You are not logged in.

#26 2009-05-09 16:53:37

greenfish
Member
From: eating fish in /dev/null
Registered: 2008-08-30
Posts: 229

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

lastchancetosee wrote:

I'm afraid I will be deserting you. I'll bring back my board and exchange it with one with NVidia-chipset.

In the meantime I tried the radeonhd-driver, with mixed results: It works far better with the RS780, but I couldn't get DRI to work even though others apparently did.
The whole problem seems to be strangely random.

I didn't have time yet to test the old xorg-server, but maybe I'll do that over the weekend before returning the board.

Cool dude, have fun with your new nvidia board smile

I've tried downgrading the kernel/catalyst etc but I ended up with way too many broken dependencies for my own taste.

I'm back on 2.6.29+recent catalyst = overheating laptop roll

Oh well...


ARCH64 archSKYNET server AMD  Phenom(tm) II X2 550 HDD 6TB Ram 8GB
Hobbies: Running, Pistol Marksmanship, Classic Music

Offline

#27 2009-05-11 17:25:16

greenfish
Member
From: eating fish in /dev/null
Registered: 2008-08-30
Posts: 229

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

UPDATE: ugh I need some help here, downgrading my kernel/xorg just leaves me with a broken archbox (lots of broken dependencies).

Also my worst problem right now is that my fans are constantly spinning at full speed (cant regulate - sony vaio here), yes i'm talking about the GPU fan. Also running any video in full screen with vlc/mplayer crashes my entire computer, have to shutdown using the power button

Any ideas?

Linux archbox 2.6.29-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Apr 29 15:36:46 CEST 2009 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8400 @ 2.26GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux


ARCH64 archSKYNET server AMD  Phenom(tm) II X2 550 HDD 6TB Ram 8GB
Hobbies: Running, Pistol Marksmanship, Classic Music

Offline

#28 2009-05-14 07:23:33

Anvarich
Member
Registered: 2009-05-14
Posts: 3

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

I have this issue too in Ubuntu distro. In HDTV films I see horizontal line flashes on LCD TV. After disabling Composite extension in xorg.conf , i don't this lines. list what tried  to do whith this problem:
- enabling|disabling vsync
- driver nv|nvidia
- tripple buffeer on|off
- some configuration options for nvidia GPU
That's don't repair this problem. Only disabling composite. That's very sad. Any suggestions ?

Offline

#29 2009-05-16 20:34:24

lastchancetosee
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 129

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

greenfish wrote:

UPDATE: ugh I need some help here, downgrading my kernel/xorg just leaves me with a broken archbox (lots of broken dependencies).

Also my worst problem right now is that my fans are constantly spinning at full speed (cant regulate - sony vaio here), yes i'm talking about the GPU fan. Also running any video in full screen with vlc/mplayer crashes my entire computer, have to shutdown using the power button

That sounds nasty. Is your system up to date again, or are you still using (or trying to use) the old kernel/xorg/catalyst etc.? I've up- and downgraded my system all over the place without any problems (if you discount the problem that none of it actually helped :-) ).
You can't even get into any of the virtual consoles?
I guess you have the DontZap option disabled in xorg.conf and ctrl+alt+backspace does not work either?


Anvarich: Sorry, we're all on ATI here, so the problems are probably different ones. I've recently changed to an NVidia chipset now (nForce 750a) and haven't experienced any problems so far.
Interesting though that your symptoms should be so similar to those I had with the Radeon chipset.
Do the lines only appear in the video or on the whole screen? Which video driver are you using (Xv, gl?)/which player?


My ship don't crash! She crashes, you crashed her!

Offline

#30 2009-05-17 16:36:04

greenfish
Member
From: eating fish in /dev/null
Registered: 2008-08-30
Posts: 229

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

lastchancetosee wrote:

That sounds nasty. Is your system up to date again, or are you still using (or trying to use) the old kernel/xorg/catalyst etc.? I've up- and downgraded my system all over the place without any problems (if you discount the problem that none of it actually helped :-) ).
You can't even get into any of the virtual consoles?
I guess you have the DontZap option disabled in xorg.conf and ctrl+alt+backspace does not work either?

Well as of right now my system is very much updated (ran syu yesterday), but it doesn't matter if I downgrade or stay update the result remains the same sort of. Downgrading packages/kernel is not something I enjoy, lots of broken dependencies on my last rollback. Oh I have X up and running it's just that running anything in fullscreen kills the laptop, complete lockdown (no it's not hardware related), also my fans are constantly spinning for no apparent reason (temperatures remains the same). I can't Zap when my laptop freezes, numlock won't work either.

As of now I'll just use my htpc to watch movies (guess what OS its using -_-) and wait until ati devs fix the issues, phoronix is a good place to watch for new updates. I'm glad you're enjoying your nvdia chipset!

Last edited by greenfish (2009-05-17 16:36:21)


ARCH64 archSKYNET server AMD  Phenom(tm) II X2 550 HDD 6TB Ram 8GB
Hobbies: Running, Pistol Marksmanship, Classic Music

Offline

#31 2009-05-18 18:39:12

Anvarich
Member
Registered: 2009-05-14
Posts: 3

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

lastchancetosee wrote:

Anvarich: Sorry, we're all on ATI here, so the problems are probably different ones. I've recently changed to an NVidia chipset now (nForce 750a) and haven't experienced any problems so far.
Interesting though that your symptoms should be so similar to those I had with the Radeon chipset.
Do the lines only appear in the video or on the whole screen? Which video driver are you using (Xv, gl?)/which player?

I'm used stable and last mplayer svn build. Any variation of option like -vo xv? gl or vpdau don't take effect for me. Only after disabling Composite extension, video playback is perfect. May be I will googling about composite bugs. And I think this is not GPU driver bug, no matter ATI or NVIDIA.

Offline

#32 2009-05-19 13:38:03

lastchancetosee
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 129

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

That it happens for you as well certainly makes it look like a composite problem. Interesting. When I'm home I co and compare video performance with and without composite.


My ship don't crash! She crashes, you crashed her!

Offline

#33 2009-05-20 10:40:44

Anvarich
Member
Registered: 2009-05-14
Posts: 3

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

I'm repair this problem. Now Vsync enabled in compiz settings manager and export __GL_SYNC_TO_VBLANK=1 before gdm init. No tearing effect at this moment.

Offline

#34 2009-06-19 12:48:41

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 804

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

Following on from my earlier post about excessive "fglrx" messages in log files (and others saying their log files filled their disk!), I installed catalyst 9.6 yesterday and still got the messages.

Anyhow, because catalyst lets my laptop run cool without a fan on for a lot of the time I made these changes to stop fglrx getting logged:

$ grep catalyst /etc/syslog-ng.conf
filter f_kernel { facility(kern) and not filter(f_iptables) and not filter(f_catalyst); };
filter f_everything { level(debug..emerg) and not facility(auth, authpriv) and not filter(f_catalyst); };
filter f_err { level(err) and not filter(f_catalyst); };
filter f_catalyst { match("fglrx" value("MESSAGE")); };

Seems to be working so far.

Offline

#35 2009-10-12 21:32:56

Frostwarrior
Member
Registered: 2009-06-06
Posts: 26

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

Hello.
Arch32, with kernel 2.6.30 i had this problem of strange lines.
I upgraded to kernel 2.6.31 and plus the module doesn't load.

Offline

#36 2009-10-12 21:37:05

guzz46
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-06-18
Posts: 190

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

Hello.
Arch32, with kernel 2.6.30 i had this problem of strange lines.
I upgraded to kernel 2.6.31 and plus the module doesn't load.

Have you blacklisted !radeon in your modules array

Offline

#37 2009-10-12 21:39:44

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 804

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

Frostwarrior wrote:

I upgraded to kernel 2.6.31 and plus the module doesn't load.

Did you uncomment the line in PKGBUILD to activate 2.6.31.patch before makepkg?

Offline

#38 2009-10-12 22:26:40

Frostwarrior
Member
Registered: 2009-06-06
Posts: 26

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

Yes, i uncommented the patch line and now fglrx "works".
But i am still getting those annoyning black lines.

Those affect mainly X applications, in exception of fullscreen opengl apps (with some exceptions, sometimes i get flickering in these apps too)

Last edited by Frostwarrior (2009-10-12 22:27:53)

Offline

#39 2009-10-12 22:31:03

Frostwarrior
Member
Registered: 2009-06-06
Posts: 26

Re: Weird graphics error with Radeon HD3200 & catalyst driver

Here is my xorg.conf:

ection "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load  "extmod"
    Load  "dbe"
    Load  "xtrap"
    Load  "record"
    Load  "dri"
    Load  "dri2"
    Load  "drm"
    Load  "glx"
    Load  "GLcore"
    Load  "freetype"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse0"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option        "Protocol" "auto"
    Option        "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option        "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName    "Monitor Model"
    HorizSync    30-55
    VertRefresh    55-120
EndSection

Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "NoAccel"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "AccelMethod"            # [<str>]
        #Option     "offscreensize"          # [<str>]
        #Option     "SWcursor"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ignoreconnector"        # [<str>]
        #Option     "forcereduced"           # [<bool>]
        #Option     "forcedpi"               # <i>
        #Option     "useconfiguredmonitor"     # [<bool>]
        #Option     "HPD"                    # <str>
        #Option     "NoRandr"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "RROutputOrder"          # [<str>]
        Option     "DRI" "on"                   # [<bool>]
        #Option     "TVMode"                 # [<str>]
        #Option     "ScaleType"              # [<str>]
        Option     "UseAtomBIOS"            # [<bool>]
        #Option     "AtomBIOS"               # [<str>]
        #Option     "UnverifiedFeatures"     # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Audio"                  # [<bool>]
        Option     "HDMI"                   # [<str>]
        #Option     "COHERENT"               # [<str>]
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver        "vesa" 
#    Driver      "fglrx"
#    Driver        "radeonhd"
    Option "AccelMethod" "exa"
    Option "UseInternalAGPGART"         "no"
    Option "KernelModuleParm"           "agplock=0" # AGP locked user pages: disabled
    VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
    BoardName   "Radeon HD 3200 Graphics"
    BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection "Display"
        Modes "800x600"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
EndSection

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB