You are not logged in.

#151 2009-09-30 22:47:50

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,816

Re: gnome unstable repository

OrangeRoot1000 wrote:

My point is even in various distros the results were always the same -- poor. Thats why at first I started using Ceni and then WICD. Because of said poor results my recommendations to those that would ask would be the above.

You can recommend them. I dumped network-manager myself. But one of the fundamental things in Arch is being as close to upstream as possible, and upstream uses network-manager. This distro doesn't tell you what to do. Choice, as mentioned above.

OrangeRoot1000 wrote:

I am gathering that the other questions I've asked. Either no one knows the answer. The right person hasn't come along yet or they were missed in others reading?

Just read back, not sure what you're referring to. That's the disadvantage of having posted so many times in the recent past.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#152 2009-10-01 01:18:18

OrangeRoot1000
Member
From: TN -- USA
Registered: 2008-08-07
Posts: 106
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

Okay since the questions are kinda buried. Here ya go.

Hey I saw a post I believe on the last page about notification panel. I am having the same problem. The application is there and working but the icon has disappeared. The gnome screen saver lock moving the mouse doesn't wake the box, just using the keyboard will. So far I love 2.28....

:: screen: requires pam
:: shadow: requires pam
:: vlock: requires pam


Seems to me we're going deeper into the rabbit hole.


@JGC

Now that devicekit is taking over for hal, should I be placing devicekit in /etc/rc.conf? What about Dbus? Right now Hal starts Dbus. Will that hold true for devicekit? I see gamin has replaced fam finally... yippeee..


@ngoonee
I don't mind recommending what works for me. My ultimate goal no matter what route someone chooses. It that it works well for them as solution to make them more productive and have fun. I'm not someone who comes in and says everything is broken. Because its not. I know JGC busts his ass as does the rest of whoever is on his team for Gnome stuffs. I've come to Arch to be a help not hinderance or naysayer. Overall from the past 2 years on and off I've liked what I've seen with Arch and its community.  So... happy hacking!

Last edited by OrangeRoot1000 (2009-10-01 01:23:46)

Offline

#153 2009-10-01 01:36:33

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 6,816

Re: gnome unstable repository

OrangeRoot1000 wrote:

Okay since the questions are kinda buried. Here ya go.

Hey I saw a post I believe on the last page about notification panel. I am having the same problem. The application is there and working but the icon has disappeared. The gnome screen saver lock moving the mouse doesn't wake the box, just using the keyboard will. So far I love 2.28....

I'd have to quote the dreaded 'works-for-me'....

OrangeRoot1000 wrote:

Now that devicekit is taking over for hal, should I be placing devicekit in /etc/rc.conf? What about Dbus? Right now Hal starts Dbus. Will that hold true for devicekit? I see gamin has replaced fam finally... yippeee..

JGC answered this earlier, that you just need to start dbus, devicekit would start automatically when needed (if I read correctly).

OrangeRoot1000 wrote:

I don't mind recommending what works for me. My ultimate goal no matter what route someone chooses. It that it works well for them as solution to make them more productive and have fun. I'm not someone who comes in and says everything is broken. Because its not. I know JGC busts his ass as does the rest of whoever is on his team for Gnome stuffs. I've come to Arch to be a help not hinderance or naysayer. Overall from the past 2 years on and off I've liked what I've seen with Arch and its community.  So... happy hacking!

Recommend all you want, but recommending that a USER should do something is different from recommending that JGC change the defaults in Arch from what upstream has.


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#154 2009-10-01 02:05:05

OrangeRoot1000
Member
From: TN -- USA
Registered: 2008-08-07
Posts: 106
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

My post was #101 on page 5. The other person having disappearing icons was on page 4 I believe.

The problem I have right now was that in my daemons for rc.conf hal is started, which at present starts dbus automatically but has no entry in the daemons line. If dbus is also placed in rc.conf with the hal service being there some weird stuff started happening. So now are we to totally take out the hal service from the daemons in rc.conf and replace it with just dbus which will automatically start devicekit... kind of like how hal starts dbus at current.

Offline

#155 2009-10-01 06:21:20

combuster
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-09-30
Posts: 711
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

About dissapearing icons in notification area: Its a gtk2 redraw problem - I saw bug reports on fedora rawhide and it was like it will be fixed in 2.17.1 but in the repos we have 2.18 and still have the same problem. Removing notification area applet and starting it again fixes the problem but it's not kind of a "fix" ;-)

Right now I have only hal in DAEMONS and I think I shouldn't just remove it as someone said earlier - many apps are still requiring it, and it is automaticaly starting up dbus afaik - so I shouldnt change anything there, right?

Offline

#156 2009-10-01 06:48:16

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: gnome unstable repository

combuster wrote:

About dissapearing icons in notification area: Its a gtk2 redraw problem - I saw bug reports on fedora rawhide and it was like it will be fixed in 2.17.1 but in the repos we have 2.18 and still have the same problem. Removing notification area applet and starting it again fixes the problem but it's not kind of a "fix" ;-)

Links please.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#157 2009-10-01 07:09:36

combuster
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-09-30
Posts: 711
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=510249

http://ftp.gnome.org/pub/gnome/sources/ … .7.changes

This seems to be the fixed version...

Last edited by combuster (2009-10-01 07:21:06)

Offline

#158 2009-10-01 13:17:14

Nepherte
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-09-09
Posts: 427
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

OrangeRoot1000 wrote:

My point is even in various distros the results were always the same -- poor. Thats why at first I started using Ceni and then WICD. Because of said poor results my recommendations to those that would ask would be the above.


I am gathering that the other questions I've asked. Either no one knows the answer. The right person hasn't come along yet or they were missed in others reading?

Perhaps your experience doesn't stroke with other people's.

Offline

#159 2009-10-01 14:48:02

OrangeRoot1000
Member
From: TN -- USA
Registered: 2008-08-07
Posts: 106
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

Well I'm fairly sure when everything is finally fully  detached from Hal we will all know. As a test I pulled out hal and plugged in Dbus. Xorg and gvfs really don't like that at present. My box totally locked up. I couldn't even R-E-I-S-U-B effectively.

At present I have Gtk 2.18.0-1 and I guess within the past couple of days and the updates I have made on my box right now its WFM.

Offline

#160 2009-10-01 15:16:50

syms
Member
Registered: 2008-12-25
Posts: 292

Re: gnome unstable repository

i confirm, when i run compiz metacity becames zombie and eats 99-100% my cpu, if i kill it everythings fine, but when i boot gnome again i need to kill it again
EDIT: theres a simple workaround. i always start compiz when i run gnome. so go to system > preferences > startup applications and create new script with command: killall metacity.

Last edited by syms (2009-10-01 15:22:00)

Offline

#161 2009-10-02 12:58:34

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: gnome unstable repository

I believe someone asked where the pkgbuilds are. I am not sure this was answered.
I just realized the gnome-unstable pkgbuilds lie right next to the extra ones.
For example :
http://repos.archlinux.org/viewvc.cgi/g … -unstable/


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#162 2009-10-03 13:42:22

syms
Member
Registered: 2008-12-25
Posts: 292

Re: gnome unstable repository

Theres one more problem to me. when i plug in memory or other external device in gnome nothing happens. i strongly believe that policykit doesnt allow me to mount media. but whats worst that there is no tool to configure polkit, so i cant give privileges to my user to mount media. so i went back to kdemod. i always thinked that kde has many problems, but now it looks better than gnome 2.28 to me.

Last edited by syms (2009-10-03 13:43:57)

Offline

#163 2009-10-03 15:48:52

ohdeno
Member
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 3

Re: gnome unstable repository

@syms, you are comparing stable KDE with experimental GNOME build.
For Policykit you have System → Preferences → Authorizations, does it help?

Offline

#164 2009-10-03 15:50:55

syms
Member
Registered: 2008-12-25
Posts: 292

Re: gnome unstable repository

ohdeno wrote:

@syms, you are comparing stable KDE with experimental GNOME build.
For Policykit you have System → Preferences → Authorizations, does it help?

Thats the problem, because theres no Authorizations entry in menu. Also, running polkit-gnome-authorization from terminal gives error that command not found. whats really weird is that polkit and polkit-gnome (or whatever its called) is installed.

Last edited by syms (2009-10-03 15:53:14)

Offline

#165 2009-10-03 19:28:05

combuster
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-09-30
Posts: 711
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

No, there is no problem running polkit-gnome-authorization, problem is that settings in it are not applied, but I expect it to be fixed as jgc said...

Also I'm still unable to load any dvd drives, something again went wrong...

Offline

#166 2009-10-03 20:33:50

syms
Member
Registered: 2008-12-25
Posts: 292

Re: gnome unstable repository

Then why i have this error message? Why my system cant find policykit? Sorry, but lately my arch linux acts very bad. I started to see all these problems about month ago. Two weeks ago i formatted my hdd and installed fresh new arch linux 09.08, i configured everything from scratch, but arch still works strangely. So arch linux became a crap, or my hardware became crap.

Offline

#167 2009-10-03 20:51:26

combuster
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-09-30
Posts: 711
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

Well this has nothing to do with stability of arch, you do have gnome-unstable enabled right? So it's not a surprise that arch is then unstable, lol...

I am using this period untill gnome 2.28 hits extra for testing xserver 1.7, mesa 7.7-devel and gnome-shell, after that I will reinstall arch and hopefully have a stable system like b4...

I get this when I load any dvd:

[ 1647.362915] sr 3:0:0:0: [sr0] unaligned transfer

In init3 mounting manually is working just fine...

Last edited by combuster (2009-10-04 05:31:15)

Offline

#168 2009-10-04 08:09:49

nTia89
Banned
From: varese, italy
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,230

Re: gnome unstable repository

where i can see packages in Gnome-Unstable
like for extra , ecc in Arch home page ?


+pc: custom | AMD Opteron 175 | nForce4 Ultra | 2GB ram DDR400 | nVidia 9800GT 1GB | ArchLinux x86_64 w/ openbox
+laptop: Apple | MacBook (2,1) | 2GB ram | Mac OS X 10.4 -> DIED
+ultrabook: Dell | XPS 13 (9343) | 8GB ram | 256GB ssd | FullHD display | Windows 8.1 64bit ArchLinux x86_64 w/ Gnome

Offline

#169 2009-10-04 16:01:09

nTia89
Banned
From: varese, italy
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,230

Re: gnome unstable repository

i've installed all gnome-unstable packages ....

and i've 2 problems:
- i miss many icons like in system menu
- in gdm brightness is broken


+pc: custom | AMD Opteron 175 | nForce4 Ultra | 2GB ram DDR400 | nVidia 9800GT 1GB | ArchLinux x86_64 w/ openbox
+laptop: Apple | MacBook (2,1) | 2GB ram | Mac OS X 10.4 -> DIED
+ultrabook: Dell | XPS 13 (9343) | 8GB ram | 256GB ssd | FullHD display | Windows 8.1 64bit ArchLinux x86_64 w/ Gnome

Offline

#170 2009-10-04 16:12:16

Thek586
Member
From: Fr
Registered: 2009-07-30
Posts: 10

Re: gnome unstable repository

nTia89 wrote:

i've installed all gnome-unstable packages ....

and i've 2 problems:
- i miss many icons like in system menu

Menu -> System -> preferences -> apparence -> interface tab -> Show icons in menu

I dont kow why it's disabled by default hmm

Offline

#171 2009-10-04 16:22:17

urandom
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2007-10-01
Posts: 19
Website

Re: gnome unstable repository

Thek586 wrote:

I dont kow why it's disabled by default hmm

Because gnome developers decided so.

http://library.gnome.org/misc/release-notes/2.28/

GNOME menus and buttons have been standardised across all applications to not display icons by default. Menu items with dynamic objects, including applications, files or bookmarks, and devices are the exception and can display an icon. This change will standardise the look and feel of menus and present a cleaner interface to users.

Offline

#172 2009-10-04 16:47:19

Thek586
Member
From: Fr
Registered: 2009-07-30
Posts: 10

Re: gnome unstable repository

Mkay.
I think it's stupid, menus are more friendly with icons.
But, clicking on a checkbox isn't a big deal BTW.

Other "problem", where the hell is gdmsetup ?
I have checked the repos, search on my all harddrive, can't find it.

Ok. It's seems to be an upstream issue
https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=587750

Last edited by Thek586 (2009-10-04 16:53:52)

Offline

#173 2009-10-04 18:57:34

Garns
Member
Registered: 2008-05-28
Posts: 239

Re: gnome unstable repository

Some background regarding the icon removal:

http://www.andreasn.se/blog/?p=103

looking at the screenshot I think it has some merit, but I am an xmonad user anyway smile .

Offline

#174 2009-10-04 19:00:08

nTia89
Banned
From: varese, italy
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,230

Re: gnome unstable repository

thanks very much Thek586
also for me it s less user friendly

i've another problem

why battery icon is old style?


+pc: custom | AMD Opteron 175 | nForce4 Ultra | 2GB ram DDR400 | nVidia 9800GT 1GB | ArchLinux x86_64 w/ openbox
+laptop: Apple | MacBook (2,1) | 2GB ram | Mac OS X 10.4 -> DIED
+ultrabook: Dell | XPS 13 (9343) | 8GB ram | 256GB ssd | FullHD display | Windows 8.1 64bit ArchLinux x86_64 w/ Gnome

Offline

#175 2009-10-04 19:04:00

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: gnome unstable repository

Garns wrote:

Some background regarding the icon removal:

http://www.andreasn.se/blog/?p=103

looking at the screenshot I think it has some merit, but I am an xmonad user anyway smile .

The problem is that for the Apps / Shortcuts / System menus, if icons are enabled, icons are everywhere. If icons are disabled, icons are nearly everywhere except in a few places. That looks ugly.
I would prefer to have no icons at all rather than something in between.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB