You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-31 19:53:11

marxav
Member
From: Gatineau, PQ, Canada
Registered: 2006-09-24
Posts: 386

Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

As it says, my mouse suddenly stopped answering when I click.  Mouse works fine on any other program.

Offline

#2 2009-11-02 00:33:01

Vamp898
Member
From: ドイツではまだ住んでいる
Registered: 2009-01-03
Posts: 866
Website

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

move your .wesnoth folder and see what happens

Offline

#3 2009-11-02 01:00:18

marxav
Member
From: Gatineau, PQ, Canada
Registered: 2006-09-24
Posts: 386

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

Vamp898, I did that, and no change except the initial size of the window.  I have no clue why the mouse is not answering to clicks.  When I hover a button, it changes color though.  But clicking does nothing.

Offline

#4 2009-11-02 03:42:05

Vamp898
Member
From: ドイツではまだ住んでいる
Registered: 2009-01-03
Posts: 866
Website

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

Does wesnoth spits out anything when you start it over a Terminal?

What mouse do you use? Do you have a synaptics touchpad or something else

Offline

#5 2009-11-02 17:29:03

marxav
Member
From: Gatineau, PQ, Canada
Registered: 2006-09-24
Posts: 386

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

I am using a wireless mouse.  Thinking it could be it, I triad a wired one, no success.  I have no touchpad.
I also did uninstall/install of wesnoth.
The only output from terminal had something to do with ALSA underrun (I am not at my computer at the moment).  But the sound is working fine.  I don't think ALSA has anything to do.
I can navigates the buttons with keyboard and hiting enter will action them.

Offline

#6 2009-11-02 20:33:43

spektre
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 31

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

I have the exact same bug, but it worked fine before I did an update earlier today.
I use the touchpad on my eee, no wired nor wireless mouse, don't think that has anything to do with it.

Last edited by spektre (2009-11-02 20:34:54)

Offline

#7 2009-11-02 22:35:59

marxav
Member
From: Gatineau, PQ, Canada
Registered: 2006-09-24
Posts: 386

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

spektre wrote:

I have the exact same bug, but it worked fine before I did an update earlier today.
I use the touchpad on my eee, no wired nor wireless mouse, don't think that has anything to do with it.

Ah me too actually I did an upgrade and looking at pacman log I upgraded those packages:
[2009-10-31 13:26] upgraded bash (4.0.033-1 -> 4.0.035-1)
[2009-10-31 13:26] upgraded enca (1.11-1 -> 1.12-1)
[2009-10-31 13:26] upgraded xulrunner (1.9.1.3-2 -> 1.9.1.4-1)
[2009-10-31 13:26] upgraded firefox (3.5.3-1 -> 3.5.4-1)
[2009-10-31 13:26] upgraded gd (2.0.35-2 -> 2.0.36RC1-1)
[2009-10-31 13:26] upgraded kernel-headers (2.6.31.4-1 -> 2.6.31.4-2)
[2009-10-31 13:26] upgraded lib32-glibc (2.10.1-4 -> 2.10.1-5)
[2009-10-31 13:26] upgraded openssh (5.3p1-1 -> 5.3p1-2)
[2009-10-31 13:26] Updating font cache... done.
[2009-10-31 13:26] installed ttf-freefont (20090104-2)
[2009-10-31 13:26] upgraded vlc (1.0.2-3 -> 1.0.2-5)

Last edited by marxav (2009-11-02 22:37:20)

Offline

#8 2009-11-02 22:40:52

chpln
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2009-09-17
Posts: 361

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

I can't reproduce the issue here, but see if downgrading to sdl-1.2.13-3 solves it.

Offline

#9 2009-11-02 22:46:58

marxav
Member
From: Gatineau, PQ, Canada
Registered: 2006-09-24
Posts: 386

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

chpln wrote:

I can't reproduce the issue here, but see if downgrading to sdl-1.2.13-3 solves it.

Outstanding!  That was the problem.

Offline

#10 2009-11-03 08:41:00

barto
Member
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 88

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

Same issue here, but if I Ctrl-F to fullscreen, the mouse behaves as usual.

(wesnoth 1.6.5-1, sdl 1.2.14-1)

Last edited by barto (2009-11-03 08:45:04)


“First principle, Clarice. Simplicity” – Dr. Hannibal Lecter

Offline

#11 2009-11-05 01:33:43

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,247

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

Just installed wesnoth to try it out, same problem. Bug in sdl package?


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#12 2009-11-05 07:41:27

Hohoho
Member
Registered: 2007-06-23
Posts: 222

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

Yep, same bug here.

Offline

#13 2009-11-05 11:23:27

Pox
Member
From: Melbourne, AU
Registered: 2007-10-04
Posts: 66

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

I've had the same issue here for a while - works in fullscreen, but not windowed.  Interestingly, I can navigate to the options panel with the keyboard, and in there the checkboxes work fine, so it's only buttons.

Downgrade to sdl1.2.13-3 fixed it.  For those foolish people like me who clear out their pacman cache, here it is: http://arm.kh.nu/old/extra/os/i686/sdl- … pkg.tar.gz

Offline

#14 2009-11-05 14:15:56

ngoonee
Forum Fellow
From: Between Thailand and Singapore
Registered: 2009-03-17
Posts: 7,247

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

The PKGBUILD for 1.2.13 and 1.2.14 doesn't seem very different, suggesting its an up-stream problem. Anyone wants to do a proper bug-report (preferably someone who's actually registered over at wesnoth's forums).


Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

Offline

#15 2009-11-15 14:24:34

xt28
Member
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 10

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

I submitted this bug upstream: https://gna.org/bugs/index.php?14770. (I am not registered over at wesnoth's forums or bug tracker, though.)

Offline

#16 2009-11-16 09:02:25

xt28
Member
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 10

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

Here's the reaction on the Wesnoth bug tracker: "Until the SDL folks fix this, we're going to have to specify 1.2.13 to packagers."

Can someone submit this upstream to sdl? (http://bugzilla.libsdl.org/) You need to be registered to submit bugs there.

Offline

#17 2009-11-29 18:20:41

openess
Member
From: sweden
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 24
Website

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

I saw it was filed at libsdl's bugzilla (http://bugzilla.libsdl.org/show_bug.cgi?id=894). For me both wesnoth and most Flash apps for firefox broke the same way. I temporarily solved the issue by holding my right mouse button. The left button works as long as I hold the right one, both in firefox and wesnoth. Great fix with the fullscreen for wesnoth.


Happy computergeek gaming girl. And those are analog games, mind you, not analog computers though.

Offline

#18 2009-12-07 05:23:57

bakerct
Member
Registered: 2009-10-24
Posts: 2

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

I am running wesnoth 1.6.5 and sdl 1.2.14 straight from the repos and have no problems in fullscreen or windowed mode. Is there any info about my system I can give to help narrow down the problem?

Offline

#19 2009-12-07 07:06:41

combuster
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-09-30
Posts: 711
Website

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

I had the same problem, but I run wesnoth fullscreen anyway. However I have this strange trips with wesnoth like panel from the right side suddenly moves to the center of the screen but when I scroll anywhere it moves back into position, or map gets sliced up into two tiles and again when scrolling it comes back to normal... Dunno why...

Offline

#20 2010-02-20 15:35:13

sergi34
Member
Registered: 2010-01-20
Posts: 24

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

same problem here. Anyway I use full screen or windowed, can't click with mouse.
I have a standard PS/2 logitech mouse, and wesnoth is the only program I have this problem.

Do I have to downgrade to sdl 1.2.13-3 as it is said here?

Offline

#21 2010-03-20 20:57:34

farvardin
Member
Registered: 2008-09-03
Posts: 120
Website

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

I have the bug with the latest Wesnoth release, but only in windowed mode, when I'm full screen the mouse is working.

Offline

#22 2010-05-07 18:47:44

agomezh
Member
Registered: 2009-12-17
Posts: 19

Re: Wesnoth and mouse clicking problem

It is funny, if I right click and then left click it clicks even when it is not in fullscreen. I'm not using Arch in this machine, it is Ubuntu.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB