You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-28 07:23:19

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Install password in 0.7 arch install(solved!)

Downloaded the arch 0.7 base .iso and managed to load xorg and kde.

While in x, I forgot to install the password.

Now, the arch log-in appears on reboot and I have no password.

I have tried the menu items to no avail.

Whazzup?  How to install passwd without X which doesn't show drom the log-in menu.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Online

#2 2005-01-28 08:20:15

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Install password in 0.7 arch install(solved!)

if you have no password, then hit return when prompted for one.
then use passwd to set a password. It is in the install doc.

Is this your question? I was having a little bit of a hard time understanding exactly your problem.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2005-01-28 15:19:32

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Install password in 0.7 arch install(solved!)

Cactus;

Thanks for reply.

I have performed the"return" keystroke and obtained looping back to log-in prompt window.

I seem to have a condition which isn't normal.

If you are confused with my post...so am I!

The menu I refer to is on the lower right hand corner of the log-in window and allows various modes of system start-up.

I used it previously in arch versions to establish X log-in wherein the password could be established.  Then Kde coulkd be re-initiated and normal log-in proceed.

That method does not work with xorg it seems.

I attempted to get Kde from xorg X display with  ..."exec startkde" and it didn't start kde.

I then entered kdm in....rc.conf.....rebooted.

The log-in prompt window then appeared and I was unabl;e to re-establish X to correct the deficiency of no password.

I hope this helps to understand the problem.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Online

#4 2005-01-28 15:35:43

wdemoss
Member
From: WV - USA
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 222

Re: Install password in 0.7 arch install(solved!)

From you description I assume your talking about trying to login using a login manager. When you get to the login manager hit CTRL-ALT-F1 to get to the console, then at the login prompt type in your username and hit ENTER for the password (which should work if no password was set). then use passwd at the command line to set the password. Hit CTRL-ALT-F7 to get back the the login manager.

If that doesn't work you can boot up with the install cd, mount your root partion and edit [mount-point]/etc/shadow and delete the second field in the line for you user which will reset your password to nothing. For example I would change

username:###############:12662:0:99999:7:::

to

username::12662:0:99999:7:::

you may also have to remove the "x" in the second field for you user in [mount-point]/etc/passwd also

remove the cd and reboot.

hth,
-wd


Hobbes : Shouldn't we read the instructions?
Calvin : Do I look like a sissy?

Offline

#5 2005-01-28 16:31:00

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Install password in 0.7 arch install(solved!)

wdemoss;

Your procedure ...Ctl-alt-del permitted access to console and the password was properly entered.  Ctl-alt-f7 returned my system to the log-in prompt.

Entry of the password in this prompt window successfully started Kde and returned the system to normal display.

This post may help another user facing the same dilemma.

Thanks for the detailed response. big_smile.........

I am back on with arch 0.7 install..........................


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB