You are not logged in.

#51 2009-09-12 15:44:12

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

Hi,

the package I posted yesterday was of an older version by accident.
I uploaded the correct one in the same place.

Additionally I've put up an AUR package of the patched SBCL you need to build from source: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=30055

Pank wrote:

First: I wanted to edit a pkgbuild. My editor is emacsclient -t but for some reason it would not accept it. It said the editor halted or something like that. However, my Emacs daemon was doing quite well and I was using at the same time. When I agreed to change the editor I was never presented with an oppertunity to select another editor.

I'm going to fix this soon, thanks. You might want to file a bug report here to make sure I don't forget: http://developer.berlios.de/bugs/?group_id=11152

Second: When one is installing  an app one is first asked whether or not to edit the pkgbuild. Second, one is asked whether one wants to continue installing/building the app. Isn't this a bit unnessecary?

How would you handle the case when you decide you don't want to build the package after seeing the PKGBUILD?

Also, I was missing an overview of, possibly, non-installed depenencies.

Please file a feature request here: http://developer.berlios.de/feature/?group_id=11152

venky80 wrote:

is there a -Rscn feature in this?

What does scn mean? Do you mean package removal functionality? This will be part of the next version.

Thanks for all the input!

  Leslie

Offline

#52 2009-09-14 01:41:24

torisuke
Member
Registered: 2008-10-24
Posts: 5

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

It's a pity, but I haven't the time to retest the x86_64 tag issue on my end.

Edit 2: I feel bad about making another edit. I don't know if this is a feature or a bug: It seems that should paktahn be stopped in the middle of installing packages, it won't update the installed package list until a package is installed to completion.

Can you be more specific about that?

I guess is best explained by example.

Let's say I'm installing 10 packages from a paktahn search. The first four packages install fine, but the 5th package fails to install for, let's say, the running terminal closing, the four installed packages won't be listed as installed in the paktahn search until I successfully install another program. Nothing incredibly major, but somewhat disorienting, nonetheless.

Anyways, Pak's worked quite nicely thus far, but I haven't had the time to try any upgrades with professors vying to monopolize my time (The joys of college ;P). Definately can't wait for this to stabilize, though.

Offline

#53 2009-09-14 07:24:34

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

Maybe you're not using the latest version? The current should check the state of the local database before any operation and refresh it as necessary.

Offline

#54 2009-09-14 14:52:37

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

dejari wrote:

Hi,

the package I posted yesterday was of an older version by accident.
I uploaded the correct one in the same place.

Additionally I've put up an AUR package of the patched SBCL you need to build from source: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=30055

Pank wrote:

First: I wanted to edit a pkgbuild. My editor is emacsclient -t but for some reason it would not accept it. It said the editor halted or something like that. However, my Emacs daemon was doing quite well and I was using at the same time. When I agreed to change the editor I was never presented with an oppertunity to select another editor.

I'm going to fix this soon, thanks. You might want to file a bug report here to make sure I don't forget: http://developer.berlios.de/bugs/?group_id=11152

Second: When one is installing  an app one is first asked whether or not to edit the pkgbuild. Second, one is asked whether one wants to continue installing/building the app. Isn't this a bit unnessecary?

How would you handle the case when you decide you don't want to build the package after seeing the PKGBUILD?

Also, I was missing an overview of, possibly, non-installed depenencies.

Please file a feature request here: http://developer.berlios.de/feature/?group_id=11152

venky80 wrote:

is there a -Rscn feature in this?

What does scn mean? Do you mean package removal functionality? This will be part of the next version.

Thanks for all the input!

  Leslie

-Rscn is package removal along with all its dependencies recursively, please do include this pacman feature in your program


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#55 2009-09-17 12:10:33

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

AUR page: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=30242

Binary repository: add the following to pacman.conf:

[paktahn]
Server = http://viridian-project.de/~sky/paktahn/repo

Offline

#56 2009-09-19 20:52:00

panzeroceania
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 25

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

have you considered writing a tutorial in the wiki section to refer new users to?

Last edited by panzeroceania (2009-09-19 20:54:01)

Offline

#57 2009-09-20 06:47:51

ugkbunb
Member
Registered: 2009-02-26
Posts: 227

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

How do you go about exiting the list if you do now what to install a package? In yaourt you just hit enter... but a blank line in paktahn just repeats the searched list.

EDIT: When I attempted to build auramp -- it properly attempts to build the make dependency of  auramp-qtjambi-stripped it first complained about not being able to find java-runtime although I do have jre installed and it provides java-runtime.... then after installing that with yaourt... it attempts to build auramp but for i686 instead of x86_64.

==> Finished making: auramp 512-2 x86_64 (Sun Sep 20 07:12:58 UTC 2009)
loading package data...
error: 'auramp-512-2-i686.pkg.tar.gz': cannot open package file

One last thing... if you attempt to install a package that is already installed it just skips it... there should be a dialog asking you if you want that behavior... perhaps people would like to rebuild a package and change the build settings etc.

Last edited by ugkbunb (2009-09-20 07:13:32)

Offline

#58 2009-09-20 08:28:43

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

panzeroceania wrote:

have you considered writing a tutorial in the wiki section to refer new users to?

Yes. I wrote above that it'd be cool if one of you guys could to that. But if no one volunteers then I will do so eventually.

ugkbunb wrote:

How do you go about exiting the list if you do now what to install a package? In yaourt you just hit enter... but a blank line in paktahn just repeats the searched list.

The banner should say "Ctrl-C to abort". Did you get that?

The three bugs you reported will be fixed in 0.8.1, thank you! smile

Offline

#59 2009-09-20 08:42:45

yossarianuk
Member
Registered: 2007-05-02
Posts: 101

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

Hi.

The best thing about yaourt is the ability to update all AUR packages, i.e :-

yaourt -Suy --aur

Is the same ability possible with paktahn ?

Cheers

Offline

#60 2009-09-20 09:00:52

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

yossarianuk wrote:

The best thing about yaourt is the ability to update all AUR packages, i.e :-

yaourt -Suy --aur

Is the same ability possible with paktahn ?

Not yet (among other things because Paktahn doesn't have versioning support yet) but it will definitely be part of a future release.

Offline

#61 2009-09-21 09:46:04

nickwe
Member
Registered: 2007-07-12
Posts: 9

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

I'd like to test but any command I'm running result in:

root@nihe-lp / # paktahn test
==> Cache "local" not found, building it.


==> Attempt to call an undefined alien function.

So how to build the Cache, it seems so obvious but can't find any info on this.

Regards,


Nickwe

Offline

#62 2009-09-21 10:19:20

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

What you're seeing is some kind of bug. To help find the cause of this I need some more info.

Please create a file ~/.paktahn/config.lisp with the following contents:

(in-package :pak)

(setf *on-error* :backtrace)

Then try to run Paktahn again and send me the output.

Offline

#63 2009-09-26 08:35:58

nickwe
Member
Registered: 2007-07-12
Posts: 9

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

Sorry for the delay, here is the result of what you've asked me:

root@nihe-lp ~ # ls -ld .paktahn 
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4,096 2009-09-26 10:32 .paktahn/

root@nihe-lp ~ # ls -l .paktahn/
total 8,192
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4,096 2009-09-26 10:32 cache/
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    48 2009-09-26 10:31 config.lisp

root@nihe-lp ~/.paktahn # cat config.lisp 
(in-package :pak)

(setf *on-error* :backtrace)

root@nihe-lp ~/.paktahn # ls cache

root@nihe-lp ~/.paktahn #

root@nihe-lp ~/.paktahn # paktahn test
==> Cache "local" not found, building it.


==> Attempt to call an undefined alien function.
Date/time: 2009-09-26-10:32An unhandled error condition has been signalled: Attempt to call an undefined alien function.


0: (SB-DEBUG::MAP-BACKTRACE #<CLOSURE (LAMBDA (SB-DEBUG::FRAME)) {BA4EDC5}>)[:EXTERNAL]
1: (BACKTRACE 536870911 #<SYNONYM-STREAM :SYMBOL *TERMINAL-IO* {911CF99}>)
2: (TRIVIAL-BACKTRACE:PRINT-BACKTRACE-TO-STREAM #<SYNONYM-STREAM :SYMBOL *TERMINAL-IO* {911CF99}>)
3: (TRIVIAL-BACKTRACE:PRINT-BACKTRACE #<SB-KERNEL::UNDEFINED-ALIEN-FUNCTION-ERROR {BA4A561}>)[:EXTERNAL]
4: ((FLET PAKTAHN::BAIL-OUT))
5: (PAKTAHN::DEFAULT-ERROR-HANDLER #<SB-KERNEL::UNDEFINED-ALIEN-FUNCTION-ERROR {BA4A561}> :BEFORE-INVOKE-RESTART-FN NIL)
6: (SIGNAL #<SB-KERNEL::UNDEFINED-ALIEN-FUNCTION-ERROR {BA4A561}>)[:EXTERNAL]
7: ((FLET #:FUN[BUILD-MEMORY-CACHE]9) #<SB-KERNEL::UNDEFINED-ALIEN-FUNCTION-ERROR {BA4A561}>)
8: (PAKTAHN::BUILD-MEMORY-CACHE "local")
9: (PAKTAHN::REBUILD-DISK-CACHE "local")
10: (PAKTAHN::MAYBE-UPDATE-DISK-CACHE "local")
11: (PAKTAHN::MAYBE-REFRESH-CACHE)
12: (PAKTAHN::SEARCH-AND-INSTALL-PACKAGES "test")
13: (PAKTAHN::MAIN ("test"))
14: (PAKTAHN::CORE-MAIN)
15: ((LABELS SB-IMPL::RESTART-LISP))

I don't know if it has anything to do with the fact that I have "cage" my pacman database?

root@nihe-lp ~/.paktahn/cache # mount
/dev/sda2 on / type ext3 (rw,noatime)
none on /dev type tmpfs (rw,mode=755)
none on /proc type proc (rw)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
/dev/sda5 on /home type reiserfs (rw)
/var/lib/pacman.db on /var/lib/pacman type ext2 (rw,loop=/dev/loop0)

Last edited by nickwe (2009-09-26 08:42:22)

Offline

#64 2009-09-26 08:43:55

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

What's your Pacman version?

Please also post the output of

ls /usr/lib/libalpm*

Offline

#65 2009-09-28 15:16:10

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

0.8.1 release candidate: http://blog.viridian-project.de/2009/09 … candidate/

Please help test it.

Offline

#66 2009-09-28 15:31:26

Gen2ly
Member
From: Sevierville, TN
Registered: 2009-03-06
Posts: 1,529
Website

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

Looks like your blog link is down now. sad


Setting Up a Scripting Environment | Proud donor to wikipedia - link

Offline

#67 2009-09-28 17:28:06

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

Sorry, there's been a DOS attack on my provider's net. Should be up again now.

Offline

#68 2009-09-28 21:18:32

ugkbunb
Member
Registered: 2009-02-26
Posts: 227

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

I still can't reinstall packages if they have already been installed.

Also - it does not properly detect that a newer package is out there... so you can't update packages with paktahn... for example I have kernel26-bfs-233 installed... with paktahn if I search kernel26-bfs it shows that the version available is kernel26-bfs-240 but it won't allow me to install it because it thinks it already installed... with yaourt it properly detects that my local package is out of date.

Yaourt output

1 aur/kernel26-bfs 2.6.31-240 [2.6.31-233 installed] (63)

Paktahn output

1 aur/kernel26-bfs 2.6.31-240 [installed]

Offline

#69 2009-09-29 06:33:56

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

ugkbunb,

I'm going to check and fix the reinstallation issue you reported.

Versioning will be part of the post-0.8.1 release.

Offline

#70 2009-09-29 07:01:03

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

I couldn't reproduce your issue with 0.8.1:

1 aur/qarecord 0.5.0-2 [installed]
    A simple multithreaded stereo recording tool
=>  ------------------------------------
=>  Enter numbers (e.g. '1,2-5,6') of packages to be installed.
=>  Empty line prints the package list again. Hit Ctrl+C to abort.
=>  --------------------------------------------------------------
[1-1] => 1
==> Package "qarecord" is already installed.
==> Reinstall it (y/N) y
==> Installing package "qarecord" from AUR.
[...]

Can you give me a more detailed description of what you're doing and how it fails?

Offline

#71 2009-10-04 12:29:23

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

Offline

#72 2009-10-10 21:59:37

ugkbunb
Member
Registered: 2009-02-26
Posts: 227

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

dejari wrote:

I couldn't reproduce your issue with 0.8.1:


Can you give me a more detailed description of what you're doing and how it fails?

weird I most of had an older version installed... just tried it again with 0.8.1 and it worked great. Thanks

Offline

#73 2009-10-14 19:28:35

keiichi
Member
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 65

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

Is Paktahn as good as/better than Yaourt yet? I'm really interested in it.

Offline

#74 2009-10-14 19:33:51

dejari
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-09-12
Posts: 72

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

It depends on what's important for you. Paktahn is pretty good at software installation already.

It's also very easy to try, look here: http://blog.viridian-project.de/2009/10 … installer/

Offline

#75 2009-10-15 18:20:33

ugkbunb
Member
Registered: 2009-02-26
Posts: 227

Re: Paktahn: yaourt-style AUR/Pacman search and install

Could you make it display the currently installed version... for example if I search pacman-color and there is an update... in yaourt it shows the installed version and the current version available in the AUR... in paktahn it only shows the current version available in the AUR and it lists it as installed although an older version is installed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB