You are not logged in.

#26 2009-05-27 14:07:31

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

schuay wrote:
iphitus wrote:

I can't push a new release out until friday, until then replace /usr/lib/network/network with...

Could we get a new release even if it only contains this fix? This breaks suspend for everyone using [testing].

Edit: I don't mind replacing the file on one computer, but I've got arch on over 10 boxes big_smile

keep the file in one of your servers, and whenever you touch a box which will need suspend, replace the file yourself, the other boxes will eventually upgrade.

today i will be @ my univ trying to debug wireless-dbus with an open network... will report back later

Offline

#27 2009-05-27 14:48:30

Daenyth
Forum Fellow
From: Boston, MA
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 1,244

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

How are the quirks no longer necessary? I was unable to connect before without using the predown quirk.

Offline

#28 2009-05-27 19:49:11

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

im here at my univ, trying to connect with this profile:

CONNECTION="wireless-dbus"
DESCRIPTION="biblioteca fiuba"
INTERFACE=wlan0
IP="dhcp"
ESSID=FIUBA-BIBLIOTECA
SECURITY=none
SCAN="YES"
TIMEOUT=20
# Commands to run at various stages of configuration
POST_UP="/usr/bin/proxy_script proxy-on 10.20.0.4 8080"
PRE_DOWN="/usr/bin/proxy_script proxy-off"

gives the following error:

#  /etc/rc.d/net-auto start
:: Scanning for networks                                                 [BUSY] 
:: biblio up                                                             [BUSY]  
- Association/Authentication failed:SCANNING
                                                                         [FAIL]

dmesg:

#  dmesg |tail
wmaster0 (rt73usb): not using net_device_ops yet
phy5: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel'
wlan0 (rt73usb): not using net_device_ops yet
Registered led device: rt73usb-phy5:radio
Registered led device: rt73usb-phy5:assoc
Registered led device: rt73usb-phy5:quality
usbcore: registered new interface driver rt73usb
rt73usb 1-2:1.0: firmware: requesting rt73.bin
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready

any extra info needed? just drop a line

same profile, with CONNECTION="wireless" works ok

Last edited by eldragon (2009-05-27 19:49:54)

Offline

#29 2009-06-01 14:38:33

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

schuay and all, netcfg 2.2.0 beta 2 has been upped, only change is the appropriate suspend fix. Sorry for the delay, it's the end of the semester and I've had assignment after assignment. I'll be pretty busy the next few weeks with exams too.

Daenyth: I want to discourage the quirks options as most of the quirks are not longer needed, not necessarily all. Some are for older drivers, others are redundant due to changes in netcfg. The other main reason for discouraging them is that people are assuming a normal failure requires one of those to fix them. I've seen a few threads where people have configured netcfg incorrectly, their connection fails, they assume their configuration is correct and thus they need a quirk.

bangkok_manouel: /etc/network.d/examples/ethernet-iproute, /etc/network.d/examples/ethernet-static

eldragon: Thanks. I will try and replicate that here.

Army: ok thanks.
* Rmmod and modprobe the kernel module for your driver, then could you run "ip link set eth0 up" wait 5 seconds and then post the output of "ip link show".
* what driver?

Offline

#30 2009-06-01 15:15:06

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

ok, with new update, suspend works ok, and resumes, but upon resume, it does not restore the network (i dont know if this is netcfg's duty or pm-suspend), i re-added my hook that runs /etc/rc.d/net-auto restart upon resume/thaw to get this fixed.


iphitus wrote:

eldragon: Thanks. I will try and replicate that here.

let me know if you need anything else.

Offline

#31 2009-06-01 16:10:47

schuay
Trusted User (TU)
From: Austria
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 564

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

iphitus wrote:

schuay and all, netcfg 2.2.0 beta 2 has been upped, only change is the appropriate suspend fix.

thanks, much appreciated smile

Offline

#32 2009-06-01 16:14:11

bangkok_manouel
Member
From: indicates a starting point
Registered: 2005-02-07
Posts: 1,554

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

FTR, netcfg 2.2.0b2-1, iwl3945 (2.6.30-rc7), wireless-dbus-wpa, static ip, works as expected.


All design goals must be phrased in such a way that it is hard to use them as slogans to justify stupidity.

Offline

#33 2009-06-01 16:14:53

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

iphitus wrote:

Army: ok thanks.
* Rmmod and modprobe the kernel module for your driver, then could you run "ip link set eth0 up" wait 5 seconds and then post the output of "ip link show".
* what driver?

The module is b44 (Broadcom 44xx/47xx 10/100 PCI ethernet driver)
Ok, I'll try that out, thanks

Offline

#34 2009-06-03 20:58:06

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

# ip link show
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN 
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
3: eth1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:0e:35:c4:fd:69 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:0a:e4:a5:67:84 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

eth0 is ethernet, eth1 is wireless
Do I have to modify my profile now?

Last edited by Army (2009-06-03 20:58:50)

Offline

#35 2009-06-04 01:13:21

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

Try changing the number on both line 28 of /usr/lib/network/ethernet-iproute and line 21 of /usr/lib/network/ethernet from '5' to '20'.

Offline

#36 2009-06-06 02:19:13

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

beta 3 in testing, hopefully fixes it.

Offline

#37 2009-06-06 03:06:48

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

can this be used as a backend for kde-networkmanager-plasmoid ?


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#38 2009-06-06 04:26:32

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

iphitus wrote:

beta 3 in testing, hopefully fixes it.

if you are talking to me, gonna test it next week.

one extra issue that might be related. i could not connect to a wep account from a netgear router 803.11b with wireless-dbus, wireless only worked ok... cant remember the error... not the same as my univ's open network. gonna test both with beta3 and report back

Offline

#39 2009-06-06 06:26:02

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

eldragon wrote:
iphitus wrote:

beta 3 in testing, hopefully fixes it.

if you are talking to me, gonna test it next week.

one extra issue that might be related. i could not connect to a wep account from a netgear router 803.11b with wireless-dbus, wireless only worked ok... cant remember the error... not the same as my univ's open network. gonna test both with beta3 and report back

oh, I should have been clearer, it hopefully fixes the ethernet issues some have been having where it is erroring with 'no connection'. There are no other changes in this release. I was just trying to push out that ethernet fix as I wont have much time in the next few weeks due to exams.

venky80: I've got no idea. Does it support multiple backends or is it tied right into networkmanager?

Last edited by iphitus (2009-06-06 06:27:07)

Offline

#40 2009-06-06 09:56:54

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

I think it does use solid which in turn has several backends like dummy, networkmanager and wicd atm..

Offline

#41 2009-06-06 11:00:39

rwd
Member
Registered: 2009-02-08
Posts: 646

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

<removed>

Last edited by rwd (2009-06-06 11:05:40)

Offline

#42 2009-06-07 16:55:07

schuay
Trusted User (TU)
From: Austria
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 564

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

Army wrote:

At boot, I start my network with net-profiles. I continued using my config once created by archassistant, which looks like this

CONNECTION="ethernet"
DESCRIPTION=""
INTERFACE=eth0
IP="static"
IFOPTS="xxx.xx.xx.xx netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast xxx.xx.xxx.xxx"
GATEWAY="xxx.xx.xxx.x"
DNS1=xxx.xx.x.xxx
DNS2=

It used to work perfectly, but now I simply get a

No connection

When running netcfg PROFILE as root after booting, it works just fine. Where's my mistake?
I also tried to make a new profile according to the examples, but then it doesn't work at all.

Same problem here, except I can't even get it to work after boot... sad
Changing the timeouts from 5 to 20 didn't help. I tried both old and new config styles, ethernet and ethernet-iproute.
Always returns "No Connection". Dhcpcd works.

Last edited by schuay (2009-06-07 17:05:45)

Offline

#43 2009-06-07 17:41:36

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

am i the onlyone not seeing beta3 hitting the testing repo?

Offline

#44 2009-06-08 10:33:01

irfan
Member
Registered: 2008-07-03
Posts: 26

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

eldragon wrote:

am i the onlyone not seeing beta3 hitting the testing repo?

No, You are not the onlyone.

Offline

#45 2009-06-08 11:04:19

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

iphitus wrote:

Try changing the number on both line 28 of /usr/lib/network/ethernet-iproute and line 21 of /usr/lib/network/ethernet from '5' to '20'.

Works :-) Although I only found one of these files and that one in another path /usr/lib/network/connections/ethernet-iproute

Offline

#46 2009-06-08 11:40:58

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

iphitus wrote:
eldragon wrote:
iphitus wrote:

beta 3 in testing, hopefully fixes it.

if you are talking to me, gonna test it next week.

one extra issue that might be related. i could not connect to a wep account from a netgear router 803.11b with wireless-dbus, wireless only worked ok... cant remember the error... not the same as my univ's open network. gonna test both with beta3 and report back

oh, I should have been clearer, it hopefully fixes the ethernet issues some have been having where it is erroring with 'no connection'. There are no other changes in this release. I was just trying to push out that ethernet fix as I wont have much time in the next few weeks due to exams.

venky80: I've got no idea. Does it support multiple backends or is it tied right into networkmanager?

It looks like there can be multiple backends, currently there is networkmanager and wicd


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#47 2009-06-08 15:18:37

matsche
Member
From: .at
Registered: 2004-04-27
Posts: 120

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

sometimes i got errors with my wep wlan connection:

17:14:30 root@/home/matze $ netcfg morloher
:: morloher up
 [BUSY] dhcpcd: wlan0: add_route: No such process
                                                                         [DONE] 
17:14:33 root@/home/matze $ netcfg morloher
 > morloher already connected 
17:15:19 root@/home/matze $ netcfg -d morloher
:: morloher down                                                         [DONE] 
17:15:21 root@/home/matze $ netcfg morloher
:: morloher up                                                      
dhcpcd: wlan0: NAK: (null) from 192.168.1.1
dhcpcd: timed out
 - DHCP IP lease attempt failed.
                                                                         [FAIL] 
17:15:33 root@/home/matze $ netcfg morloher
:: morloher up                                                           [DONE] 
17:15:45 root@/home/matze $ pacman -Syu

any similar experiences?

Last edited by matsche (2009-06-08 15:19:42)


THX!!
cu matsche

Offline

#48 2009-06-14 00:59:23

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

matsche: I'll look into that soon and see what I can do.

for anyone who happens to browse here I've uploaded a beta of my netcfg tray icon. It's a very simple little thing but I havn't "tidied" it up for release yet, so please don't take this as release quality nor features - I just don't have time at this moment to tidy it up. I still have two features I'd like to add: create new profile, and create new profile based on available wireless network.

That said, it's very usable and quite stable. I already use it daily on my laptop.

It expects a config in ~/.config/netcfg-tray/config

notifications=libnotify

depends are pygtk, and pynotify.

it'll appear on the ftp soon... ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/other/netcfg/ne … eta.tar.gz

Last edited by iphitus (2009-06-14 01:04:46)

Offline

#49 2009-06-14 06:55:44

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

iphitus wrote:

matsche: I'll look into that soon and see what I can do.

for anyone who happens to browse here I've uploaded a beta of my netcfg tray icon. It's a very simple little thing but I havn't "tidied" it up for release yet, so please don't take this as release quality nor features - I just don't have time at this moment to tidy it up. I still have two features I'd like to add: create new profile, and create new profile based on available wireless network.

That said, it's very usable and quite stable. I already use it daily on my laptop.

It expects a config in ~/.config/netcfg-tray/config

notifications=libnotify

depends are pygtk, and pynotify.

it'll appear on the ftp soon... ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/other/netcfg/ne … eta.tar.gz

there is a hardcoded path in the script, other than that it works..sort of... pops some errors when trying to switch profiles...

$  sudo ./src/netcfg-tray/netcfgtray.py 
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./src/netcfg-tray/netcfgtray.py", line 134, in profile_action
    pynotify.Notification("netcfg-tray","Disconnecting "+arg.name).show()
glib.GError: The name org.freedesktop.Notifications was not provided by any .service files

this error appeared when trying to disconnect the current profile.

Offline

#50 2009-06-14 08:10:06

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

like I said, it's not production ready, there's lots of hardcoded paths. I just figured it'd upload something because it'll be a while before I can tidy it up.

The above error means that you dont have any notification-daemon running/installed, hence libnotify doesnt work. It'll have support for dzen and other methods upon release.

Last edited by iphitus (2009-06-14 08:11:08)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB