You are not logged in.
Hello,
KMS worked very well until I moved to the new Kernel 2.6.30, now the framebuffer-terminal itself seems to use the wrong resolution (1024x768?), instead of avaible 1280x800 of my screen. The crazy thing is, the X11 uses 1280x800 like it should.
DMESG:
Linux agpgart interface v0.103
agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: Intel 965GM Chipset
agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: detected 15868K stolen memory
agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: AGP aperture is 256M @ 0x80000000
[drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
i915 0000:00:02.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
i915 0000:00:02.0: setting latency timer to 64
i915 0000:00:02.0: irq 27 for MSI/MSI-X
ACPI: Battery Slot [BAT0] (battery present)
allocated 1280x800 fb: 0x00fdf000, bo ffff88007c9969c0
[drm] TV-15: set mode 1024x768 1a
[drm] LVDS-8: set mode 1280x800 17
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
fb0: inteldrmfb frame buffer device
registered panic notifier
[drm] Initialized i915 1.6.0 20080730 for 0000:00:02.0 on minor 0
Driver 'sd' needs updating - please use bus_type methods
Driver 'sr' needs updating - please use bus_type methods
What can I do?
Last edited by hoschi (2009-06-15 11:08:36)
Offline
I've got the same output, but I dont think that it uses wrong resolution, when I log in to console (when I disable gdm) it gives me propper 1280x800.
Offline
Isn't that because of driver turns on also TV output?
[drm] TV-15: set mode 1024x768 1a
[drm] LVDS-8: set mode 1280x800 17
I've got this with 2.6.29 everytime I boot with external display plugged in (notebook LCD is shrinked from 1680x1050 to 1280x1024 to match external display resolution).
Offline
i have a similar problem with 2.6.29, everytime i maximize a window it maximizes to 1024x768 i just have to disable the TV1 output and everything is fine
Offline
how?
Offline
Use xrandr (but that applies only for X, don't know how to change in console)
Offline
my problem is, it occours only in the console?!
x11 runs perfect in 1280x800 in "fullscreen"
Offline
Sure, because X11 itself independently detect and set the resolution (smaller device - TV - overlaps greater - LVDS and you can adjust everything with xrandr), but the console is set to smallest device resolution.. so your display is set to its native resolution, but used is only part which overlaps with TV resolution.
What I am trying to say is, that this behaviour is not a bug but a feature. Unfortunately there is no tool like xrandr for console or any other way to change it (at this time). Or at least I don't know any.
Offline
Your are right.
I know how KMS thinks and meets its decision. But - I have no TV connected and had never!
Last edited by hoschi (2009-06-11 19:07:16)
Offline
Just curious are you using kernel 2.6.30 from testing ? What about kms, enabled by default?
Offline
If you use laptop-mode-tools, maybe you can try to disable your TV out in /etc/laptop-mode/conf.d/video-out.conf
You should disable it for both, battery and AC (and maybe in the NOLM mode too).
Offline
Just curious are you using kernel 2.6.30 from testing ? What about kms, enabled by default?
vanilla from kernel.org
sorry, i don't use laptopmodetools. other way?
Offline
I've had a similar bug: http://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=21204
Please report this problem to the freedesktop.org bugtracker, the TV should not be falsely enabled.
Offline
Okay, I just rebooted into the 2.6.30-ARCH kernel and have the same problem now.
Offline
Same problem here!
Also, my system sounds returned after kernel upgrade, very strange!
Offline
There's a patch for the problem, see http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/g … 1474002545
Offline
After todays upgrade I don't have a problem with the resolution no more... Ql...
Sorry, just a fluke, problem remains
Last edited by combuster (2009-06-13 20:57:57)
Offline
There's a patch for the problem, see http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/g … 1474002545
I created this patch by hand (i hate git...why is their no plain patchfile?):
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_display.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_display.c
@@ -2136,6 +2136,7 @@ struct drm_crtc *intel_get_load_detect_pipe(struct intel_output *intel_output,
}
encoder->crtc = crtc;
+ intel_output->base.encoder = encoder;
intel_output->load_detect_temp = true;
intel_crtc = to_intel_crtc(crtc);
@@ -2171,6 +2172,7 @@ void intel_release_load_detect_pipe(struct intel_output *intel_output, int dpms_
if (intel_output->load_detect_temp) {
encoder->crtc = NULL;
+ intel_output->base.encoder = NULL;
intel_output->load_detect_temp = false;
crtc->enabled = drm_helper_crtc_in_use(crtc);
drm_helper_disable_unused_functions(dev);
cat | patch -p1 --dry-run
Gave me two hunks
I tried befor 2.6.30-git6 from kernel.org, which runs perfect but:
Strange ext4-errors/warnung *omfg* and immediatley crashes STDIO if I lauch X11.
Help?
Last edited by hoschi (2009-06-14 00:47:12)
Offline
Latest update fixed the problem for me!
$ sudo pacman -Qs kernel26
local/kernel26 2.6.30-3 (base)
Offline
Here the patch for plain vanilla-kernel from kernel.org
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_display.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_display.c
@@ -1590,6 +1590,7 @@ struct drm_crtc *intel_get_load_detect_pipe(struct intel_output *intel_output,
}
encoder->crtc = crtc;
+ intel_output->base.encoder = encoder;
intel_output->load_detect_temp = true;
intel_crtc = to_intel_crtc(crtc);
@@ -1625,6 +1626,7 @@ void intel_release_load_detect_pipe(struct intel_output *intel_output, int dpms_
if (intel_output->load_detect_temp) {
encoder->crtc = NULL;
+ intel_output->base.encoder = NULL;
intel_output->load_detect_temp = false;
crtc->enabled = drm_helper_crtc_in_use(crtc);
drm_helper_disable_unused_functions(dev);
Thanks to Klappfallscheibe
Offline
Latest update fixed the problem for me!
$ sudo pacman -Qs kernel26 local/kernel26 2.6.30-3 (base)
for me too, was that patch already included in the pkgrelease 3? that was fast!
cheers
Barde
Offline
I'm using kernel26 2.6.30.1-1 and I'm still experiencing the KMS problem... On a side note I have an Intel 4500MHD card and i often have font problems, like sometimes when i login they are bigger than normal, but since this KMS problem appeared, they never revert to their normal size, no matter how many times i logout or reboot...
Offline
Same problem here. With nouveau 0.0.10_git20091013-1 and Linux kernel 2.6.31 console resolution ist set to something really strange in the upper left corner.
dmesg:
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: ... appears to be valid
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: BIT BIOS found
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Bios version 05.43.02.92
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Found Display Configuration Block version 3.0
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Raw DCB entry 0: 01000300 00000028
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Raw DCB entry 1: 04011312 00000000
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Raw DCB entry 2: 04011310 00000028
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Raw DCB entry 3: 020223f1 00c0c083
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Parsing VBIOS init table 0 at offset 0xE15B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Parsing VBIOS init table 1 at offset 0xE597
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Parsing VBIOS init table 2 at offset 0xEA11
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Parsing VBIOS init table 3 at offset 0xEB9C
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Parsing VBIOS init table 4 at offset 0xEC7C
[TTM] Zone kernel: Available graphics memory: 447268 kiB.
[TTM] Zone highmem: Available graphics memory: 516744 kiB.
agpgart-amd64 0000:00:00.0: AGP 3.0 bridge
agpgart: modprobe tried to set rate=x12. Setting to AGP3 x8 mode.
agpgart-amd64 0000:00:00.0: putting AGP V3 device into 8x mode
nouveau 0000:01:00.0: putting AGP V3 device into 8x mode
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Allocating FIFO number 0
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: nouveau_channel_alloc: initialised FIFO 0
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Initial CRTC_OWNER is 0
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Detected a VGA connector
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Detected a DVI-I connector
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Detected a TV connector
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Saving VGA fonts
usbcore: registered new interface driver hiddev
input: HID 1241:1166 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:10.1/usb3/3-2/3-2:1.0/input/input6
generic-usb 0003:1241:1166.0001: input,hidraw0: USB HID v1.10 Mouse [HID 1241:1166] on usb-0000:00:10.1-2/input0
usbcore: registered new interface driver usbhid
usbhid: v2.6:USB HID core driver
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: allocated 1680x1050 fb: 0x49000, bo f6b28c00
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on tmds encoder (output 1)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on vga encoder (output 0)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on vga encoder (output 2)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on CRTC 0
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: vpll: n 22 m 5 log2p 0
[drm] TMDS-8: set mode 1680x1050 38
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on CRTC 0
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: nv04_dfp_commit called for encoder 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: 0xD5B3: Parsing digital output script table
VIA 82xx Modem 0000:00:11.6: PCI INT C disabled
VIA 82xx Modem: probe of 0000:00:11.6 failed with error -13
VIA 82xx Audio 0000:00:11.5: PCI INT C -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
VIA 82xx Audio 0000:00:11.5: setting latency timer to 64
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on tmds encoder (output 1)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Output DVI-I-1 is running on CRTC 0 using output C
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: vpll: n 20 m 3 log2p 1
[drm] TV-10: set mode 720x576 39
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Output TV-1 is running on CRTC 1 using output B
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 90x36
fb0: nouveaufb frame buffer device
registered panic notifier
[drm] Initialized nouveau 0.0.15 20090420 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
EXT3 FS on sda1, internal journal
kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3 FS on sda5, internal journal
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with writeback data mode.
kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3 FS on sdb1, internal journal
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with writeback data mode.
Adding 1044216k swap on /dev/sdb2. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:1044216k
scsi 4:0:0:0: Direct-Access WD 2500JB External 0108 PQ: 0 ANSI: 0
sd 4:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg3 type 0
usb-storage: device scan complete
sd 4:0:0:0: [sdc] 488397168 512-byte logical blocks: (250 GB/232 GiB)
sd 4:0:0:0: [sdc] Write Protect is off
sd 4:0:0:0: [sdc] Mode Sense: 03 00 00 00
sd 4:0:0:0: [sdc] Assuming drive cache: write through
sd 4:0:0:0: [sdc] Assuming drive cache: write through
sdc: sdc1
sd 4:0:0:0: [sdc] Assuming drive cache: write through
sd 4:0:0:0: [sdc] Attached SCSI disk
NET: Registered protocol family 10
lo: Disabled Privacy Extensions
skge eth0: enabling interface
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Allocating FIFO number 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: nouveau_channel_alloc: initialised FIFO 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: vpll: n 20 m 3 log2p 1
[drm] TV-10: set mode 1024x768 3b
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Output TV-1 is running on CRTC 1 using output B
wlan0: authenticate with AP 00:14:bf:3c:ca:b3
wlan0: authenticated
wlan0: associate with AP 00:14:bf:3c:ca:b3
wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:14:bf:3c:ca:b3 (capab=0x431 status=0 aid=1)
wlan0: associated
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: nouveau_channel_free: freeing fifo 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: vpll: n 20 m 3 log2p 1
[drm] TV-10: set mode 720x576 39
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Output TV-1 is running on CRTC 1 using output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Allocating FIFO number 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: nouveau_channel_alloc: initialised FIFO 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: vpll: n 20 m 3 log2p 1
[drm] TV-10: set mode 1024x768 3d
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Output TV-1 is running on CRTC 1 using output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: nouveau_channel_free: freeing fifo 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: vpll: n 20 m 3 log2p 1
[drm] TV-10: set mode 720x576 39
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Output TV-1 is running on CRTC 1 using output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Allocating FIFO number 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: nouveau_channel_alloc: initialised FIFO 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: vpll: n 20 m 3 log2p 1
[drm] TV-10: set mode 1024x768 3f
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 0 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Output TV-1 is running on CRTC 1 using output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Load detected on output B
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on TV encoder (output 3)
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Setting dpms mode 3 on CRTC 1
[drm] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: vpll: n 20 m 3 log2p 1
[drm] TV-10: set mode 720x576 39
My monitor resolution is 1680x1050. No idea how to fix it...
EDIT: I´ll start a new thread because my problem does not belong to this intel topic.
Last edited by tyr0 (2009-10-15 12:20:14)
Offline
Hello.
I'm sorry to wake up this thread, but this is the ONLY thing I've been able too google about the issue I'm experiencing.
I don't understand how this bug has been marked as "solved". But, well, I don't understand how the bug tracking things to. I'm just a newbie.
Anyhow, the fact is: since I upgraded to Arch kernel 2.6.38 (from perhaps 2.6.36, but I'm not sure), whenever I boot when an external display plugged in (but no TV), on the console I get the right resolution but the wrong size (display is 1280x1024, but I only get used the upper 1280x768 pixels). My video card is intel, and uses the i915 driver. In graphics mode, everything works well, of course, and Xrandr finds the right resolution and size.
How can I solve this issue? Is there any kernel option to pass onto bootup? Or do I really have to apply a patch to the kernel? I'm just a normal user, don't know a word about applying patches. I mean: if a normal user (not experienced, no computing degree, etc.) has to apply a patch to the kernel in order to have a bug solved... ehem!, that doesn't sound much like a "solved bug"...
Please any help appreciated.
Anyhow, just in case someone yells at me for reopening this, i'll try to open a new thread.
Offline
The patch you're talking about has been merged into the mainline kernel a long time ago, this thread is almost two years old.
As the problem in this thread was solved and you have a problem with another version of the kernel (2 years later), you should've just opened a new thread.
Offline