You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-11 13:19:13

vinyl
Member
Registered: 2004-07-06
Posts: 33

[kernel] change kernel

I am currently using Arch with a IDE kernel.

I want to hook my Parallel zip drive onto my laptop, so I read I had to use a SCSI kernel.

How can I change my current kernel to a SCSI one ?

I am using Arch 0.7

Offline

#2 2005-01-11 13:44:01

luisfelipe
Member
Registered: 2004-05-06
Posts: 96

Re: [kernel] change kernel

Guess you just do a :
pacman -S kernel2x-scsi

where x is either 4 or 6 (depende on which kernel you're using) ,
and after you're finished, you need to run 'lilo' as root (only if you're
using lilo as your boot loader, if you're using grub you're already set).

Offline

#3 2005-01-11 13:52:23

vinyl
Member
Registered: 2004-07-06
Posts: 33

Re: [kernel] change kernel

yeah I figured that out, done that and now the kernel is running is guess..

Still my zipdrive is not detected sad

Any ideas?

On the net they state that its pretty easy to hook up a zipdrive.

Offline

#4 2005-01-11 13:55:52

luisfelipe
Member
Registered: 2004-05-06
Posts: 96

Re: [kernel] change kernel

Well, I don't own a zipdrive nor any SCSI device for that matter, so I have no idea what might be wrong.

During boot, does it display any message regarding a SCSI device ??

Offline

#5 2005-01-11 14:00:03

vinyl
Member
Registered: 2004-07-06
Posts: 33

Re: [kernel] change kernel

No it doesnt, not the message I read it should give...

Offline

#6 2005-01-11 14:08:37

luisfelipe
Member
Registered: 2004-05-06
Posts: 96

Re: [kernel] change kernel

Try searching on the net how to load the modules by hand (I don't know which modules
you should load), and then mounting it with something like :
mount -t vfat /dev/cantrememberwhatascsideviceisnamed /mnt/zipdrive

Offline

#7 2005-01-11 17:56:30

colnago
Member
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2004-03-25
Posts: 438

Re: [kernel] change kernel

If you are using lilo as a boot loader, you need to run it again to get your scsi kernel into the list.  Then you need to select it at boot.  `uname -a` to see what kernel you are using at present.

Parallel zip drive eh, you might need to change bios settings for your parallel port.  I only have experience with scanners, but I had to change the setting.

Check this out:
http://en.tldp.org/HOWTO/ZIP-Drive.html

Offline

#8 2005-01-11 20:53:05

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: [kernel] change kernel

i can share my experience on this
on my laptop to get my flash card plugged in in through pcmcia slot
using kernel26-scsi load pcmcia dameon then mount /dev/sda1

on my tower i have an internal scsi drive also a ide drive
ide=/dev/hda
scsi=/dev/sda

another thing you could try that ive found helpful is you have everything
plugged in run hwd -[s e h] whichever other option you want
i know hwd -h is = how to     
but to get it i believe you need to run hwd -s 1st
this should tell you how  to mount it

Offline

#9 2005-01-11 21:36:18

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: [kernel] change kernel

vinyl wrote:

I am currently using Arch with a IDE kernel.

I want to hook my Parallel zip drive onto my laptop, so I read I had to use a SCSI kernel.

How can I change my current kernel to a SCSI one ?

I am using Arch 0.7

modprobe imm

should make it work ... then it should be under /dev/sdXY


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#10 2005-01-15 14:20:36

vinyl
Member
Registered: 2004-07-06
Posts: 33

Re: [kernel] change kernel

Thanks all, I finally got it working, the orignal link to the imm.tar.gz file was dead but I found it after some googling.

Offline

#11 2005-01-16 18:54:03

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: [kernel] change kernel

Just a note.  You don't need to use the scsi kernel, the ide kernel has everything you need to do scsi, except their compiled as modules, not builtin.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB