You are not logged in.

#1 2004-12-17 04:16:38

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Udev

How does one determine that all elements of Udev are indeed installed?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#2 2004-12-17 16:04:03

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Udev

lilsirecho wrote:

How does one determine that all elements of Udev are indeed installed?

you need initscripts (part of the abse install) and udev....

just have pacman query it (pacman -Qh)

Offline

#3 2004-12-17 19:42:53

Win
Member
Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 155

Re: Udev

Hi lilsirecho.

Using pacman -Q with various options you can determine what you need.

First:

'sudo pacman -Qi udev' returns:

Name           : udev
Version        : 048-1
Groups         : None
Packager       : Arch Linux (http://www.archlinux.org)
URL            : http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/utils/k … /udev.html
License        :
Architecture   : i686
Size           : 257080
Build Date     : Mon Dec 13 18:21:17 2004 UTC
Install Date   : Mon Dec 13 20:57:53 2004 UTC
Install Script : Yes
Reason:        : explicitly installed
Provides       : None
Depends On     : coreutils
Required By    : None
Conflicts With : None
Description    : The userspace dev tools (udev)

'sudo pacman -Qo /sbin/udev' returns:
/sbin/udev is owned by udev 048-1

So, you'll need to install two packages:

coreutils (base package)
udev

However, as phrakture points out, you'll probably also want initscripts (base package) as well since that's where the udev setup is performed during the boot process in a standard Arch Linux setup.

So, if you've done a base installation of Arch Linux, you should only need to install udev and have everything you need.

Regards,

Win

Offline

#4 2004-12-17 21:22:46

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Udev

After having done all the install steps in the Wiki......

I ran ...pacman -Qo /sbin/udev

It returned the expected statement.

I have to assume that udev is correctly installed and....it is provided with ...root permissions....automatically.... on all items in all groups.

Thanks for the guidance, gents.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#5 2004-12-17 21:29:05

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Udev

yes, setting up udev really only requires 2 quick steps:

add "devfs=nomount" to your kernel boot params
and pacman -S udev

that's it... it's really that simple, honestly...

now device permissions are different and THAT is the setup that people sometimes have problems with

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB