You are not logged in.

#1 2009-05-29 08:17:55

cojack
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 25
Website

Chromium alpha

Hello, it'll be chromium alpha in testing?
Infro from http://www.ghacks.net/2009/05/26/google … for-linux/

Best regards.

Offline

#2 2009-05-29 08:22:20

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: Chromium alpha

i don't think. we tend to have the latest _stable_ version of an application.
but still there are some builds in aur.
chromium-snapshot
chromium-browser

Last edited by wonder (2009-05-29 08:23:07)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#3 2009-07-09 02:44:22

karabaja4
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 844

Re: Chromium alpha

I think I'll just leave this here.

Chromium is the FASTEST browser I've ever seen on a linux system. It's even faster than Midori.

Its in early alpha/beta? so many options don't work yet. There is no native flash support.

But! Here's how you can get partial flash working (at least youtube):

Copy libflashplayer.so from /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/ to /usr/lib/chromium-browser/plugins

a bit buggy I guess but working wink


pie!

Offline

#4 2009-07-09 07:45:44

Solid1986Snake
Member
Registered: 2007-06-18
Posts: 258

Re: Chromium alpha

karabaja4 wrote:

I think I'll just leave this here.

Chromium is the FASTEST browser I've ever seen on a linux system. It's even faster than Midori.

Its in early alpha/beta? so many options don't work yet. There is no native flash support.

But! Here's how you can get partial flash working (at least youtube):

Copy libflashplayer.so from /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/ to /usr/lib/chromium-browser/plugins

a bit buggy I guess but working wink

Think copying is not the right way to goo, hey we are un a unix system, just ln it wink

Offline

#5 2009-07-09 10:09:10

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 263

Re: Chromium alpha

Yes, Chromium is very fast. One of the reasons being that it uses pipelining for http requests. For whatever reason, Firefox can do this, but it's not enabled by default. To enable it you have to type about:config in the address bar, then use the filter to search for "pipe". Then change "network.http.pipelining" to "true" and maxrequests to something like 8-12. With this, and without the flashplugin and extensions, Firefox should not be much slower (with adblock, it should be faster, I guess).

Offline

#6 2009-07-12 17:26:24

Sharpeee
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2008-10-19
Posts: 59

Re: Chromium alpha

I too like Chromium, but I just keep getting 'Segmentation fault' every time I use it. Any solution to this problem?

Offline

#7 2009-07-12 17:30:37

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: Chromium alpha

Sharpeee wrote:

I too like Chromium, but I just keep getting 'Segmentation fault' every time I use it. Any solution to this problem?

yep. don't use it until is stable big_smile


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#8 2009-07-12 20:50:29

matiit
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2007-04-13
Posts: 141
Website

Re: Chromium alpha

It doesn't store my setting, example: show last tabs at start etc...

Offline

#9 2009-07-12 21:04:38

Pyntux
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-12-21
Posts: 275

Re: Chromium alpha

matiit wrote:

It doesn't store my setting, example: show last tabs at start etc...

For me to...


I do not speak English, but I understand...

Offline

#10 2009-07-12 21:40:32

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,931

Re: Chromium alpha

Minor bump here...

Bogart wrote:

Yes, Chromium is very fast. One of the reasons being that it uses pipelining for http requests. For whatever reason, Firefox can do this, but it's not enabled by default. To enable it you have to type about:config in the address bar, then use the filter to search for "pipe". Then change "network.http.pipelining" to "true" and maxrequests to something like 8-12. With this, and without the flashplugin and extensions, Firefox should not be much slower (with adblock, it should be faster, I guess).

Wow. This made FF much faster than the webkit browsers that I have on my system. Groovy.

Offline

#11 2009-07-12 21:50:34

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: Chromium alpha

skottish wrote:

Wow

+1 !!!

Offline

#12 2009-07-12 22:09:58

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: Chromium alpha

anyonehas a repository or all are using AUR?


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#13 2009-07-13 05:55:13

matiit
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2007-04-13
Posts: 141
Website

Re: Chromium alpha

Aur

Offline

#14 2009-08-05 09:46:54

Jamp
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 10

Re: Chromium alpha

Bogart wrote:

Yes, Chromium is very fast. One of the reasons being that it uses pipelining for http requests. For whatever reason, Firefox can do this, but it's not enabled by default. To enable it you have to type about:config in the address bar, then use the filter to search for "pipe". Then change "network.http.pipelining" to "true" and maxrequests to something like 8-12. With this, and without the flashplugin and extensions, Firefox should not be much slower (with adblock, it should be faster, I guess).

I'm sorry for OT, but I also recommend http://mozillalinks.org/wp/2009/07/vacu … rformance/
It makes ff lot less laggy when searching history, for linux basically it is:

cd ~/.mozilla/firefox/s41vbd5.default

(that is folder with strange random-generated name)
and run

for z in *.sqlite; do echo "VACUUM;" | sqlite3 "$z"; done

you need sqlite3 package installed

Thanks to http://petrkrcmar.blog.root.cz/2009/07/ … i-firefox/ smile

Offline

#15 2009-08-05 15:13:10

Arm-the-Homeless
Member
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 273

Re: Chromium alpha

If you want, here's my Chromium updating script (doesn't install, unzips to chrome-linux in the current directory.

http://pastebin.com/f6ce58c2f

Improvements welcome. tongue

Offline

#16 2009-08-05 15:27:21

tadzik
Member
From: &tadzik
Registered: 2009-07-17
Posts: 91

Re: Chromium alpha

I can't think of any improvement, besides „why to use it?" You have chromium-snapshot in AUR, and you can easily modify it to automatically fetch the latest version.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB