You are not logged in.

#1 2004-11-02 19:05:06

Father
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2004-06-01
Posts: 209

Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

Ive just gotten the 0.7 beta working on my new server.

I had problems when booting into the system, the kernel saying it couldnt mount /dev/discs/disc0/part5 (my / partition)
ive forgotten the exact error, but it was at the VFS mount point.

I spent a number of hours trying to figure out what was wrong.
After a while i came across phrakture's(?) post about having grub problems and tried replacing the root=/dev/hda5 instead of the /dev/discs/... style.
this worked.

it would be good if the 0.7 grub config file had something mentioning the different naming schemes for udev vs devfs

admittedly it has this comment

#  Old /dev    DevFS                    Grub
# -----------------------------------------------
#  /dev/fd0    /dev/floppy/0            (fd0)
#  /dev/hda    /dev/discs/disc0/disc    (hd0)
#  /dev/hdb2   /dev/discs/disc1/part2   (hd1,1)
#  /dev/hda3   /dev/discs/disc0/part3   (hd0,2)

but it is not really clear what one should use.. especially since the /dev/hda section is labeled Old /dev!!?


for some reason, on _this_ computer (which i installed with 0.6 but have upgraded to use udev), the line root=/dev/discs/disc0/.. works!?

i just thought it bring it to someones attention before it goes 0.7-final


another thing, required kernel parameters.. are there any required for Arch to function? I havent seen anything in the wiki mentioning any requirements or even lack there of.

thanks

edited to `codify' the menu.1st comment

Offline

#2 2004-11-02 19:16:30

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

aye, I had the same problems - well, not really... I noticed it on install, so it wasn't a problem, but the file wasn't compatible with auto-prepare

Offline

#3 2004-11-03 00:35:03

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

The problem is that the udev naming scheme and the devfs naming scheme (at boot time) aren't mutually exclusive.  I assume you installed with udev, the device scheme used is the devfs scheme.

I don't remember if the old style devices work with a devfs enabled boot.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#4 2004-11-03 01:54:01

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

Xentac wrote:

The problem is that the udev naming scheme and the devfs naming scheme (at boot time) aren't mutually exclusive.  I assume you installed with udev, the device scheme used is the devfs scheme.

This is a problem, but maybe the grub.conf in the installer should reflect the two different options, with the devfs options commented out, as udev is suggested to be the new default. You think?

Dusty

Offline

#5 2004-11-03 02:44:23

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

It's an idea.  Judd?


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#6 2004-11-08 16:41:34

Father
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2004-06-01
Posts: 209

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

any resolution on this?
i just dont want something so small to ruin the arch experience for new users..

thanks

Offline

#7 2004-11-15 17:43:41

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

I'll do some more tests today, but all my test installs have been fine using the old devfs style scheme, which is why I left it as is.  (when devfs is finally phased out, the plan was to use the standard /dev/hdXY scheme in menu.lst)

Can anyone else confirm this problem for me?

Offline

#8 2004-11-17 18:16:18

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

I can't still reproduce it.  Using 0.7-beta2.

Which kernel are you guys using?  2.6.9 ide?

Offline

#9 2004-11-17 18:37:42

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

actually, my problem was with the root=() line... switching it to root=(hd0) without the partition worked for me, seeing as I installed grub to the MBR

Offline

#10 2004-12-01 13:31:49

Father
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2004-06-01
Posts: 209

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

using self compiled kernel
2.6.9 _without_ devfs

the problem is with the devfs / sysfs (or is it udev) naming scheme.

devfs

kernel (hd0,7)/vmlinuz-2.6.6-1 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part10 devfs=nomount vga=791 ro

udev / sysfs

kernel (hd0,7)/vmlinuz-2.6.9-1 root=/dev/hda10 vga=791 ro

before you point it out, these lines are from a different computer, hence the 2.6.6 kernel and devfs=nomount. However, its still the same thing, conflict between devfs / udev naming scheme


hope that made sense.
thanks

Offline

#11 2004-12-02 21:17:06

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

Well, if I were to venture a guess, it's because your kernel doesn't have devfs built in at all.  So the kernel has no idea what /dev/discs/... is supposed to point to.

The stock kernel has devfs built in, but if you enable udev devfs is set to nomount.  The kernel can then figure out what /dev/discs/... is supposed to be.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#12 2004-12-02 21:18:55

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

Father wrote:

devfs

kernel (hd0,7)/vmlinuz-2.6.6-1 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part10 devfs=nomount vga=791 ro

udev / sysfs

kernel (hd0,7)/vmlinuz-2.6.9-1 root=/dev/hda10 vga=791 ro

partition 10... wow

Offline

#13 2004-12-03 05:11:32

Father
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2004-06-01
Posts: 209

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

Well, if I were to venture a guess, it's because your kernel doesn't have devfs built in at all. So the kernel has no idea what /dev/discs/... is supposed to point to.

yep, thats what im saying.
but because its possible to do such a thing, even during the install with the compile youre own kernel option, I think it would be worth adding an example to distinguish between udev and devfs style devices.

seeing as 0.7 comes udev ready, i didnt expect there to be any trouble with device naming conventions. It took me some hours to realise thats what the problem was.

i think its worth the effort to save anyone else the trouble in the future.

thanks again.

Offline

#14 2004-12-04 15:00:14

Benedict_White
Member
From: Sussex, UK
Registered: 2004-05-27
Posts: 326
Website

Re: Arch 0.7-Beta2 - Bad default grub config

I thought I had this problem when in fact the problem I had was lack of in built support for the compaq 5si raid card. (Only modular support, and you need to be able to see the disk you can't see to be able to load it to see the disk.)

I did try setting up a multi boot grub, with the two diferent conventions, but the only thing that helped was compiling the kernel to build in the driver then the old scheme worked. I must admit I did not test the other scheme.

That server (HP DL360 (was a compaq) ) now works fine handling 10,000 emails a day and checking for spam etc.


Kind regards

Benedict White

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB