You are not logged in.

#1 2004-12-29 23:00:53

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

playing dvd's

store bought dvd's


i am exhausted
i tried everything i can think of i cant seem to get a dvd to play as a user
root will play it but no audio in totem which did work a few months ago when i 1st installed but now after i dont know how many pacman -Syu's

i get this message from totem
failed to find mount point for device /dev/hda in /etc/fstab

my /etc/fsatb

/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cd   iso9660   ro,user,noauto,unhide       0      0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/dvd   udf      ro,user,noauto,unhide       0      0
#/dev/floppy/0          /mnt/fl   vfat      user,noauto,unhide      0      0

i tried
/dev/hda /mnt/dvd udf ro,user,noauto,unhide  0 0
/dev/hda /mnt/dvd udf,iso9660 ro,user,noauto,unhide  0 0
/dev/hda /mnt/dvd auto ro,user,noauto,unhide  0 0

i do have /mnt/dvd ,cd ,fl  even though theres no fl
i belong to audio sound optical groups
i can mount a dvd see all files but cant play
any help would be great

Offline

#2 2004-12-30 01:30:38

oscar
Member
From: Linköping, Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 457

Re: playing dvd's

/dev/hda is your primary master, ie, the first harddrive on your first IDE channel.
use /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 instead, and try again smile
I'm not sure, but I don't think root is a member of audio, and that's why you can't get any sound.

good luck smile


To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password.

Offline

#3 2004-12-30 02:21:07

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: playing dvd's

/dev/hda
is my /dev/cdroms/cdrom0
/dev/hdc
is my /dev/discs/disc0/partX

this is a laptop (dell inspiron 5150)
i know its not the ideal way to set it up but im not gonna tear into
this for to change it the way i think it should be

i added root to audio group that fixed that
now id like to get users to be able to play movies

thanks for any help

Offline

#4 2004-12-30 02:32:22

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: playing dvd's

if you can't mount as user, try this

# chmod 4755 /bin/mount

Edit: hmmm, i read your post again and maybe this is better,

# chmod 744 /etc/fstab

arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#5 2005-01-17 23:41:38

Pupwiz
Member
From: Ontario Canada
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 11
Website

Re: playing dvd's

I also am having some trouble in this area they load and play but its in a flash meaning so quick I cant see anything.  They start to play then it kicks over to a black screen and then it sits there doing nothing. Check the permissions on both root and user but neither seem to get me going.
Any suggestions

Pup

Offline

#6 2005-01-18 04:30:51

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: playing dvd's

Do you use devfs or udev?

Did you read the fourth down article including the part about creating permissions for your optical drives so they will e recognized at boot? Read the whole article carefully as a starting point.

http://archlinux.org/news.php?skip=20


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#7 2005-01-18 15:10:02

Pupwiz
Member
From: Ontario Canada
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 11
Website

Re: playing dvd's

Do you use devfs or udev?

Did you read the fourth down article including the part about creating permissions for your optical drives so they will e recognized at boot? Read the whole article carefully as a starting point.

I followed the instuctions and switched over to udev setup the permissions as instucted and added the symbolic link to /dev/dvd and everything fire right up find after that. I think everything is now working on my Presario 2100 laptop with ArchLinux installed.

Now time to play and see what trouble I can cause.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction

sarah31

Offline

#8 2005-01-18 17:30:13

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: playing dvd's

If you are using udev you can also safely merge two lines in one, namely:

/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cd iso9660 ro,user,noauto,unhide 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/dvd udf ro,user,noauto,unhide 0 0

to
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/dvd auto   ro,user,noauto,unhide 0 0
or even
/dev/hda    /mnt/dvd auto   ro,user,noauto,unhide 0 0
which is the same for your system.


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#9 2005-01-18 19:22:37

Pupwiz
Member
From: Ontario Canada
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 11
Website

Re: playing dvd's

Thanks

I made the modification and tested out fine

I should have kept a book so when I redo the system again later on I would get everything right the 1st time


Thanks scarecrow for that extra help

I am thinking of switching my server over to Linux. Is this distro a good one for running a personal server from? I like this for the ease of updating but have not researched it as far as a server setup  any thoughts.

Offline

#10 2005-01-18 22:23:37

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: playing dvd's

Lets put it this way....

Some think it is some think it isn't.

The reasons they don't usually relates back to the occasional sloppy maintenance hob in patching or upgrading core server applications and related packages.

The more you know about the applications that go into making a server the less of a problem it is. Since you are running a personal server I don't think the percieved problems with stability will be an issue.

Like I say there are plenty of people that use it as a server and in many different scenarios. the best thing you could probably do to decide is just go for it and give it a try. If it works great if it doesn't there are lots of other options out there.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#11 2005-01-19 12:56:04

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: playing dvd's

While there's nothing wrong in using Arch as a server I am more inclined using rock solid stuff for that -which is close to the definition of Slackware 10 (not "current") with a simple package manager like "slackpkg" and webmin for idiotproof remote administation. Just my $.02.
On my desktops I barely consider using anything else than Arch Linux- PCLinuxOS may be the closest, but still a long way behind (Mandrakeish RPM hell in there, although Texstar does an admirable job managing the packages).


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB