You are not logged in.

#1 2009-07-09 10:19:40

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 263

[SOLVED] KDE-unstable, plasma won't start

I'm trying to install kde 4.3rc1 from [kde-unstable], but I'm having problems. I installed with pacman -S kde, except I said "no" to kdeaccesibility and kdeedu. All the rest got installed. (before this I did a "pacman -Rcs qtmod" to remove every kdemod related package).

However, after I log in in KDM, I see the splash screen but just at the end it's like if the desktop crashes (or just doesn't load) and I get the grayscale air background and the mouse pointer, nothing more.

I did try downgrading libjpeg since other reported problems with the new one, but no change.

I have the feeling that some dependency might be missing, but can't seem to find it.

Any clues anyone?

Thanks.

(Ah, yes, I did a "mv .kde4 .kde4.bak", no change).

Last edited by Bogart (2009-07-09 20:58:01)

Offline

#2 2009-07-09 10:32:24

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: [SOLVED] KDE-unstable, plasma won't start

You accidentally installed kde from extra as well with "pacman -S kde" I suppose.

You ought to have done "pacman -S kde-meta".

Offline

#3 2009-07-09 17:57:13

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 263

Re: [SOLVED] KDE-unstable, plasma won't start

Yes, I think that when I installed with pacman -S kde, kde-4.2 packages got installed. But after a pacman -Syu it was all upgraded to the meta packages for kde-4.3.

Anyway, I uninstalled everything and installed it correctly with pacman -S kde-meta, but it didn't make any difference.

Thanks for the suggestion, though.

Offline

#4 2009-07-09 18:01:31

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: [SOLVED] KDE-unstable, plasma won't start

Have you re-removed the .kde4 folder again ?

Offline

#5 2009-07-09 19:03:49

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 263

Re: [SOLVED] KDE-unstable, plasma won't start

Yes, that doesn't help. I just get messages from Akonadi, Nepomuk and Strigi about indexing. But no desktop at all.

I guess that the steps to reproduce could be something like:

pacman -Rcs qt

Check for orphans (pacman -Qdt) and remove manually anyone related to kde.

mv ~/.kde4 ~/.kde4.bak
pacman -S kde-meta

And try to start kde. I still think that there might be a missing dependency somewhere...

Offline

#6 2009-07-09 20:57:44

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 263

Re: [SOLVED] KDE-unstable, plasma won't start

Ok, I found the problem. In my /etc/pacman.conf I had [testing] before [kde-unstable], and since there was a kdebase-runtime-4.2.4 in [testing] it was pulling that one instead of kdebase-runtime-4.2.95 from [kde-unstable].

Changing the order of the repos and upgrading solved everything.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB