You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-18 23:48:35

hyp0luxa
Member
From: Miami, FL
Registered: 2004-07-10
Posts: 70

kernel26nitro 2.6.10-nitro4

"The Kernel Formerly Known As Hercules"

Kid tested, mother approved.

Make sure you have your config and logo_linux_clut224.ppm in the build dir. You can copy them from /var/abs/kernels/kernel26.

Enjoy!

# $Id: PKGBUILD,v 1.5 2004/08/22 16:43:06 damir Exp $
# Contributor: hyp0luxa <hyp0luxa@yahoo.com>

pkgname=kernel26nitro
origkernelver=2.6.10
newkernelver=2.6.10
nitrover=4
pkgver=${newkernelver}.nitro${nitrover}
kernelver=${origkernelver}-nitro${nitrover}
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="The Linux Kernel and modules (IDE support) [nitro kernel]"
url="http://www.sepi.be/nitro.php"
backup=('boot/kconfig26nitro')
depends=('module-init-tools')

source=(http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v2.6/linux-$origkernelver.tar.bz2 
          # http://www.sepi.be/nitro/$kernelver/patch-$kernelver.bz2 
      http://pickledonion.net/nitro/patches/patch-$kernelver.bz2 
          config 
          logo_linux_clut224.ppm)

build() {

  # if we run the makepkg more than once and use 'makepkg -e' to save time:
  if [ -d $startdir/src/linux-${origkernelver} ]
  then
     cd $startdir/src/linux-${origkernelver}
     #apply nitro patchset
     patch -Np1 -i ../patch-$kernelver || return 1
     mv $startdir/src/linux-${origkernelver} $startdir/src/linux-$kernelver
  fi

  cd $startdir/src/linux-$kernelver

  #CLEAN-ME:
  if [ -f ../${kernelver} ]
  then
     rm ../${kernelver} # cleanup the existing patch (needed, if "makepkg -e" for another round)
  fi

  # get rid of the 'i' in i686
  carch=`echo $CARCH | sed 's|i||'`
  cat ../config | sed "s|#CARCH#|$carch|g" >./.config
  mv -f $startdir/config $startdir/config.orig

  # replace logo:
  cp $startdir/src/logo_linux_clut224.ppm $startdir/src/linux-$kernelver/drivers/video/logo/ && echo "==> logo replaced successfully"
  sleep 2

  # let's be "user-friendly":
  echo "==> "
  echo "==> How do you want to configure the kernel:"
  echo "==> ----------------------------------------"
  echo "==> (for ArchLinux defaults, use 'not_at_all (1)')"
  echo "==> "
  AUSWAHL="not_at_all menuconfig xconfig oldconfig config"
           select opt in $AUSWAHL; do
               if [ "$opt" = "not_at_all" ]; then
                yes "" | make config || return 1
                mv $startdir/config.orig $startdir/config
                break
               elif [ "$opt" = "menuconfig" ]; then
                make menuconfig || return 1
                cp .config $startdir/config && echo "==> your config was saved to $startdir/config"
                break
               elif [ "$opt" = "xconfig" ]; then
                make xconfig || return 1
                cp .config $startdir/config && echo "==> your config was saved to $startdir/config"
                break
               elif [ "$opt" = "config" ]; then
                make config || return 1
                cp .config $startdir/config && echo "==> your config was saved to $startdir/config"
                break
               elif [ "$opt" = "oldconfig" ]; then
                make oldconfig || return 1
                cp .config $startdir/config && echo "==> your config was saved to $startdir/config"
                break
               else
                clear
                echo "==> I don't understand (bad option) ... assuming you don't want "
                echo "==> to configure and use the defaults."
                sleep 1
                echo "==> 3..."
                sleep 1
                echo "==> 2..."
                sleep 1
                echo "==> 1..."
                sleep 1
                echo "==> 0: GO! --------------------------- :-)"
                yes "" | make config || return 1
                mv $startdir/config.orig $startdir/config
                break
               fi
           done

  echo ""
  echo "==> Building the kernel $kernelver will start in 2s ! "
  echo "==> Happy compiling and good luck :-)"
  echo ""
  sleep 2

  make clean bzImage modules || return 1

  mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/{lib/modules,boot}
  make INSTALL_MOD_PATH=$startdir/pkg modules_install || return 1

  cp System.map $startdir/pkg/boot/System.map26nitro

  cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage $startdir/pkg/boot/vmlinuz26nitro

  install -D -m644 Makefile $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/Makefile
  install -D -m644 .config $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/.config
  install -D -m644 .config $startdir/pkg/boot/kconfig26nitro

  mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/include
  mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/arch/i386/kernel

  for i in acpi asm-generic asm-i386 config linux math-emu net pcmcia scsi video; do
    cp -a include/$i $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/include/
  done

  # copy files necessary for later builds, like nvidia and vmware
  cp -a scripts $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/
  mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/.tmp_versions
  cp arch/i386/Makefile $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/arch/i386/
  cp arch/i386/kernel/asm-offsets.s $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/arch/i386/kernel/

  # copy in Kconfig files
  for i in `find . -name "Kconfig*"`; do
    mkdir -p $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/`echo $i | sed 's|/Kconfig.*||'`
    cp $i $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/$i
  done
  cd $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver/include && ln -s asm-i386 asm
  chown -R root.root $startdir/pkg/usr/src/linux-$kernelver
  cd $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/$kernelver && 
    (rm -f build; ln -sf /usr/src/linux-$kernelver build)
}

Offline

#2 2005-01-19 00:04:33

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: kernel26nitro 2.6.10-nitro4

I stopped making these now that I dont use them. I dont like the way the new maintainer is making these nitro packages. I've gone back to cko

Offline

#3 2005-01-19 05:08:09

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,439
Website

Re: kernel26nitro 2.6.10-nitro4

no need!  for crying out loud! what have you done changed the 3 to a 4?!

ARGH!

Offline

#4 2005-01-22 03:53:30

Jet2k5
Member
Registered: 2004-10-03
Posts: 37

Re: kernel26nitro 2.6.10-nitro4

is there any pre-compiled kernels tongue

Offline

#5 2005-01-22 08:11:41

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,439
Website

Re: kernel26nitro 2.6.10-nitro4

try kernel24, kernel26, the scsi versions and kernel26mm  :evil:

Offline

#6 2005-01-22 19:43:22

Jet2k5
Member
Registered: 2004-10-03
Posts: 37

Re: kernel26nitro 2.6.10-nitro4

I was referring to a pre-compile 2.6.10-nitro4 kernel.  I have 2.6.10-nitro1 on my system, but was wondering if I should update it.

-Luis

Offline

#7 2005-01-23 09:38:00

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,439
Website

Re: kernel26nitro 2.6.10-nitro4

i know you were

Offline

#8 2005-01-23 13:44:25

Cotton
Member
From: Cornwall, UK
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 568

Re: kernel26nitro 2.6.10-nitro4

Needed to change line 135 of the PKPBUILD from:

cd $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/$kernelver &&

to

cd $startdir/pkg/lib/modules/$kernelver-ARCH &&

for it to compile properly.

Offline

#9 2005-01-24 13:02:19

cmp
Member
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 350

Re: kernel26nitro 2.6.10-nitro4

i got some questions concerning the nitro kernel, is there any site explaining the benefits of using this kernel? i found the orignal site a bit uninformative.
and how do i disable the video mode selection prompt at boot time?

Offline

#10 2005-01-25 11:41:15

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,439
Website

Re: kernel26nitro 2.6.10-nitro4

that is because you have selected "the next generation" framebuffer (it's default) but not properly configured your bootloader to pass the information to the kernel.  this sucks.  if you use fb-vesa you need one set of things in your boot loader, you need another if you use fb-tng.  the two are in compatible, so if you want run two kernels, one with fb-vesa and one with fb-tng, you have to change you bootloader config before you reboot!

i guess you ahve nearly always used fb-vesa before - if you use fbsplash - so i would reccommend a recompile to get rid of fb-tng which is MUCH slower than fb-vesa anyway  roll

NOTE: After patching the kernel, setting mode via the old vga= way WILL NOT WORK. You'll have to specify the mode you want to set through the video option, for example: video=vesafb:ypan,1024x768-32@85.

have a look at http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_fbsplash#C … bootloader

and it will aswer your questions  wink

that is the first question i know i have answered correctly for ages!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB