You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-25 19:48:04

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

cannot modprobe (where are the modules?)

This is driving me crazy, and I don't understand how things work well enough to figure out what's going on. Usually after installing an OS, i just do a serious of "modprobe fan", "modprobe thermal", "modprobe battery", etc. But when I try to run them, I get:

# modprobe thermal
FATAL: Module thermal not found.
# locate thermal
/usr/src/linux-2.6.10-ARCH/include/config/x86/mce/p4thermal.h
/usr/src/linux-2.6.10-ARCH/include/config/acpi/thermal.h

Looking in Google, it seems that I want a thermal.ko file under
/lib/modules/2.6.10-ARCH/..... but it's not there. Same goes for fan, battery, etc.. Why am I missing these modules?


I am a gated community.

Offline

#2 2005-01-25 20:41:50

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: cannot modprobe (where are the modules?)

from what i know these are not compiled as modules but built-in to the kernel itself. if acpi doesn't work for you your chipset most likely is not supported.


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#3 2005-01-25 22:48:54

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: cannot modprobe (where are the modules?)

Thanks for the reply, kth5. Acpi is working in that my fan is stepping up/down as needed, but something seems to be amiss with the battery. Even when my laptop is connected to AC, it acts like it's not (my laptop has this annoying feature where everything slows down, i.e. it draws less power, when you're running off the battery).

Just a week or two ago, I installed arch and I know that I modprobed all of the modules to get things to work. I ran into some problems at the time and reinstalled it again just yesterday from the same 0.6 version. Has there been a new/different kernel released during this time period? I know I was using the 2.6 IDE kernel before, as I am now, but I forget the exact version. I'm just trying to figure out why this seems different and how to correctly set everything up, it's running way too slow right now!

Thanks in advance for any help.


I am a gated community.

Offline

#4 2005-01-25 22:58:29

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: cannot modprobe (where are the modules?)

i don't know for sure which kernel came with arch on the 0.6 iso but my guess is 2.6.3. on the 0.7 beta 2 installer (which i use now) there is 2.6.9 and the current repo includes 2.6.10.

what you may need is cpufreq_* but since i can't use those (my laptop's far too old smile) i don't know how to use them right. maybe just probing stuff from /lib/modules/your_kernel/kernel/drivers/cpufreq/ helps?


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#5 2005-01-25 23:32:04

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: cannot modprobe (where are the modules?)

I seem to be using 2.6.10.. out of curiosity, would I be able to roll back to 2.6.9 using pacman? How would I do that? Just to test things wink

And modprobe is really acting fishy, it always seems to say module not found. For example:

# ls -al /lib/modules/2.6.10-ARCH/kernel/drivers/cpufreq/
total 44
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 2005-01-24 22:35 .
drwxr-xr-x  24 root root  4096 2005-01-24 22:35 ..
-rw-r--r--   1 root root 10380 2005-01-18 10:02 cpufreq_ondemand.ko
-rw-r--r--   1 root root  3480 2005-01-18 10:02 cpufreq_powersave.ko
-rw-r--r--   1 root root 11812 2005-01-18 10:02 cpufreq_userspace.ko
-rw-r--r--   1 root root  6236 2005-01-18 10:02 freq_table.ko
# modprobe /lib/modules/2.6.10-ARCH/kernel/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq_ondemand.ko 
FATAL: Module /lib/modules/2.6.10_ARCH/kernel/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq_ondemand.ko not found.

I used tab to complete the file, it's definitely not misspelled or anything. Why does it not find the module when I've directly specified it?


I am a gated community.

Offline

#6 2005-01-25 23:38:43

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: cannot modprobe (where are the modules?)

running

 modprobe /lib/modules/2.6.10-ARCH/kernel/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq_ondemand.ko 

will most probably not work! in order to probe a arbitary file as a module use insmod.

but instead you should really do this in a root-shell:

 modprobe cpufreq_ondemand

I seem to be using 2.6.10.. out of curiosity, would I be able to roll back to 2.6.9 using pacman? How would I do that? Just to test things

to roll back you simply need the old arch-pkg-tarball  and run "pacman -U" on it


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#7 2005-01-25 23:51:37

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: cannot modprobe (where are the modules?)

kth5 wrote:

running

 modprobe /lib/modules/2.6.10-ARCH/kernel/drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq_ondemand.ko 

will most probably not work! in order to probe a arbitary file as a module use insmod.

:oops: You learn something new everyday. That explains hours worth of frustration in the past heh...

kth5 wrote:

but instead you should really do this in a root-shell:

 modprobe cpufreq_ondemand

I seem to be using 2.6.10.. out of curiosity, would I be able to roll back to 2.6.9 using pacman? How would I do that? Just to test things

to roll back you simply need the old arch-pkg-tarball  and run "pacman -U" on it

Awesome, modprobing all four modules worked! My laptop is now running at full speed again. Just need to add them to the rc.conf file and I'm good to go. Thanks so much kth5! I'm so excited to be using Arch big_smile


I am a gated community.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB