You are not logged in.

#1 2009-09-04 23:09:29

cit30
Member
Registered: 2009-08-19
Posts: 24

[SOLVED] Openbox keybindings

I have a question relating to openbox keybindings. I have read all the wikis and searched the net, and can't find a satisfactory answer as to why mine don't work. I want to open my menu with Alt-Space, as is the default for openbox.

This is the keyboard section of my rc.xml:

<keyboard>
    <chainQuitKey>C-g</chainQuitKey>
    <!-- Keybindings for desktop switching -->
    <keybind key="C-A-Left">
      <action name="DesktopLeft">
        <dialog>no</dialog>
        <wrap>no</wrap>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="C-A-Right">
      <action name="DesktopRight">
        <dialog>no</dialog>
        <wrap>no</wrap>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="C-A-Up">
      <action name="DesktopUp">
        <dialog>no</dialog>
        <wrap>no</wrap>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="C-A-Down">
      <action name="DesktopDown">
        <dialog>no</dialog>
        <wrap>no</wrap>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="S-A-Left">
      <action name="SendToDesktopLeft">
        <dialog>no</dialog>
        <wrap>no</wrap>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="S-A-Right">
      <action name="SendToDesktopRight">
        <dialog>no</dialog>
        <wrap>no</wrap>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="S-A-Up">
      <action name="SendToDesktopUp">
        <dialog>no</dialog>
        <wrap>no</wrap>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="S-A-Down">
      <action name="SendToDesktopDown">
        <dialog>no</dialog>
        <wrap>no</wrap>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-F1">
      <action name="Desktop">
        <desktop>1</desktop>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-F2">
      <action name="Desktop">
        <desktop>2</desktop>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-F3">
      <action name="Desktop">
        <desktop>3</desktop>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-F4">
      <action name="Desktop">
        <desktop>4</desktop>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-d">
      <action name="ToggleShowDesktop"/>
    </keybind>
    <!-- Keybindings for windows -->
    <keybind key="A-F4">
      <action name="Close"/>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="A-Escape">
      <action name="Lower"/>
      <action name="FocusToBottom"/>
      <action name="Unfocus"/>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="A-F2">
      <action name="execute"><execute>gmrun</execute></action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="A-space">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>client-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <!-- Keybindings for window switching -->
    <keybind key="A-Tab">
      <action name="NextWindow"/>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="A-S-Tab">
      <action name="PreviousWindow"/>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="C-A-Tab">
      <action name="NextWindow">
        <panels>yes</panels>
        <desktop>yes</desktop>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <!-- Keybindings for running applications -->
    <keybind key="W-e">
      <action name="Execute">
        <startupnotify>
          <enabled>true</enabled>
          <name>Konqueror</name>
        </startupnotify>
        <command>kfmclient openProfile filemanagement</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>
  </keyboard>

Is there some daemon or startup item I need to add to make openbox keybindings work? I have hal in my daemons and hotplugging is enabled.

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng gamin hal iptables !network wicd crond alsa)

I haven't had any trouble with my keyboard other than the keybindings not working. Any ideas?

Last edited by cit30 (2009-09-05 22:29:43)

Offline

#2 2009-09-04 23:25:58

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Openbox keybindings

do you mean the "what apps on what workspaces menu" or the root menu defined in menu.xml?

this works for me for the latter

    <keybind key="W-space">
      <action name="ShowMenu">
        <menu>root-menu</menu>
      </action>
    </keybind>

i assume switching W with A would work just fine too.

Offline

#3 2009-09-05 02:13:07

Knute
Member
From: Minot, ND
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 604

Re: [SOLVED] Openbox keybindings

1.)  do you have a client-menu defined?

2.) do you have the appropriate file being loaded in the rc.xml file??


Knute

Offline

#4 2009-09-05 05:24:58

opothehippo
Member
From: hella norcal bro
Registered: 2009-08-06
Posts: 89

Re: [SOLVED] Openbox keybindings

You can try editing them with obkey (google...).


Arch x86_64 | XMonad

Offline

#5 2009-09-05 21:56:42

cit30
Member
Registered: 2009-08-19
Posts: 24

Re: [SOLVED] Openbox keybindings

@brisbin33, are you saying I should have keybindings defined in menu.xml?

@Knute, my keybinding for the client-menu is

<keybind key="A-space">
  <action name="ShowMenu">
    <menu>client-menu</menu>

My mousebinding for the client-menu is the default

<mousebind button="Right" action="Press">
  <action name="Focus"/>
  <action name="Raise"/>
  <action name="ShowMenu">
    <menu>client-menu</menu>

To my untrained eye it looks as though the client-menu is properly defined.

do you have the appropriate file being loaded in the rc.xml file??

I'm sorry, but I don't understand this question.

@opothehippo, I might try that, but is seems like they are already well-defined, and I wonder if a gui would really help make them work.

Offline

#6 2009-09-05 22:28:20

cit30
Member
Registered: 2009-08-19
Posts: 24

Re: [SOLVED] Openbox keybindings

@brisbin33, I misunderstood your post. Now I see what you mean. I changed 'client-menu' to 'root-menu' in rc.xml and now it works. Thank you.

Offline

#7 2009-09-06 00:08:45

Knute
Member
From: Minot, ND
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 604

Re: [SOLVED] Openbox keybindings

do you have the appropriate file being loaded in the rc.xml file??

I'm sorry, but I don't understand this question.

What I meant was that you can have more than one menu.xml type file.

If you have different names for say a games-menu.xml  you need to have the rc.xml file load it.
These files are loaded between the <menu>....</menu> tags.

In the past, when I've used openbox, I don't know how many hours I spent grinding my teeth because I failed to put my menu files in there.  smile

Glad you got it going though.


Knute

Offline

#8 2009-09-07 05:42:16

cit30
Member
Registered: 2009-08-19
Posts: 24

Re: [SOLVED] Openbox keybindings

Knute wrote:

do you have the appropriate file being loaded in the rc.xml file??

I'm sorry, but I don't understand this question.

What I meant was that you can have more than one menu.xml type file.

If you have different names for say a games-menu.xml  you need to have the rc.xml file load it.
These files are loaded between the <menu>....</menu> tags.

In the past, when I've used openbox, I don't know how many hours I spent grinding my teeth because I failed to put my menu files in there.  smile

Glad you got it going though.

Oh ok, gotcha now. Thanks for explaining it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB