You are not logged in.

#1 2009-06-25 01:28:14

scio
Member
From: Buffalo, NY
Registered: 2008-08-05
Posts: 366

[SOLVED] GRUB2 problems

Last night I decide to try out GRUB2.

Of course when I tried to install I got this message:

Embedding area is not present at all!

After some quick searching it looks like that error message has been replaced with these:

if (! strcmp (dest_partmap, "pc_partition_map"))
   grub_util_warn ("This msdos-style partition label has no post-MBR gap; embedding won't be possible!");
else
   grub_util_warn ("This GPT partition label has no BIOS Boot Partition; embedding won't be possible!");

in /trunk/grub2/util/i386/pc/grub-setup.c

However, I still don't know how to fix this.  My /boot is /dev/sda1 and is ext2 if that helps.  Boot loaders are one thing I never learned much about.

Anyone have ideas?

Last edited by scio (2009-11-12 20:04:51)

Offline

#2 2009-07-08 18:41:57

mxr
Member
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] GRUB2 problems

The newer releases of GRUB2 need a special partition to store the core.img (this is the kernel image of grub + necessary modules for reading your filesystem). Former releases used the so called 62 block gap between the mbr (block 1) an the first partition block 63. Since newer system might use the newer and better gpt labeling instead of the old mbr labeling (aka msdos disk label) Grub stores its data in this special partition.

Usually this partition should be the first one an it should be flaged with the bios_grub flag. (parted 1 set bios_grub on)
unfortunately arch linux doesn't ship parted with bios_grub flag support. (But support can be found if you built parted from git ... as far as i know there is no such PKGBUILD in AUR, so you are alone)

Offline

#3 2009-07-15 22:57:59

scio
Member
From: Buffalo, NY
Registered: 2008-08-05
Posts: 366

Re: [SOLVED] GRUB2 problems

Wow, I totally missed this reply before.  Thanks, I had a feeling that might be the problem and was hoping to avoid a reformat.

Offline

#4 2009-11-12 18:39:47

MindTooth
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2008-11-11
Posts: 331

Re: [SOLVED] GRUB2 problems

So if I use VMware, I need to use parted to alter the disk?

Birger smile

Offline

#5 2009-11-12 20:05:49

scio
Member
From: Buffalo, NY
Registered: 2008-08-05
Posts: 366

Re: [SOLVED] GRUB2 problems

Not sure what you mean, if you formatted the disk and did not leave any space at the start (or in a flagged partition) then yes you do.

Offline

#6 2009-11-12 20:22:33

MindTooth
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2008-11-11
Posts: 331

Re: [SOLVED] GRUB2 problems

I use the automatic install option. So I didn't decide any.

Birger smile

Offline

#7 2010-11-19 01:45:21

B15HOP
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-02-10
Posts: 131

Re: [SOLVED] GRUB2 problems


"The ecological crisis is a moral issue."

Offline

#8 2010-11-19 16:44:34

skodabenz
Banned
From: Tamilnadu, India
Registered: 2010-04-11
Posts: 382

Re: [SOLVED] GRUB2 problems

What partition table do you use MBR (or msdos disklabel) or GPT? If MBR you need the 63-sectors gap after 1st 512 MBR region, if GPT you need a 1 MB BIOS Boot Partition (bios_grub flag in GNU Parted).


My new forum user/nick name is "the.ridikulus.rat" .

Offline

#9 2010-11-22 17:18:26

litemotiv
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 5,026

Re: [SOLVED] GRUB2 problems

B15HOP, this thread was marked solved by the topicstarter more than a year ago. If the proposed solutions don't work for you, start a new thread and link to this one instead.

Please don't necrobump, see: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … Bumping.27

Closing.


ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB