You are not logged in.

#101 2009-10-13 22:41:32

eschew
Member
Registered: 2009-10-13
Posts: 13

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Hm...now experiencing a slightly different flavor of the earlier segfault with 0.9.15.

Backtrace:

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x0804be42 in focus_win (win=0x8a69fc0) at scrotwm.c:1331
1331        win->ws->focus = win;
#0  0x0804be42 in focus_win (win=0x8a69fc0) at scrotwm.c:1331
#1  0x0804c069 in switchws (r=0x8a41fc0, args=0x805751c) at scrotwm.c:1403
#2  0x0805183b in keypress (e=0xbfaeeacc) at scrotwm.c:3669
#3  0x08053399 in main (argc=1, argv=0xbfaefc74) at scrotwm.c:4434

Offline

#102 2009-10-14 02:24:03

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

I ran into that one and I am investigating it.  It really doesn't make much sense yet ;-)

Can you give me an indication of what you were doing and had open?

Last edited by marco_p (2009-10-14 02:26:22)

Offline

#103 2009-10-14 14:44:20

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Ok I found a pretty stupid bug.  Please try: http://www.peereboom.us/scrotwm/snapsho … 0.9.16.tgz

Offline

#104 2009-10-15 04:49:41

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Oof I found the real issue; it is a use after free bug.  I have a workaround diff for it.  Email me if you want to try it.  Fix is probably days away; it is a rather complex interaction bug that stemmed from eliminating a bunch of events.  So in my effort to speed up scrotwm I didn't realize I was causing some issues.  Oops!

Thanks everyone for your very helpful back traces and testing help.

Offline

#105 2009-10-16 05:24:57

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

phew that was a lot of chance!  but i got http://www.peereboom.us/scrotwm/snapsho … 0.9.17.tgz for your testing pleasure.  I still have all the cranky tests in there but I have not been able to hit any of them.  Please test and report back.

Appreciated :-)

Offline

#106 2009-10-16 14:20:21

Gentooer
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 5

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

0.9.17 seems to fix a few crashes I was having with earlier versions. smile

One minor thing I have noticed is that the layout indicator in the status bar is not being updated when I change layouts, like from vertical to horizontal.  It is only updated after switching workspaces.

Offline

#107 2009-10-16 17:00:47

eschew
Member
Registered: 2009-10-13
Posts: 13

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Gentooer wrote:

0.9.17 seems to fix a few crashes I was having with earlier versions. smile

Yep, for me too. I haven't been able to trigger any of the earlier crashes. smile

Offline

#108 2009-10-16 18:28:09

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Hmmm do you run baraction.sh?

It works for me but is delayed by the polling interval of baraction.  I guess I should make that a little smarter.

Offline

#109 2009-10-17 11:44:03

Gentooer
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 5

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

marco_p wrote:

Hmmm do you run baraction.sh?

It works for me but is delayed by the polling interval of baraction.  I guess I should make that a little smarter.

Ok, yeah it seems bar_delay was commented out in my config.  Setting it to "1" forces the update, just a bit delayed as you mentioned.

Offline

#110 2009-10-17 15:07:38

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

I'll make that better once i work through the focus issues again.

Offline

#111 2009-10-19 11:39:13

Gentooer
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 5

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

I've decided to just get rid of the status bar (I use xosd for any notifications), so I almost have fullscreen.  I don't see any way to disable the window border though.  Is it possible to just disable it for the fullscreen layout, and keep it for veritcal/horizontal layout?  I suppose I could just turn the border black for active windows, but then I'm missing a pixel on each side.

I usually run my desktop with a 800x600 LED projector, so I need every pixel I can get! smile

Offline

#112 2009-10-20 12:04:36

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

no, but that should be easy enough.  I still haven't figured out the focus issues yet.

Offline

#113 2009-10-20 12:28:32

grey
Member
From: Europe
Registered: 2007-08-23
Posts: 679

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Marco: thanks for this great piece of software. I cannot be of much help testing it, because I'm running it in a production environment, and also because I'm running it on kernel 2.6.5, so I had to add/modify some of the queue.h macros.
I'm using it as the window manager of a VNC session that I connect to over a long and often slow VPN tunnel, and it is just so much faster on that type of connection than anything else I've tried.


Good ideas do not need lots of lies told about them in order to gain public acceptance.

Offline

#114 2009-10-20 23:22:28

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

I have been debating using the OpenBSD queue.h macros on Linux.  Would make y'alls life much simpler.

Offline

#115 2009-10-20 23:35:35

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

New snap at: http://www.peereboom.us/scrotwm/snapsho … 0.9.18.tgz

Please keep those test reports coming.  This fixes most focus nits.  Still some work to be done in max stack.

Offline

#116 2009-10-22 01:29:09

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 646
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Switched my main system to Scrotwm, and am using it a lot heavier.  No bugs have been hit.

Two questions regarding keybindings.

Is there an action along the lines of "toggle workspaces"?  Basically, what control+a does in screen.  It seems like an odd omission, being screen's simplest/most used combo.

Can multiple bindings be bound to the same action?  For programs, this can be faked with multiple entries.  I am guessing this is not even remotely possible for the built in actions.

Offline

#117 2009-10-22 02:44:50

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

M-1 through M-0 switch workspaces.  Isn't that you are after?

No, one key-combo = one action

Offline

#118 2009-10-22 03:50:43

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 646
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

> M-1 through M-0 switch workspaces.  Isn't that you are after?

No, not really.  I mean like the "previous channel" button on TV remotes, letting you swap between two without having to remember the two numbers or which of the two you are currently looking at.

Bah, I could have sworn there was once something in swm_screen that held the history.  Nevermind then, it would be an extra piece of state to track.

Offline

#119 2009-10-23 01:58:33

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Oh like an alt-tab deal?

Don't have that but that is simple enough to implement.  I'll add it to the list.

Offline

#120 2009-10-24 15:07:59

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 646
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

marco_p wrote:

No, one key-combo = one action

I was reviewing my tweaks to the stock config file, and I noticed you actually can have two key combos for one action.  I am not sure how we both managed to miss this, but by default MOD+Tab/j and Mod+Shift+Tab/k are both bound to the same actions, focus_next and focus_prev.

Hooray.  Now I can have homerow and mousing version of each action.

Offline

#121 2009-10-24 15:45:17

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

oh I misunderstood your question.  Yeah you can do that.

Meanwhile I put out a new snap with a whole bunch of focus nits fixed.

http://www.peereboom.us/scrotwm/snapsho … 0.9.19.tgz

Offline

#122 2009-10-24 20:58:00

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 646
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

New version is working good.  Fullscreen mode is twice as useful as before.

In related news, I am now maintaining the Arch package.

Offline

#123 2009-10-24 22:19:53

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 646
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

This one is pretty random.  When binding programs, compound commands are not supported.

program[foo] = bar; baz

only launches bar.  It is a minor issue that can be faked with external shell scripts, but might be worth documenting.

Offline

#124 2009-10-25 00:20:25

marco_p
Member
Registered: 2009-02-09
Posts: 81

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

I don't see that as an issue so shell scripts it is for you...

I am not sure what to document; currently it is defined as name = value, not name = value = [; value].

Offline

#125 2009-10-25 01:50:56

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 646
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

The impression provided is that "value" will be executed in a shell, and that any valid one liner will work.  Pay no attention to this, Scrotwm is almost perfect, I am just picking nits out of beta tester habit.

Right now I am trying to chase down a more serious lockup.  If you quit Opera normally (File -> Quit), sometimes it goes fine, sometimes Scrotwm ignores all keyboard input.  The mouse still moves, I can still switch to framebuffer consoles, and Control+Alt+Backspace still kills X.  This does not seem to happen if a "kill -15" is sent to Opera.  Would a backtrace help here?

edit:  updating Opera fixed it?

Last edited by keenerd (2009-10-25 07:56:58)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB