You are not logged in.

#26 2009-06-23 16:33:47

Stalafin
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2007-10-26
Posts: 616

Re: getting ready for xf86-video-intel 2.8

eldragon wrote:
Stalafin wrote:

Also, I have the feeling as if my resolution in TTY is not detected correctly. It does not look like 1024x768.

do you have a 1024x768 screen? otherwise it should be your native display's resolution.

i get a 1280x800 tty screen

Yeah, I do have a 1024*768 screen. Do I have a way to check what resolution is being used in TTY?

Offline

#27 2009-06-23 18:10:34

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: getting ready for xf86-video-intel 2.8

when the kernel boots, you should see it in the log...
or just cat /var/log/kernel.log

mine says:

Jun 22 09:55:56 lappy kernel: allocated 1280x800 fb: 0x007df000, bo f7379360

Offline

#28 2009-06-24 11:14:32

Stalafin
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2007-10-26
Posts: 616

Re: getting ready for xf86-video-intel 2.8

I do not find any entry like that after boot up. sad

Offline

#29 2009-06-24 11:52:26

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: getting ready for xf86-video-intel 2.8

Stalafin wrote:

I do not find any entry like that after boot up. sad

you probably dont have KMS enabled... check the wiki on how to enable it. (and test if its enabled)

Offline

#30 2009-06-24 12:21:26

jiu
Member
From: Auckland, New Zealand
Registered: 2008-05-03
Posts: 31

Re: getting ready for xf86-video-intel 2.8

I've been wondering about kms, and which cards it actually works with. I have an intel i810 and would like to try it if there's any chance that it works. Has someone heard that it's possible?

Offline

#31 2009-06-24 15:12:54

Stalafin
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2007-10-26
Posts: 616

Re: getting ready for xf86-video-intel 2.8

eldragon wrote:
Stalafin wrote:

I do not find any entry like that after boot up. sad

you probably dont have KMS enabled... check the wiki on how to enable it. (and test if its enabled)

Alright, I followed the description as stated in the wiki (method 1).

However, I get:

$ sudo cat /sys/module/i915/parameters/modeset
-1

Idea why that could be?

Offline

#32 2009-06-24 15:27:10

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: getting ready for xf86-video-intel 2.8

jiu wrote:

I've been wondering about kms, and which cards it actually works with. I have an intel i810 and would like to try it if there's any chance that it works. Has someone heard that it's possible?

Works for me. Haven't seen any problem for a long time.


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#33 2009-06-24 15:38:05

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: getting ready for xf86-video-intel 2.8

Stalafin wrote:
eldragon wrote:
Stalafin wrote:

I do not find any entry like that after boot up. sad

you probably dont have KMS enabled... check the wiki on how to enable it. (and test if its enabled)

Alright, I followed the description as stated in the wiki (method 1).

However, I get:

$ sudo cat /sys/module/i915/parameters/modeset
-1

Idea why that could be?

cant help you, i dont even have that file sad

Offline

#34 2009-06-24 20:37:01

afiestas
Member
Registered: 2008-12-28
Posts: 18

Re: getting ready for xf86-video-intel 2.8

Thanks for the manuals, enable KMS in initrd really makes everything more "soft" and "lovely" (KDM is almost instantaneously :33).

The only cons, is that Xorg crash always I have my desktop extended (with 2 monitors) and I try to enable/disable the composite. I'm alone on that?

Edit: Also my fps in glxgears are like 4XX when with 2.7 are like 1XXX.

Last edited by afiestas (2009-06-24 22:24:14)

Offline

#35 2009-06-24 23:54:43

eldragon
Member
From: Buenos Aires
Registered: 2008-11-18
Posts: 1,026

Re: getting ready for xf86-video-intel 2.8

as far as i know, if i stay with a desktop size below 2048x2048, everything works ok.

check the bug reports @ bugs.freedesktop.org

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB