You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-18 00:58:24

luigi
Member
Registered: 2004-07-02
Posts: 29

Xfce 4.2 and KDM

Hi,

I upgraded to Xfce 4.2 yesterday and sysupdated to the newest libxfce4util 4.2.0-2 just now, as well as installed the new Xfce4 packages as prescribed on the announcement off the mainpage. After the update, I noticed Xfce4 missing from the KDM menu. I know it was there yesterday after the first sysupdate to 4.2, as I tried out the new version for a while (and it was definitely the new version).

My xfce4.desktop file in /opt/kde/share/apps/kdm/sessions has not changed, and has the correct command, 'startxfce4'.

Thanks.

Offline

#2 2005-01-18 05:34:37

Mith
Member
From: out there
Registered: 2004-10-05
Posts: 163

Re: Xfce 4.2 and KDM

so it's not showing up for you in KDM? it's not showing up for me either although a locate spell shows the .desktop file to be in the right folder ( /opt/kde/share/apps/kdm/sessions/xfce4.desktop )
anyone got this working?


ArchLinux (x86_64) w/ kdemod

Offline

#3 2005-01-18 07:13:21

ralvy
Member
From: Santa Monica, California
Registered: 2004-12-06
Posts: 275

Re: Xfce 4.2 and KDM

luigi wrote:

Hi,

I upgraded to Xfce 4.2 yesterday and sysupdated to the newest libxfce4util 4.2.0-2 just now, as well as installed the new Xfce4 packages as prescribed on the announcement off the mainpage. After the update, I noticed Xfce4 missing from the KDM menu. I know it was there yesterday after the first sysupdate to 4.2, as I tried out the new version for a while (and it was definitely the new version).

My xfce4.desktop file in /opt/kde/share/apps/kdm/sessions has not changed, and has the correct command, 'startxfce4'.

Thanks.

What is meant here by sysupdate? Is that just

pacman -Syu

Offline

#4 2005-01-18 13:04:29

Cotton
Member
From: Cornwall, UK
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 548

Re: Xfce 4.2 and KDM

I had the same issue.  Pacman -Syu did not fix it.

The solution was to add an additional file, whatever.desktop, to the /etc/X11/sessions directory, with the following contents:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=NAME
Exec=<base>/xfce4/bin/startxfce4
Type=Application


where NAME is what will be displayed in the KDM menulist, and <base> is probably /opt, assuming xfce4 hasn't been installed elsewhere.

Not the ideal way of resolving the problem, but it works.

Infor obtained from the wiki at:  http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/XFCE4

Offline

#5 2005-01-18 13:36:27

mico
Member
From: Slovenia
Registered: 2004-02-08
Posts: 239

Re: Xfce 4.2 and KDM

xfce documentation also suggests to create xfce42.desktop with the following content (I changed the paths to startxfce4):

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Type=XSession
Exec=/opt/xfce4/bin/startxfce4
TryExec=/opt/xfce4/bin/startxfce4
Name=Xfce 4.2
Comment=The Xfce 4.2 Desktop Environment

Maybe the creation of this file should be in install script of some xfce4 package. Same goes for GDM.

Online

#6 2005-01-18 18:23:58

Mith
Member
From: out there
Registered: 2004-10-05
Posts: 163

Re: Xfce 4.2 and KDM

now call me very stupid.. however once a complete "pacman -S xfce4" is done everything works like a charm.. I was just referring to the arch mainpage and there are just 3 packages mentioned to be installed.. anyway.. those packages + "pacman -S xfce4" just did the trick.. i didn't even need to place the desktop file into the /etc/X11/sessions/ folder


ArchLinux (x86_64) w/ kdemod

Offline

#7 2005-01-19 01:28:46

luigi
Member
Registered: 2004-07-02
Posts: 29

Re: Xfce 4.2 and KDM

Cotton wrote:

I had the same issue.  Pacman -Syu did not fix it.

The solution was to add an additional file, whatever.desktop, to the /etc/X11/sessions directory, with the following contents:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=NAME
Exec=<base>/xfce4/bin/startxfce4
Type=Application


where NAME is what will be displayed in the KDM menulist, and <base> is probably /opt, assuming xfce4 hasn't been installed elsewhere.

Not the ideal way of resolving the problem, but it works.

Infor obtained from the wiki at:  http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/XFCE4

This solution worked. Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB