You are not logged in.

#1 2004-12-12 10:05:32

Taz76
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-10-19
Posts: 44
Website

bigmem/4gb support?

Greets!

I will buy more RAM in a month or so I think.. to 1Gb since Maya eates memory like a hungry lion.. 8) But I've read that the kernel has to be compiled with support for bigmem or 4gb.. otherwise there was some limit at just below 900mb.. so my question is.. is the 2.6.9-kernel in arch 0.7 compiled with this support?

....and a suggestion: why not put up a page listing what features the kernel (and such) are compiled with? an arch feature-list... I can't find anything like that except that it's an i686-optimized distro. 

Regards,
Taz - just one of those happy arch users  wink

Offline

#2 2004-12-12 14:32:48

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: bigmem/4gb support?

I'd go for the 1gig lowmem patch, can be found here: http://ck.kolivas.org/patches/2.6/2.6.1 … 3/patches/ and here for the 2.6.9 version: http://ck.kolivas.org/patches/2.6/2.6.9 … _i386.diff

Of course you'll need to compile your own kernel then, as Arch's kernel is the vanilla one.

To see what config Arch uses for it's standard kernel then either look at CVS or do 'zcat /proc/config'.

Offline

#3 2004-12-12 15:04:03

Taz76
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-10-19
Posts: 44
Website

Re: bigmem/4gb support?

how does those .diff-files work?

Offline

#4 2004-12-12 15:10:37

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: bigmem/4gb support?

I'll assume you know how to build yourown kernels, if not, then find out (plenty of readme's out there, also maybe even in the wiki). If you really have no clue you could use Arch's config (e.g. from /proc/config.gz).

If you have the kernel source somewhere, then to apply a patch, go into the kernel-2.6.* dir, and do `patch -p1 --dry-run < ../somewhere/patch.diff`. If that went ok without any errors you can repeat that without the "--dry-run" part. For more info see the manpages of diff and patch.

Offline

#5 2004-12-12 15:13:50

Taz76
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-10-19
Posts: 44
Website

Re: bigmem/4gb support?

I did a zcat /proc/config.. looked at the results and found "CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G=y"..   - so no support if I would buy to 1gb RAM in the kernel now without compiling myself?

Offline

#6 2004-12-12 15:15:25

Taz76
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-10-19
Posts: 44
Website

Re: bigmem/4gb support?

Well.. I tried to compile my own kernel (2.6.9) but that failed completely... the kernel went all panic..  roll

Offline

#7 2004-12-12 15:29:00

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: bigmem/4gb support?

The point of that patch was that you can have 1 gig mem without needed support for highmem, as highmem slows things down and is ugly. So either use the default Arch kernel if it has highmem support, or use your own one without highmem and that patch. I forgot to say this before, sorry. Also I didn't try out that patch myself as I don't have 1 gig mem, so can't guarantee that it will work (though it likely will if you use the correct one for your kernelversion).

When fiddling with cutom kernels make sure you have a working one somewhere so that you can fall back to that one when things don't work.

Offline

#8 2004-12-12 15:34:18

Taz76
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-10-19
Posts: 44
Website

Re: bigmem/4gb support?

okey.. so, what's the difference between highmem and lowmem (the patch)? something about how linux adresses the memory? *guessing* if you know of a good page about this I'll be happy to read up on it  big_smile

Offline

#9 2004-12-12 18:57:57

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: bigmem/4gb support?

the stock kernel comes with 4GB support... you'll be fine. smile

Offline

#10 2004-12-12 20:31:20

Taz76
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-10-19
Posts: 44
Website

Re: bigmem/4gb support?

okey  big_smile

Offline

#11 2004-12-14 04:27:41

Win
Member
Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 155

Re: bigmem/4gb support?

Hi Taz76.

You can determine the compiled settings by inspecting /boot/kconfig26:

CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G=y

Regards,

Win

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB