You are not logged in.

#1 2009-07-02 09:38:05

oib111
Member
Registered: 2009-06-20
Posts: 87

lireadline.so.5 causing problems

During boot I got all these error messages from /bin/bash that said:

error while loading shared libraries: lireadline.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Not sure what's going on?

Offline

#2 2009-07-02 10:19:24

ri
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 73

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

i got the same error.

used resize2fs to resize /home and everything went well until i installed gparted. urvxt/xterm didnt respond and i couldnt log in with ctrl+alt+f1. tried to reboot but couldnt, got the same error message as oib111. cant give you any other log output since it doesnt boot but as far as i remember installing gparted didnt shown any error.

Offline

#3 2009-07-02 10:26:54

arkham
Member
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-10-26
Posts: 516
Website

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

Boot an Arch live, mount your Arch partition in /mnt and run

pacman -r /mnt -Sy bash

You should always upgrade the system with pacman -Syu and never upgrade single packages.


"I'm Winston Wolfe. I solve problems."

~ Need moar games? [arch-games] ~ [aurcheck] AUR haz updates? ~

Offline

#4 2009-07-02 14:08:56

Cilyan
Member
From: Toulouse (FR)
Registered: 2006-08-27
Posts: 93
Website

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

Indeed, for those using the testing repo, there has been a short time where readline 6 was available before bash. I had the same issue and decided to downgrade to readline 5. Once normally rebooted, I just did a sys upgrade and finally all problematic packages had been upgraded and moved to extra or core.

Offline

#5 2009-07-02 15:17:39

jperry
Member
Registered: 2009-01-30
Posts: 14

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

I had the same problem because I did a dumb thing and upgraded readline from version 5 to 6 without upgrading bash. My open bash shells kept running okay, but I couldn't start a new shell--not even a root shell to downgrade readline!

Finally I realized I could untar the old readline 5 from /var/cache/pacman/pkg, 'sudo thunar' to get a root file manager, and manually copy the libreadline.so.5 files into lib. Whew! Then I went ahead and did a full system upgrade.

Hope this helps if somebody else makes the same mistake.

Offline

#6 2009-07-02 16:24:18

ri
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 73

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

thanks for the answers! im currently making a Archlive USB and will look further into it then. i just think its a bit wierd that installing 1 program can ruin everything hmm guess ill stick to cfdisk in the future tongue

Offline

#7 2009-07-02 16:37:15

oib111
Member
Registered: 2009-06-20
Posts: 87

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

Arkham, so run that command and then upgrade my system?

Last edited by oib111 (2009-07-02 16:37:50)

Offline

#8 2009-07-02 16:43:40

ri
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 73

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

thanks Arkham worked perfectly!

oib111 just copy/past the command after mounted you filesystem and then reboot and it will work smile

Last edited by ri (2009-07-02 16:43:59)

Offline

#9 2009-07-02 16:52:33

oib111
Member
Registered: 2009-06-20
Posts: 87

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

Haha, thanks, ,that workede like a charm big_smile

Offline

#10 2009-07-02 17:36:06

scatboy
Member
Registered: 2008-12-14
Posts: 1

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

Worked great for me too smile

Offline

#11 2009-07-02 18:14:21

arkham
Member
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-10-26
Posts: 516
Website

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

Just remember: never run pacman -Sy <package> for upgrading. Use -Syu !


"I'm Winston Wolfe. I solve problems."

~ Need moar games? [arch-games] ~ [aurcheck] AUR haz updates? ~

Offline

#12 2009-07-03 03:17:54

theinfiniti
Member
From: Chennai, India
Registered: 2009-07-03
Posts: 15
Website

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

err... I just installed Archlinux yesterday and all was going well until i tried to install Gparted. I used

 pacman -S gparted

and then when it finished it gave me the same error

libreadline.so.5 cannot open shared object file no such file or directory

@ Ri: How did you manage to get in to untar the older readlib files ?

on boot it gives me the same error like below

INIT: version 2.86 booting
/bin/bash: error while loading shared libraries: libreadline.so.5 cannot open shared object file no such file or directory
INIT: Entering runlevel: 3
/bin/bash: error while loading shared libraries: libreadline.so.5 cannot open shared object file no such file or directory

Please help !!


~
i r lub teh code.

Offline

#13 2009-07-03 09:54:41

ri
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 73

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

seems like something is wrong with gparted pkg at the moment, same cause for me.

i did not untar any old pkg, i just did as arkham said. you need to boot a archlive cd/usb (download: http://godane.wordpress.com/) then log in as root, mount your root filesystem to /mnt and then run 'pacman -r /mnt -Sy bash'. you will need internet access in order to update bash. then reboot you system and boot normal.

Offline

#14 2009-07-03 12:29:04

KorteX
Member
From: Extremadura, Spain
Registered: 2008-11-22
Posts: 14

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

Well, I've Arch 64 when I tried to update bash but I've problems, in console appears "sh: error while loading shared libraries: libreadline.so.6: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64"

I'm using archlive, and I think it's 32bit... how can I update bash correctly?

Offline

#15 2009-07-03 13:47:10

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,768

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

theinfiniti wrote:

err... I just installed Archlinux yesterday and all was going well until i tried to install Gparted. I used

 pacman -S gparted

and then when it finished it gave me the same error

libreadline.so.5 cannot open shared object file no such file or directory

@ Ri: How did you manage to get in to untar the older readlib files ?

on boot it gives me the same error like below

INIT: version 2.86 booting
/bin/bash: error while loading shared libraries: libreadline.so.5 cannot open shared object file no such file or directory
INIT: Entering runlevel: 3
/bin/bash: error while loading shared libraries: libreadline.so.5 cannot open shared object file no such file or directory

Please help !!

Boot the install cd, mount your partions under /mnt, bring up the network, select a up to date mirror, pacman -r /mnt -Syu


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#16 2009-07-04 14:26:07

anonymous
Member
Registered: 2009-07-03
Posts: 9

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

Oh thanks. I like to upgrade one program and do not wait until other are downloaded. Now i have almost the same problem with upgraded programs and not upgraded readline. Good thing is that bash is not upgraded. Now it is not my fault, i just have half-synced mirror. I have just changed it and now everything works fine.
Maybe it is not the problem of users, but problem of maintainers? Version of packages should be carefully written in dependencies, not just "readline" but "readline 5.x.y.z".

Offline

#17 2009-07-06 16:09:31

czar82
Member
From: Italy - Panormus
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 36

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

to mount the root filesystem in /mnt
I have to type:

mount -f ext3 /mnt

(i have a ext3 filesystem)

is it correct?

Offline

#18 2009-07-06 16:46:32

arkham
Member
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-10-26
Posts: 516
Website

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

czar82 wrote:

to mount the root filesystem in /mnt
I have to type:

mount -f ext3 /mnt

(i have a ext3 filesystem)

is it correct?

No.


"I'm Winston Wolfe. I solve problems."

~ Need moar games? [arch-games] ~ [aurcheck] AUR haz updates? ~

Offline

#19 2009-07-06 16:49:20

czar82
Member
From: Italy - Panormus
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 36

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

arkham wrote:
czar82 wrote:

to mount the root filesystem in /mnt
I have to type:

mount -f ext3 /mnt

(i have a ext3 filesystem)

is it correct?

No.

and which parameters should i use? sad

Offline

#20 2009-07-06 16:54:04

arkham
Member
From: Stockholm
Registered: 2008-10-26
Posts: 516
Website

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

man mount wrote:

The standard form of the mount command, is

mount -t type device dir

mount -t ext3 /dev/sdXY /mnt, where X is the drive letter and Y the partition number.


"I'm Winston Wolfe. I solve problems."

~ Need moar games? [arch-games] ~ [aurcheck] AUR haz updates? ~

Offline

#21 2009-07-06 18:39:48

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,768

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

You most likely don't need to specify the filesystem explicitly.


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#22 2009-07-07 15:23:56

czar82
Member
From: Italy - Panormus
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 36

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

when i type:

pacman -r /mnt -Sy bash

I get the message:

failed retrieving file 'community.db.tar.gz' from mirror.......
transient resolver failure

So i search on google and I've discovered that I've to uncomment the servers from mirrorlist file (but it's the mirrorlist in etc/rc.d or the file that i just mounted in /mnt/etc/rc.d ? )
However I made both the option, but the problem don't was here, was in the network (I suppose...). When I ping www.google.it or 192.168.1.252 (my router's ip), i get the message that host is unknow or that network is unreacheble. And when i use route i get only:

Destination    Gateway   Genmask          Flags  Metric  Ref   Use  Iface

so I found on this forum that with:

route add default gw 192.168.1.252

all should work fine, but i get:

SIOCADDRT: no such process

in the rc.conf i have:

eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(eth0)

What could I do now? And which file i should edit? The files mounted in /mnt/etc or the files in /etc?

Offline

#23 2009-07-07 16:33:29

rsambuca
Member
From: Calgary, Canada
Registered: 2008-07-21
Posts: 143

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

Start the installation process (you don't have to actually install), but get to the point where you set up the ethernet connection.  Then go to another terminal (Alt-F2 I think), and your commands will work.

Offline

#24 2009-07-07 17:47:36

czar82
Member
From: Italy - Panormus
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 36

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

rsambuca wrote:

Start the installation process (you don't have to actually install), but get to the point where you set up the ethernet connection.  Then go to another terminal (Alt-F2 I think), and your commands will work.

tnx!
this work!

A little question, there's a shell command to make this, without going in the installation process?

Offline

#25 2009-07-08 04:34:59

dstagg
Member
Registered: 2008-02-15
Posts: 1

Re: lireadline.so.5 causing problems

I don't know if I (as a "member") can update the Beginners Guide but it instructs you to do "pacman -Sy python" before doing "pacman -Syu" to run the rankmirrors script.

I did this tonight and ran into the same problem everyone else here had: libreadline.so.5 not found.

And to do that is exactly what Arkham in #11 says exactly NOT to do.

BUT...

Directly from the Pacman wiki:

You can also refresh the package database before installing a package in one command:

pacman -Sy package_name

So, now I just confused. hmm

Last edited by dstagg (2009-07-08 04:45:28)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB