You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-29 16:17:03

bostoniman
Member
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 213
Website

NTFS Partition Mounting

I wasn't sure where to ask this, so I figured the Newbie Corner was probably the best option.

I am trying to mount my NTFS partition, and I'm not sure how to do it.  How do you do this?

Offline

#2 2005-01-29 16:22:42

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,017

Re: NTFS Partition Mounting

Most probably: mount -t ntfs mount_device mount_point (for example mount -t ntfs /dev/discs/disc0/part1 /mnt/win). Or an appropriate entry in fstab. It'd all be read only though. To write you could try CaptiveNTFS.

Cheers,

lucke

ps. Have never used ntfs, so all of this is theoretical from my side :-)

Offline

#3 2005-01-29 17:22:12

bostoniman
Member
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 213
Website

Re: NTFS Partition Mounting

I tried installing Captive NTFS before, but didn't have any luck.  I'll give it another shot though.  Thanks.

Offline

#4 2005-01-29 17:28:07

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,017

Re: NTFS Partition Mounting

This could help you: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=5196 (if you haven't found that yet)

Offline

#5 2005-01-29 22:03:27

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: NTFS Partition Mounting

Here is my fstab for windows ntfs that I copied out of my suse system -Its worked fine for me in Arch. Be sure to create a folder /windows/C (you dont need to have the C) under the root (/) folder so it has a place to store it, other wise it'll never work.

/dev/discs/discX/partY /windows/C   ntfs ro,users,gid=users,umask=0002

good luck!

Offline

#6 2005-01-30 10:22:37

cmp
Member
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 350

Re: NTFS Partition Mounting

why not use /mnt/windows ? - that seems much more right to me.

Offline

#7 2005-01-30 12:00:07

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: NTFS Partition Mounting

Either way works fine, just a matter of personal preference. I like it in root because its always mounted by default unlike the others and there's one less step to get to it. It's suse's default setup if it make you feel anybetter.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB