You are not logged in.

#1 2009-11-13 05:55:17

jimlikessweets
Member
Registered: 2009-05-28
Posts: 35

i need some help with grub

hi im using an eee1000ha and i want to install and use the kernel created by toofish. in the arch wiki it tells me how to. so i followed the instructions verbatim. however, when i rebooted the computer to try it out, it tells me something along the lines of "the file cannot be found". im assuming my problem is that i don't have the same partitions as the example was written for. i've messed around with it and now im a bit frustrated can someone tell me how to write the proper thing in /boot/grub/menu.lst?

here are my partitions:

 sda1 windows
sda2 ext2 /boot
sda3 ext2 /

Last edited by jimlikessweets (2009-11-13 05:57:37)

Offline

#2 2009-11-13 07:54:09

phex
Member
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 2

Re: i need some help with grub

Hi!

Could you please post your menu.lst, or at least the relevant excerpt? Also, a more details on the error message would help.

Offline

#3 2009-11-13 13:36:14

Surgat_
Member
Registered: 2007-08-08
Posts: 317

Re: i need some help with grub

My partition layout is pretty similar to yours, so this should do the trick. Replace the lines below the one that starts with color (or default if you don't have a color one) with these:

# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux
root   (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda3 ro   <- You may want to add some more parameters to the kernel line, I have "quiet vga=773"
initrd /kernel26.img

# (1) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux Fallback
root   (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda3 ro
initrd /kernel26-fallback.img

# (2) Windows
title Windows
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1

Offline

#4 2009-11-13 17:33:38

jimlikessweets
Member
Registered: 2009-05-28
Posts: 35

Re: i need some help with grub

phex wrote:

Hi!

Could you please post your menu.lst, or at least the relevant excerpt? Also, a more details on the error message would help.

the last one is the eee kernel that i've been trying to get working

# Config file for GRUB - The GNU GRand Unified Bootloader
# /boot/grub/menu.lst

# DEVICE NAME CONVERSIONS 
#
#  Linux           Grub
# -------------------------
#  /dev/fd0        (fd0)
#  /dev/sda        (hd0)
#  /dev/sdb2       (hd1,1)
#  /dev/sda3       (hd0,2)
#

#  FRAMEBUFFER RESOLUTION SETTINGS
#     +-------------------------------------------------+
#          | 640x480    800x600    1024x768   1280x1024
#      ----+--------------------------------------------
#      256 | 0x301=769  0x303=771  0x305=773   0x307=775
#      32K | 0x310=784  0x313=787  0x316=790   0x319=793
#      64K | 0x311=785  0x314=788  0x317=791   0x31A=794
#      16M | 0x312=786  0x315=789  0x318=792   0x31B=795
#     +-------------------------------------------------+
#  for more details and different resolutions see
#  http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GRUB#Framebuffer_Resolution 

# general configuration:
timeout   5
default   0
color light-blue/black light-cyan/blue

# boot sections follow
# each is implicitly numbered from 0 in the order of appearance below
#
# TIP: If you want a 1024x768 framebuffer, add "vga=773" to your kernel line.
#
#-*

# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux
root   (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/58666552-99b0-4db6-b43d-da68d7d6c42f ro
initrd /kernel26.img

# (1) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux Fallback
root   (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/58666552-99b0-4db6-b43d-da68d7d6c42f ro
initrd /kernel26-fallback.img

# (2) Windows
title Windows
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1

# (3) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux EEE kernel
root  (hd0,1)
kernel  /boot/vmlinuzeee root=/dev/sda3 ro

Offline

#5 2009-11-13 21:04:07

tavianator
Member
From: Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-08-21
Posts: 858
Website

Re: i need some help with grub

The last item should likely look like this:

# (3) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux EEE kernel
root  (hd0,1)
kernel  /vmlinuzeee root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/58666552-99b0-4db6-b43d-da68d7d6c42f ro

Changes: got rid of /boot on the kernel line, because it looks like you are using a separate boot partition (so paths are relative to /boot already), and changed the root= option to match the above kernels.

Offline

#6 2009-11-13 21:53:44

grey
Member
From: Europe
Registered: 2007-08-23
Posts: 679

Re: i need some help with grub

Don't you need an initrd file as well, or can you boot with just the kernel line?


Good ideas do not need lots of lies told about them in order to gain public acceptance.

Offline

#7 2009-11-13 22:08:59

tavianator
Member
From: Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-08-21
Posts: 858
Website

Re: i need some help with grub

grey wrote:

Don't you need an initrd file as well, or can you boot with just the kernel line?

This kernel is compiled specially, with all needed modules for the eee built-in.  See http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Eee … m-M_kernel

Offline

#8 2009-11-15 04:55:04

jimlikessweets
Member
Registered: 2009-05-28
Posts: 35

Re: i need some help with grub

tavianator wrote:

The last item should likely look like this:

# (3) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux EEE kernel
root  (hd0,1)
kernel  /vmlinuzeee root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/58666552-99b0-4db6-b43d-da68d7d6c42f ro

Changes: got rid of /boot on the kernel line, because it looks like you are using a separate boot partition (so paths are relative to /boot already), and changed the root= option to match the above kernels.

i just did this. it booted, but i get a kernel panic.

kernel panic -not syncing: vfs: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)

what now?

Last edited by jimlikessweets (2009-11-15 04:56:56)

Offline

#9 2009-11-15 05:26:12

Ranguvar
Member
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 2,545

Re: i need some help with grub

If you did exactly that, you're likely missing an initrd line.

initrd  /kernel26.img  (or whatever you're using)

Offline

#10 2009-11-15 07:20:10

tavianator
Member
From: Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-08-21
Posts: 858
Website

Re: i need some help with grub

Ranguvar wrote:

If you did exactly that, you're likely missing an initrd line.

initrd  /kernel26.img  (or whatever you're using)

tavianator wrote:
grey wrote:

Don't you need an initrd file as well, or can you boot with just the kernel line?

This kernel is compiled specially, with all needed modules for the eee built-in.  See http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Eee … m-M_kernel

OP: Try replacing the last line of menu.lst with "kernel /vmlinuzeee root=/dev/sda3 ro" -- i.e. use an explicit partition instead of a UUID.  I realize I suggested using UUID in the first place, but I'm not sure that kernel supports it based on your error message.

Offline

#11 2009-11-15 17:20:14

jimlikessweets
Member
Registered: 2009-05-28
Posts: 35

Re: i need some help with grub

OP: Try replacing the last line of menu.lst with "kernel /vmlinuzeee root=/dev/sda3 ro" -- i.e. use an explicit partition instead of a UUID.  I realize I suggested using UUID in the first place, but I'm not sure that kernel supports it based on your error message.

could you please say this in a step-by-step fasion? im still new to this stuff... hmm

Offline

#12 2009-11-15 19:49:16

tavianator
Member
From: Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-08-21
Posts: 858
Website

Re: i need some help with grub

Use this for your last menu.lst entry instead:

# (3) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux EEE kernel
root  (hd0,1)
kernel  /vmlinuzeee root=/dev/sda3 ro

Offline

#13 2009-11-16 04:22:18

jimlikessweets
Member
Registered: 2009-05-28
Posts: 35

Re: i need some help with grub

tavianator wrote:

Use this for your last menu.lst entry instead:

# (3) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux EEE kernel
root  (hd0,1)
kernel  /vmlinuzeee root=/dev/sda3 ro

works like a charm. thanks a lot for your help.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB