef -- Lol smile we were probably typing at the same time! I prefer no decimal point, just for looks, but not that big of a deal. If you want to know if you're internet is connected, you can use something like:
if_up_strictness address
${if_up wlan0} Up ${upspeedf wlan0} k${endif}
which will make your speed not display if you're not connected. Quite handy!

Scott

Edit: My battery bar was also broken, but was fixed by changing ${battery_bar 6,35} to ${battery_bar 6,35 BAT0}

Last edited by firecat53 (2009-05-05 21:54:28)

Offline

#15 2009-05-05 21:36:41

Xyne
Administrator/PM
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 6,963
Website

Re: conky broken after global update

use_spacer also appears to be broken in the latest release. I've downgraded for now.


My Arch Linux StuffForum EtiquetteCommunity Ethos - Arch is not for everyone

Offline

#16 2009-05-05 21:45:41

soupcan
Member
From: ?
Registered: 2008-10-25
Posts: 268

Re: conky broken after global update

Conky now returns (null) for everything. I've also downgraded for now.

Offline

#17 2009-05-06 03:32:38

CheesyBeef
Member
Registered: 2008-06-04
Posts: 190

Re: conky broken after global update

I think that there were quite a few changes to modules which were not formally announced in the changelog.  It would be nice to know all that was changed big_smile

Offline

#18 2009-05-06 11:48:41

beretta
Member
Registered: 2008-04-21
Posts: 133

Re: conky broken after global update

I have another odd issue that's come up.  In my network section, it shows all the up/down speeds, ip, and such.  Then at the bottom is shows "Network Unavailable", while at the same time obviously showing the network up and running.  I have a section that gives me a weather report, and it has something similar.  Could be related to the endif error being reported?  Some if statment not working right?

Pertinent .conkyrc section:

NETWORK ${hr 2}
${if_existing /proc/net/route wlan0}
${voffset -6}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}O${font}   Up: ${upspeed wlan0} kb/s ${alignr}${upspeedgraph wlan0 12,60 789E2D A7CC5C}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}U${font}   Down: ${downspeed wlan0} kb/s ${alignr}${downspeedgraph wlan0 12,60 789E2D A7CC5C}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}N${font}   Upload: ${alignr}${totalup wlan0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}T${font}   Download: ${alignr}${totaldown wlan0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}Z${font}   Signal: ${wireless_link_qual wlan0}% ${alignr}${wireless_link_bar 8,60 wlan0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}a${font}   Local Ip: ${alignr}${addr wlan0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}b${font}   Public Ip: ${alignr}${execi 1 ~/.scripts/ip.sh}
${else}${if_existing /proc/net/route eth0}
${voffset -6}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}O${font}   Up: ${upspeed eth0} kb/s ${alignr}${upspeedgraph eth0 12,60 789E2D A7CC5C}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}U${font}   Down: ${downspeed eth0} kb/s ${alignr}${downspeedgraph eth0 12,60 789E2D A7CC5C}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}N${font}   Upload: ${alignr}${totalup eth0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}T${font}   Download: ${alignr}${totaldown eth0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}a${font}   Local Ip: ${alignr}${addr eth0}
${voffset 4}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}b${font}   Public Ip: ${alignr}${execi 1 ~/.scripts/ip.sh}
${endif}${else}
${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}4${font}   Network Unavailable
${endif}

Seems like the if/else's are being mishandled somehow.

Last edited by beretta (2009-05-06 11:53:35)

Offline

#19 2009-05-06 13:26:26

SiD
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-09-21
Posts: 729

Re: conky broken after global update

here the new conky-version displays wrong free-hd-space.
I use ${fs_size /root} and ${fs_size /home} to display the free space of my root and home partitions.

df -h

/dev/mapper/root      5,6G  4,5G  928M  84% /
/dev/mapper/home       27G   18G  7,6G  70% /home

conky-1.7.0

root: 1.07GB
home: 8.84GB

Last edited by SiD (2009-05-06 13:33:00)

Offline

#20 2009-05-06 13:51:27

futonrevolutionary
Member
Registered: 2008-09-16
Posts: 9

Re: conky broken after global update

I just updated, and there's another Conky version out. Bugfixes, perhaps? Mine just suddenly started working last night.

Last edited by futonrevolutionary (2009-05-06 13:51:39)

Offline

#21 2009-05-09 16:06:27

Perre
Member
Registered: 2008-01-22
Posts: 189

Re: conky broken after global update

I also had to downgrade to get the hd free space to be correct...
Maybe it's getting fixed, but intill then I'm sticking with 1.6.1-2

Offline

#22 2009-05-09 18:18:33

SiD
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-09-21
Posts: 729

Re: conky broken after global update

I use ext3.

Seems the new conky displays the free space + the reserved space on the filesystem.

After setting the reserved space on my home partition to zero (using "tune2fs -m 0 /dev/mapper/home"), conky shows the same value as "df -h".

Last edited by SiD (2009-05-09 18:21:19)

Offline

#23 2009-05-09 19:10:51

Perre
Member
Registered: 2008-01-22
Posts: 189

Re: conky broken after global update

SiD wrote:

I use ext3.

Seems the new conky displays the free space + the reserved space on the filesystem.

After setting the reserved space on my home partition to zero (using "tune2fs -m 0 /dev/mapper/home"), conky shows the same value as "df -h".

Did the same thing and now it works perfectly. Thanks for the tip! smile
I do understand that if I was running a server or was the admin of a bunch of computers at a school or something it would be smart to have the block reservation up and running. But as a "desktop admin" can anyone give me any reasons why I should have any space at all reserved to the root user?

Offline

#24 2009-05-09 19:17:21

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819
Website

Re: conky broken after global update

It makes sense on the /, but not on any other partitions. After all, if the file system is 100% full you can still log in as root (with its homedir on / - /root).


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB