You are not logged in.

#1 2004-12-01 15:15:22

bobzomer
Member
Registered: 2004-05-11
Posts: 14

Firefox problems

I've got several problems to submit to you :

1)    Since I updated to firefox 1.0-1, new tabs open only in background (while in the options it says it will open them with focus). Furthermore, if I middle-click on a link, it opens a new tab (in background) but doesn't load any URL. It seems even stranger since, before updating, all worked without any problem.

2)    Always with Firefox but older problem, and less annoying: when I click on the OK button in the options dialog, it says it failed to save options (but actually it saved them). Has anyone the same problem? If yes, how to remove that message? (I checked the file permission and so on...)

3)    I need to go on a website which checks my user-agent and uses java applet. I've got to browser : Firefox and Konqueror. Firefox doesn't allow me to change my user-agent (at least in the options dialog) and Konqueror isn't able to find my java (1.5) plugin (while the path is good and it finds other plugins). Has anyone an idea on how to change make one of them allow the both?


PS: Arch is a very very very good distro, but it lacks gcj !!!

Offline

#2 2004-12-02 05:53:14

Stinky
Member
From: The Colony, TX
Registered: 2004-05-28
Posts: 187

Re: Firefox problems

I've got the same problem with middle click opening blank new tab since upgrading to 1.0 on one of my Arch boxes but it works fine on the other.  Very strange.  Haven't figured it out yet though.

Offline

#3 2004-12-02 16:29:03

bobzomer
Member
Registered: 2004-05-11
Posts: 14

Re: Firefox problems

Sorry but the third problem fixed itself... Konqueror seems to accept Java without any change.

Offline

#4 2004-12-03 06:52:31

Gnipper
Member
Registered: 2004-12-03
Posts: 7

Re: Firefox problems

I've got the same problems with opening pages in new tabs in Firefox 1.0.

Also, 'find' does not work at all.

And the edit keys don't work properly - the left and right arrow keys don't move the cursor over the text, for example in the Google search box and when editing text in this post.

I'm running Arch with Xfce.

--
Gnipper

Offline

#5 2004-12-03 09:01:56

bobzomer
Member
Registered: 2004-05-11
Posts: 14

Re: Firefox problems

I also these two problems but they don't seem to come from Arch because one of my friend is under Red Hat and has the same problem...

Offline

#6 2004-12-05 03:18:19

MatrixP
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2004-09-22
Posts: 21
Website

Re: Firefox problems

hi there, got the same problem.

is there any solution available?

Offline

#7 2004-12-05 04:18:32

aias
Member
Registered: 2004-06-28
Posts: 39

Re: Firefox problems

sign me up for the *exact* problems.  I was looking for a soln.  if it is also under RH, it could be a firefox problem...

Offline

#8 2004-12-06 16:54:26

ScottTFrazer
Member
Registered: 2004-10-20
Posts: 47

Re: Firefox problems

For the User Agent problem: There's a User Agent Switcher Extension o the official Mozilla Extensions page, but it changes the user agent on all subsequently visited pages.  I prefer Konqueror's method of allowing you to specify a UA for a domain

Offline

#9 2004-12-09 10:19:31

orjanp
Member
From: Tromsoe, Norway
Registered: 2004-07-03
Posts: 343

Re: Firefox problems

1. I had the same problem when I upgraded Firefox. I think I solved it by removing Firefox completely(user prefs folder to) and reinstall it again.


Ørjan Pettersen

Offline

#10 2004-12-10 00:03:59

Gnipper
Member
Registered: 2004-12-03
Posts: 7

Re: Firefox problems

OK, I removed firefox completely and reinstalled and it appears that everything is fixed. Regarding Point 1 in the original post, under 'Preferences - Advanced - Tabbed Browsing' checking 'Select new tabs opened from links' causes new tabs to receive focus when middle clicking on a link.

'Find' now seems to work, as do the editing keys. I assume something in the package is not quite right when you upgrade an existing installation.

--
Gnipper

Offline

#11 2004-12-10 09:24:43

bobzomer
Member
Registered: 2004-05-11
Posts: 14

Re: Firefox problems

Lots of thanks to orjanp who gave the final solution. All works now !!!
big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB