You are not logged in.

#1 2004-12-24 18:21:54

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

nvidia problem

hi,

this is a very disturbing and strange problem -
i installed a new Arch, installed xorg, kde, and nvidia driver, edited my xorg.conf, startx, and all works fine. however, once i reboot the machine, i get this when trying startx again :

(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 16, (--) framebuffer bpp 16
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 565
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "SWcursor"
(--) NVIDIA(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xD8000000
(--) NVIDIA(0): MMIO registers at 0xE0000000
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0):  *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

only thing which fixes that is - reinstalling nvidia driver - at each boot!

the nvidia module is loaded on boot, and everything seems to be fine - yet still, i get the error message and X wont start.
i tried this with Arch stock kernel and nitro - same results.
any idea?
tnx.

Offline

#2 2004-12-24 18:33:01

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: nvidia problem

Which nvidia driver & what kernel are you trying to boot ?


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2004-12-24 18:38:24

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: nvidia problem

nvidia : extra/nvidia 1.0.6629-2
kernel : linux-2.6.9-nitro4 AND linux-2.6.9-ARCH

Offline

#4 2004-12-24 18:55:19

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: nvidia problem

Are you absolutely sure that nvidia module is loaded on boot?

Doublecheck this because you're not the first person having this trouble :-)

You have to load nvidia module from /etc/rc.conf MODULES array.
(Nvidia installation process ends with loading the module "manually" so that's why it works. But it can't survive a reboot obviously).

You can try manually loading nvidia module using

modprobe nvidia

and to check if the module is loaded run

lsmod | grep nvidia

Offline

#5 2004-12-24 19:03:43

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: nvidia problem

yes, lsmod shows nvidia module listed on boot. i tested with the nvidia module in rc.conf and modprobe.conf - always same result.
[EDIT]
i also tried removing (modprobe -r nvidia) and reloading the driver - same result.

only thing which i found till now, is if i execute :
mknod /dev/nvidia0 c 195 0
mknod /dev/nvidiactl c 195 255

on each boot, all works fine and im saved from reinstalling the driver again.... i think its a Udev problem, but im not sure. still looking... any ideas? tnx.

Offline

#6 2004-12-24 19:10:19

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: nvidia problem

Does it work if you don't load nvidia from rc.conf and modules.conf/modprobe.conf and at the same time you run manually only

modprobe nvidia

just before you start xorg?

Offline

#7 2004-12-24 19:14:05

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: nvidia problem

tried that. didnt work either.

Offline

#8 2004-12-24 19:15:54

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: nvidia problem

...and check if you have

nvidia*:root:users:0660

in your /etc/udev/permissions.d/udev.permissions.

If you don't have it try to reinstall udev first because it's a standard setting (do not edit this file! if you want your settings create 00.udev.permissions and add this line there).

Offline

#9 2004-12-24 19:41:27

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: nvidia problem

yep, i verified the "nvidia*:root:users:0660" in  /etc/udev/permissions.d/udev.permissions ...

tnx lanrat for all this investigating smile from my diagnostics, it seems after boot, when the nvidia module is loaded, i dont have the /dev/nvidia* nodes at all... that the only thing i could come up with. this happens with any way loading the nvidia module (rc.conf, modprobe.conf, manually).

i checked the nvidia package sources and it seems makedevices.sh is creating the nodes (/dev/nvidia*) on install. what i dont understand is why they are "disappearing" on boot... another thing i noticed which im not sure its related, is the absence of /etc/rc.d/rc.modules - is that of any importance?

tnx again.

Offline

#10 2004-12-24 20:06:51

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: nvidia problem

Ok. I have stock 2.6.9 arch kernel and latest nvdia and no such problem. The only difference is that I used original nvidia installer not the package from extra.

This could also be a timing problem as some docs on the net mention.

You can still play with your configs (see below) or if everything fails just put mknod commands in /etc/rc.local.

Check out these urls:
http://www.reactivated.net/udevrules.php#nvidia
http://webpages.charter.net/decibelshel … l#Problems
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=40404
http://home.comcast.net/~andrex/Debian- … oting.html
http://groups-beta.google.com/group/alt … 68bf151621
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/udev-guide.xml

It's strange that it works for me without a problem but I guess things like this just happen from time to time.  roll

Offline

#11 2004-12-24 20:22:48

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: nvidia problem

I can only use 6111 ... I would suggest just trying it first as 6629 does not work for me at all

HTH


Mr Green

Offline

#12 2004-12-24 20:28:54

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: nvidia problem

tnx for the urls, i will look at them l8r on, right now im playing with the kernel, maybe theres something there...

about nvidia working for u - it worked for me just fine until 2 days ago with my old Arch install, but since i had to reinstall i decided to start from scratch. all works fine, except for this annoying issue... ofcourse, if no other solution comes out i will add the mknod commands to my startup script, but i prefer to learn what causes this strange behavior if possible wink

tnx again

Offline

#13 2004-12-24 20:30:14

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: nvidia problem

Mr Green: where can i get 6111 from? tnx.

Offline

#14 2004-12-24 21:27:59

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Offline

#15 2004-12-25 02:57:21

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: nvidia problem

Offline

#16 2004-12-25 08:35:05

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: nvidia problem

hi
the old drivers 611 will only work in version -3 becasue some patches needed to be applied for kernel 2.6.9
2.6.10 is now out so a new nvidia driver will be needed anyway when 2.6.10 package will go into current

Offline

#17 2004-12-25 16:40:14

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: nvidia problem

did anyone bother to ask what model of nvidia card you have? certain nvidia cards and the current drivers and the 2.69 kernel simply do not work. rather than have all working but older packages the decision was made that those who did not have the latest and greatest cards would have to do their own work to have a functioning older nvidia driver.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#18 2004-12-25 17:02:59

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: nvidia problem

hmm moment
the old drivers had also some bugs (nvidia never released bug free drivers)
we have abs so everyone can build the drivers he/she needs

Offline

#19 2004-12-25 17:13:03

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: nvidia problem

well, the old drivers didnt do the trick either.

i spent all night installing various Arch versions, and here are the results  :

Arch 0.7-beta2 : 2 installs - failed on both. 1st install was with udev, as as the initial post describes - after boot, /dev/nvidia* nodes are gone. 2nd install, using devfs was working great - until i changed to udev. then the nodes kept disapearing again...

Arch 0.6 : 2 installs. both works great smile after updating (pacman -Syu) and installing nvidia, everything worked like a charm, in both devfs and udev.

AMLUG : 1 install, worked great.

[EDIT]
(by failed, i mean no /dev/nvidia* nodes after reboot)

im fairly sure its a udev related problem, something todo with Arch-0.7, but dont know quite what exactly. maybe missing some config file which exists in 0.6? iono... to reproduce this behavior, one should install Arch-0.7-beta2 from scratch, update the system, change to udev and remove devfsd, and install nvidia. after the last step, on each reboot, /dev/nvidia* nodes are missing (u might need to wait a few seconds to verify this, since it takes the nvidia module sometime to finish loading)

i might install Arch-0.7-beta2 again and compare the /etc to try and check whats the diff - but i might be too tired for that... 6 installs in 2 days is more than enough for me wink

in anyway, right now im back to normal, using Arch-0.6 install, with nvidia and udev working perfectly. best thing is to wait and see maybe this issue will be solved in final Arch-0.7.

ps.
regarding the type of gfx card, i dont think its relevant because of the issues i described above. just for the record, its "nVidia|GeForce FX 5200".

tnx all,
z4ziggy

Offline

#20 2004-12-26 09:14:03

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: nvidia problem

do you load nvidia module ?
and yes what tells you dmesg after loading ?
do you have your own udev rules ?
what's your xorg.conf ?

Offline

#21 2004-12-26 14:50:14

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: nvidia problem

z4ziggy wrote:

Arch 0.6 : 2 installs. both works great smile after updating (pacman -Syu) and installing nvidia, everything worked like a charm, in both devfs and udev.

Wait a second. Are saying that you tried 0.6 and 0.7 both updated with pacman -Syu and have different results when loading nvidia module? That's very strange because IMO after full update you should have no differences no matter with which version you started  :?:  roll

Offline

#22 2004-12-26 15:41:46

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: nvidia problem

EXACTLY lanrat. thats exactly what im saying...

i did all the installation procedures like a robot : installed default base system, booted, loaded my network module, pacman -Syu to get updated, boot, install udev and remove devfsd, boot, install nvidia, boot.

regarding tpowa questions :
1) yes, i made sure nvidia module is loaded,
2) yes, i looked in dmesg to confirm its loaded ok,
3) no i didnt use my own udev rules, i used the defaults - all should work fine.
4) i didnt even install xorg - no need for that. just load the nvidia module, wait a few seconds, and watch for /dev/nvidia* nodes - if they are missing - something is wrong.

Offline

#23 2004-12-26 17:02:52

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: nvidia problem

and an other one smile
do you use 6629-2 packages from extra?
or just their installer ?

Offline

#24 2004-12-26 17:49:31

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: nvidia problem

i used "extra/nvidia 1.0.6629-2" in all my tests, and only used the installers (of 6111 & 6629) to verify the missing /dev/nvidia* nodes (which were missing with 0.7 scratch install).

Offline

#25 2004-12-26 18:00:09

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: nvidia problem

you have a custom kernel running ?
or only pacman -S kernel26 ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB