You are not logged in.

#1 2004-12-06 19:10:28

murkus
Member
From: Europe/Helsinki
Registered: 2004-03-19
Posts: 254

Rhythmbox 0.8.8 problem

hi,

Since last upgrade I haven't been able to add new music or internet radio stations to Rhythmbox. Also my entire music library is lost. The files are still there but Rhythmbox can't find them..

Any ideas how to correct it?

.murkus

EDIT: I suspect it might have something to do with scrollkeeper having a bug..

Offline

#2 2004-12-06 21:53:08

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,659

Re: Rhythmbox 0.8.8 problem

You mean the rhythmbox from testing with the additional gst-plugins?
If you have a ~/.gstreamer-0.8/registry.xml with more than 4 lines, delete it.

The gstreamer plugins have been splitup in like 40 different plugins. Rhythmbox depends on some of those, but not on all of them. I don't know what format your library was in, but installing the required plugin for that format will enable support for those files again (though I thought rhythmbox didn't support anything else than the plugins I made as dependency).

Also, the gst-plugins-xine plugin currently in testing conflicts with all other plugins and causes segmentation faults. This is because this plugin loads in codecs supported by xine, which conflicts with the same codecs already loaded in by the other plugins. The xine plugin will not move with the others from testing to extra, I will delete it, since it's not recommended by the gstreamer developers anyways.

Offline

#3 2004-12-07 08:18:13

murkus
Member
From: Europe/Helsinki
Registered: 2004-03-19
Posts: 254

Re: Rhythmbox 0.8.8 problem

JGC wrote:

You mean the rhythmbox from testing with the additional gst-plugins?
If you have a ~/.gstreamer-0.8/registry.xml with more than 4 lines, delete it.

Actually 0.8.8-1 from extra and 0.8.8-2 from testing both behave similarly. anyway, when I get home I'm going to test deleting that file you suggested.

.murkus

Offline

#4 2004-12-07 10:07:17

luisfelipe
Member
Registered: 2004-05-06
Posts: 96

Re: Rhythmbox 0.8.8 problem

anyone knows if rhythmbox is working with .wma files ?
Unfortunately, some of my songs are on this crap format, and last time I tried,
rhythmbox was halting when I tried to load my musics dir.

Offline

#5 2004-12-07 18:18:48

murkus
Member
From: Europe/Helsinki
Registered: 2004-03-19
Posts: 254

Re: Rhythmbox 0.8.8 problem

murkus wrote:
JGC wrote:

You mean the rhythmbox from testing with the additional gst-plugins?
If you have a ~/.gstreamer-0.8/registry.xml with more than 4 lines, delete it.

Actually 0.8.8-1 from extra and 0.8.8-2 from testing both behave similarly. anyway, when I get home I'm going to test deleting that file you suggested.

.murkus

umm, now that I had possibility to look into that file I don't see any point deleting it:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<GST-PluginRegistry>
<gst-plugin-paths>
</gst-plugin-paths>
</GST-PluginRegistry>

.murkus

Offline

#6 2004-12-09 18:56:30

murkus
Member
From: Europe/Helsinki
Registered: 2004-03-19
Posts: 254

Re: Rhythmbox 0.8.8 problem

Problem solved.

doing

$pacman -R rhythmbox
$pacman -Syu
$pacman -S rhythmbox

fixed it.

I don't understand what the problem was, as the package version is the same..


.murkus

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB