You are not logged in.

#1 2004-12-31 01:29:51

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

KDE crashes upon startup

Title says it all. I type 'startx', kde slash screen halts at "loading peripherals" (at least I think that's what it was), mouse freezes up, X won't respond to ctrl-alt-backspace, I am forced to hit the power button. I have never seen things crash like this before on Linux.

I tried starting X again, same thing. Reinstalled KDE, same thing. (Yeah, crude Winduhs-ish method I suppose... But I've only been hooked on Linux for 6 months or so. wink )

(Just a note... I am not a regular KDE user. I just decided to try something new...)

Offline

#2 2004-12-31 07:19:43

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: KDE crashes upon startup

hi
did you run pacman -Syu before installing kde ?
do you have a loopback interface with localhost defined ?
does your networkcard have an entry in /etc/hosts ?
kde runs fine in arch, so it should run for you too smile

Offline

#3 2004-12-31 08:58:14

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: KDE crashes upon startup

kde runs fine in arch, so it should run for you too

my thoughts exactly! wink

did you by any chance just misconfigure your /etc/X11/xorg.conf or didn't do it at all nor ran xorgconfig?  :!:


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#4 2004-12-31 16:09:28

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: KDE crashes upon startup

Yes, yes, yes, and no.

(My xorg.conf was made with xorgconfig, then modified to enable 3D acceleration.)

KDE worked fine for me once... and then started in with this, and has done this ever since. roll

Offline

#5 2005-01-01 17:23:02

Mith
Member
From: out there
Registered: 2004-10-05
Posts: 163

Re: KDE crashes upon startup

hey i've got another problem..
I ran an pacman -Syu yesterday and updated the nvidia drivers.. and now kdm won't start anymore. startx works fine and the nvidia logo comes up but whenever i run kdm nothing comes up..
any ideas?


ArchLinux (x86_64) w/ kdemod

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB