You are not logged in.

#1 2004-12-31 09:16:19

Greycloack
Member
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 166

checking my current cpu frequency

Hello,

It seems kernel 2.6.10 did some good things to my computer so I decided to check if the speedstepping works.

I'm working on a gateway200x
I have acpi in my modules and acpid in my deamons.

The problem is I can't check my current CPU freq. If I power the computer while it's connectec to AC and I check the cpu MHZ in /proc/cpuinfo I see my 14000. If I turn it on while it's on battery I see 6000.
Which is what I want.
But if I plug/unplug it during work /proc/cpuinfo stays the same. Is there a correct way to check the current frequency?

Thank you
Grey

Offline

#2 2005-01-02 12:03:07

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: checking my current cpu frequency

try the /sys filesystem.... i believe it'd be /sys/cpu0/something

Offline

#3 2005-01-02 13:30:23

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: checking my current cpu frequency

cat /proc/cpuinfo only displays specs i think, not the real temporary values.


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#4 2005-01-02 18:52:46

cjdj
Member
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2004-05-07
Posts: 121

Re: checking my current cpu frequency

You probably want to check the values that are in /proc/acpi instead.

Offline

#5 2005-01-08 16:44:48

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: checking my current cpu frequency

kth5 wrote:

cat /proc/cpuinfo only displays specs i think, not the real temporary values.

They are.

processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 13
model name      : Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.50GHz
stepping        : 6
cpu MHz         : 642.528
cache size      : 64 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe tm2 est
bogomips        : 1274.44

Offline

#6 2005-01-27 19:38:43

Victor
Member
From: Zaragoza/ESPAÑA (Spain)
Registered: 2005-01-27
Posts: 23

Re: checking my current cpu frequency

You must look inside this directory:
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/

You will find your current frequency, the scaling governor, the avaliable governors...

As root write:

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_cur_freq

to see the CPU frequency.


  LB06: I don't know if it is normal to have only 64KB of cache memory. I think centrino has at least 1024 KB.

(Sorry for my English)


http://aur.archlinux.org
[code][Victor]
Server = http://personales.ya.com/vmromanos/arch/pkgs
[/code]
http://vmromanos.homelinux.net/foro

Offline

#7 2005-02-13 12:25:48

Michiel
Member
From: Westkapelle, Zeeland, NL
Registered: 2005-02-13
Posts: 34
Website

Re: checking my current cpu frequency

i think you need a BIOS upgrade (for the cache thingy =])


All you got to do, is tell the story right...

Offline

#8 2005-03-06 00:16:57

jaawood
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 31
Website

Re: checking my current cpu frequency

Victor wrote:

You must look inside this directory:
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/

You will find your current frequency, the scaling governor, the avaliable governors...

As root write:

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_cur_freq

to see the CPU frequency.


  LB06: I don't know if it is normal to have only 64KB of cache memory. I think centrino has at least 1024 KB.

(Sorry for my English)

This could be because it is only reading the L1 cache, and not the L2, I am not sure though.


<html>
<a href="http://www.jrspc.net">My Website</a>

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB