You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-01 11:32:54

Mad Max
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 39
Website

Gnome 2.28 issues

Hi, guys.


1. After upgrading to gnome 2.28 I need root password every time I want to switch cpu frequency (in the panel). Earlier gnome was popping up with that keyring-message, but I can't access the keyring anymore... Where is it?
Maybe I can switch cpu frequency as user by adding me to some group/policy?

2. I can't access as user that "Users and groups" menu in System->Administration->Users and groups. Do you, guys know, how to get this permission?


Thanks in advance

Offline

#2 2009-10-01 12:32:19

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

Running testing by any chance?

A query on the frontpage shows 2.26 still being in Extra, moving this to the [Testing] subforum, please look where you put your topics next time wink.


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#3 2009-10-01 12:44:03

Mad Max
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 39
Website

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

Yes, you're right about the subforum. Thanks.

Any ideas, maybe?

Last edited by Mad Max (2009-10-01 13:32:12)

Offline

#4 2009-10-01 13:42:12

Maledictvm
Member
Registered: 2009-02-02
Posts: 14

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

Same here. Also, I still can't scale the gnome-panel down do <24 pixels and it as if NTFS-partitions are being mounted without ntfs-3g, so there's no write-access to a mounted NTFS-partition.

Offline

#5 2009-10-01 14:41:48

Mad Max
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 39
Website

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

@Maledictvm:

I've got solved at least ntfs problem with the "dirty" trick from HAL wiki:

# ln -s /sbin/mount.ntfs-3g /sbin/mount.ntfs

Now all of your ntfs partitions (systemwide) will be used with ntfs-3g driver instead of kernel ntfs driver, but this is how I ever wanted them to be mounted anyways wink.

Cheers

Last edited by Mad Max (2009-10-01 14:42:07)

Offline

#6 2009-10-02 15:48:35

jaxxstorm
Member
Registered: 2009-10-02
Posts: 2

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

Mad Max wrote:

Hi, guys.


1. After upgrading to gnome 2.28 I need root password every time I want to switch cpu frequency (in the panel). Earlier gnome was popping up with that keyring-message, but I can't access the keyring anymore... Where is it?
Maybe I can switch cpu frequency as user by adding me to some group/policy?

2. I can't access as user that "Users and groups" menu in System->Administration->Users and groups. Do you, guys know, how to get this permission?


Thanks in advance

I think both of these can be fixed by adding yourself to the stb-admin group.

to make sure it exists do

cat /etc/group | grep stb-admin

If it does exists (which it should!) add yourself to it using

gpasswd -a USERNAME stb-admin

as root

Offline

#7 2009-10-03 17:46:32

Mad Max
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 39
Website

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

jaxxstorm wrote:

I think both of these can be fixed by adding yourself to the stb-admin group.

to make sure it exists do

cat /etc/group | grep stb-admin

If it does exists (which it should!) add yourself to it using

gpasswd -a USERNAME stb-admin

as root

Hi, thanks for your reply. It did solve the access to the "Users and Groups" menu, but I still can't manage them from there... Even if I login as root and enter this menu, I can't manage those normal user's groups and settings. Weird.


The other problem is still there despite of the stb-admin privileges -> cpu frequency still can only be changed by enering root password. sad

Offline

#8 2009-10-10 06:02:05

Berseker
Member
From: Near Lecco, Italy
Registered: 2008-04-24
Posts: 253

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

I have the same "problem" of the root password needed in order to change the cpu freq.

Also I have troubles in automounting cdroms (but as I've read somewhere, it has to be related with some bugs with the lastest udev)
ps mounting by hand from console works fine

Offline

#9 2009-10-10 06:12:22

Bl@ster
Member
From: Rome
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

Berseker wrote:

I have the same "problem" of the root password needed in order to change the cpu freq.

Also I have troubles in automounting cdroms (but as I've read somewhere, it has to be related with some bugs with the lastest udev)
ps mounting by hand from console works fine

I think that the "problem" with the changing of cpu freq is a right behaviour wink

About the Metacity's bug relatively to Compiz?
Do you know anything?

Offline

#10 2009-10-10 06:19:06

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,838

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

Bl@ster wrote:

About the Metacity's bug relatively to Compiz?
Do you know anything?

It exists. What else is there to know? Do a killall metacity.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#11 2009-10-10 06:23:56

Bl@ster
Member
From: Rome
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

ngoonee wrote:
Bl@ster wrote:

About the Metacity's bug relatively to Compiz?
Do you know anything?

It exists. What else is there to know? Do a killall metacity.

I have to do a killall metacity every time i boot up my box, and this is ugly big_smile
I was asking if we have a fix, a patch, everything lol

Offline

#12 2009-10-10 08:54:38

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,838

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

Perhaps its better to ask here rather than in a thread that JGC (the maintainer for gnome) will probably never read?

I'd advise patience though, he knows about the issue.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#13 2009-10-10 09:06:45

Bl@ster
Member
From: Rome
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 51
Website

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

ngoonee wrote:

Perhaps its better to ask here rather than in a thread that JGC (the maintainer for gnome) will probably never read?

I'd advise patience though, he knows about the issue.

Oh, you're right wink

Offline

#14 2009-10-12 16:37:27

Stunts
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2009-03-28
Posts: 301
Website

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

jaxxstorm wrote:

I think both of these can be fixed by adding yourself to the stb-admin group.

to make sure it exists do

cat /etc/group | grep stb-admin

If it does exists (which it should!) add yourself to it using

gpasswd -a USERNAME stb-admin

as root

What if the group doesn't exist?

I have the same issue, but stb-admin doesn't exist for me...

Thanks

Offline

#15 2009-11-23 19:26:42

Mad Max
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 39
Website

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

*BUMP* Do you guys know the "solution" for that annoying permission issue with CPU-governors in Gnome yet?

Offline

#16 2009-11-27 03:12:09

QuimaxW
Member
From: Waukesha, WI
Registered: 2006-12-03
Posts: 218

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

Mad Max wrote:

*BUMP* Do you guys know the "solution" for that annoying permission issue with CPU-governors in Gnome yet?

Use KDE. cool

/end sarcasm

I really don't have anything more helpful, it just popped in my head as something whitty to say.

Offline

#17 2009-11-27 13:43:52

Mad Max
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 39
Website

Re: Gnome 2.28 issues

QuimaxW wrote:

Use KDE. cool

/end sarcasm

I really don't have anything more helpful, it just popped in my head as something whitty to say.

Well, I was using KDE 4.3.1 before, but it had monstrous performance hits (with or without KWIN effects, NO GTK-QT-Engines) with GTK-programs, e.g. resizing GTK-windows, using open source xf86-video-ati-git driver...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB