You are not logged in.

#51 2009-06-22 21:01:37

PapaNoa
Member
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 14

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

I'm using netcfg to manage my wireless connections at home and have a problem that always appears when I want to connect at home when I had last connected at university (I don't use netcfg there as I need to establish a VPN connection).

Problem seems to be that dhcpcd somehow tries to reuse the lease obtained at university when I connect at home (that is still valid, because it's valid 24h), which of course doesn't work (I get the error

dhcpcd: eth1: reject NAK

and it took me quite some time to figure out that it's due to the attempt of reusing the lease: I had to figure out where netcfg calls dhcpcd and remove the -q to get a relevant error message).

I worked around the issue by connecting statically, but I suppose there must be some way to get this to work relyably using dhcp. There were no hits on the search, but I can hardly imagine I'm the only one having this problem.

Here's my profile:

CONNECTION="wireless"
INTERFACE=eth1
SCAN="yes"
SECURITY="wpa"
ESSID="myessid"
KEY="mykey"
IP="dhcp"
TIMEOUT=20

Appreciate any suggestions.

Offline

#52 2009-06-22 22:51:50

Daenyth
Forum Fellow
From: Boston, MA
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 1,244

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

Are you able to connect manually? I think this is a problem with dhcpcd rather than netcfg.

Offline

#53 2009-06-23 07:49:31

PapaNoa
Member
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 14

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

Yeah, connecting manually works. Probably it is indeed a dhcpcd problem. Where is this information about obtained leases stored that dhcpcd uses to try to rebind? Is this intended behavior? Shouldn't it rather try to acquire a new lease when it realizes it can't use the previously obtained one?

Offline

#54 2009-06-23 09:35:06

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

For me, dhcpcd will try any non-expired lease, but generally they get rejected so it just asks for a new one.

Have a look at "man dhcpcd.conf" and see if there's an option to change this behaviour.

Offline

#55 2009-06-23 19:52:27

PapaNoa
Member
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 14

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

Hmm, have you changed anything in your dhcpcd.conf? I haven't and obviously I don't have this behavior. Couldn't find anything useful in the manpage either and I don't suppose the problem is due to a parameter netcfg passes to dhcpcd (it passes -qL as far as I understand).

Offline

#56 2009-06-24 00:51:39

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

Nope, I havnt changed anything, thats the default behaviour afaik. Try editing netcfg /usr/lib/network/connections/ethernet, remove the -q, and see what the full output/failure is.

edit: I do have one thing changed, some versions of dhcpcd did not accept an IP when the server didn't give a 'ServerID' as required by the RFC. However this broke two crappy dhcp servers, so I commented out the "#require dhcp_server_identifier" option. This behaviour may have changed since that version though...



James

Last edited by iphitus (2009-06-24 00:54:39)

Offline

#57 2009-06-24 08:50:55

kant1
Member
Registered: 2006-11-28
Posts: 57

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

I'm having the same problem as PapaNoa intermittently.  Commenting out the dhcp_server_identifier line in /etc/dhcpcd.conf does allow me to get an IP address.

Offline

#58 2009-06-24 20:58:28

PapaNoa
Member
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 14

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

Thanks for your helpful replies. I'll have a try commenting that out.

Btw. I had removed the -q, otherwise the error message was not helpful at all.

Offline

#59 2009-07-08 01:59:55

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

PapaNoa: Any luck?

Offline

#60 2009-07-08 07:00:35

PapaNoa
Member
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 14

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

Hmm, haven't had my laptop with me at university for quite a while. Can I somehow trick dhcpcd and feign a lease to test if it works?

Offline

#61 2009-07-21 22:49:36

neonnds
Member
Registered: 2006-01-02
Posts: 8

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

In /var/lib/dhcpcd there should be some lease files, e.g:

dhcpcd-eth0.lease 
dhcpcd-wlan0.lease

Delete these (sudo rm /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.lease) then restart the net-profiles daemon:

sudo /etc/rc.d/net-profiles restart

Last edited by neonnds (2009-07-21 22:50:19)


[(-.-)]

Offline

#62 2009-07-28 19:43:33

manouchk
Member
Registered: 2008-07-29
Posts: 212

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

For me this problem looks like a bug. I have to manually remove /var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-eth1.lease before running netcfg?

This problem occurs when you change from one dhcp server to another. Very annoying! Is there already any bug report for that?

Offline

#63 2009-07-29 21:00:50

Calmatory
Member
Registered: 2008-05-25
Posts: 15

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

For me it helped to comment the "require dhcp_server_identifier", thanks alot.

Offline

#64 2009-08-01 15:42:28

krum
Member
From: Grenoble - FR
Registered: 2008-04-10
Posts: 32

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

neonnds wrote:

Delete these (sudo rm /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.lease) then restart the net-profiles daemon:

Many thanks neonnds, you make my day! ^^

Offline

#65 2009-08-02 16:58:56

merijn
Member
Registered: 2009-02-06
Posts: 9

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

krum wrote:
neonnds wrote:

Delete these (sudo rm /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.lease) then restart the net-profiles daemon:

Many thanks neonnds, you make my day! ^^

I had the same problem. And indeed removing the .lease files solved the problem. The problem started after I used wlassistant.
After using wlassistant all of a sudden i could not connect with netcfg either.
thanx neonnds

Offline

#66 2009-12-06 11:37:44

toketin
Member
From: Belluno (Italy)
Registered: 2007-04-17
Posts: 317

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

i've tried netcfg-tray and it works fine for me, i've tried a cable connection and my wifi open connection, but i think that it's missing an important feature: a wifi signal displayer that should displays the quality of wifi, so for example 40%, 100%

Offline

#67 2009-12-06 12:05:45

Tyriel
Member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2009-01-20
Posts: 161
Website

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

toketin wrote:

i've tried netcfg-tray and it works fine for me, i've tried a cable connection and my wifi open connection, but i think that it's missing an important feature: a wifi signal displayer that should displays the quality of wifi, so for example 40%, 100%

Try netcfgGUI, it does what you have requested plus a little more while still remaining light weight.


The software required Windows XP or better, so I installed archlinux.

Offline

#68 2009-12-06 12:40:51

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: netcfg v2.2.0 beta 2

toketin, Tyriel - this thread was for the discussion of the 2.2.0beta2 release only. There are separate discussion thread for the current 2.2.1 release in the core repo, and the upcoming 2.5.0 release, which has an rc in the testing repo. Please use the approriate thread for your comments.

Closed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB