You are not logged in.

#1 2009-11-19 01:52:32

raptir
Member
Registered: 2009-09-16
Posts: 31

Incredible lag with Compiz on Eee PC

I know the Eee PC isn't a powerhouse, however I've talked to other people on the Eee user forums and they all say that Compiz runs decently for them under Ubuntu.

I'm currently using Arch with Xfce, still using Xfwm. I installed Compiz, but as soon as I start Compiz up my computer slows to a crawl. If I hover over an auto-hid panel, or right click on the desktop, it takes 15-20 seconds to draw the panel/menu. I have the Eee 1000, with the Intel Graphics 950 and a 1.6GHz Atom processor. I've tried generating an xorg.conf and adding these changes:

[urlhttp://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Composite#Intel_drivers][/url]

...but it still runs sluggishly. And idea what could be going wrong, or what I could change to get it working?

Offline

#2 2009-11-19 02:39:06

Wittfella
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-05-27
Posts: 462

Re: Incredible lag with Compiz on Eee PC

Mayby try it without an xorg.conf.  I just recently tried compiz on my 900 and it works wonderfully as a standalone WM.

Offline

#3 2009-11-19 02:43:20

raptir
Member
Registered: 2009-09-16
Posts: 31

Re: Incredible lag with Compiz on Eee PC

I tried it without an xorg.conf and had the same problem, I didn't try it with an xorg.conf until after.

Offline

#4 2009-11-19 06:14:08

kgas
Member
From: Qatar
Registered: 2008-11-08
Posts: 718

Re: Incredible lag with Compiz on Eee PC

try with indirect rendering option.

Offline

#5 2009-11-19 07:29:13

raptir
Member
Registered: 2009-09-16
Posts: 31

Re: Incredible lag with Compiz on Eee PC

How would I do that? Would I put this:

<property name="Client0_Command" type="array">
   <value type="string" value="compiz"/>
   <value type="string" value="ccp"/>
   <value type="string" value="--indirect-rendering"/>
 </property>

in my xfce4-session file?

Offline

#6 2009-11-19 08:19:14

goran'agar
Member
From: Nothern Italy
Registered: 2009-05-19
Posts: 167

Re: Incredible lag with Compiz on Eee PC

Wittfella wrote:

Mayby try it without an xorg.conf.  I just recently tried compiz on my 900 and it works wonderfully as a standalone WM.

Same for me. eeepc900 and compiz standalone with wobbly windows and many windows plugins active (also some unsupported from AUR) and emerald as decorator. No xorg.conf.

It's much faster than previous WM I tried before on the same hardware (xfce and openbox).

By the way, xfce has its own compositor integrated. Why using compiz with it?


Sony Vaio VPCM13M1E  - Arch Linux - ZFS - Syslinux - XFCE .
Samsung SGS - CM10.1 - Semaphore 2.8.0 .

Offline

#7 2009-11-19 15:32:30

raptir
Member
Registered: 2009-09-16
Posts: 31

Re: Incredible lag with Compiz on Eee PC

goran'agar wrote:

By the way, xfce has its own compositor integrated. Why using compiz with it?

There are a couple plugins that I'd like to use to help with the small screen size (Shelf or Wall) that don't seem to have an equivalent in Xfwm.

I might just give up, as Xfce has very few windows that hang over the edge significantly. Does everyone that says they have it working run it with indirect rendering? And does anyone know how I'd go about doing that when I replace it for Xfwm?

Offline

#8 2009-11-19 19:56:26

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: Incredible lag with Compiz on Eee PC

Have you tried setting KMS on?
That worked for me and compiz runs very fine.

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Int … Setting.29


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#9 2009-11-20 06:37:04

raptir
Member
Registered: 2009-09-16
Posts: 31

Re: Incredible lag with Compiz on Eee PC

Indirect rendering using what I posted seems to work, but it's still a bit sluggish. It's certainly reasonably fast still, but neither Shelf nor Wall worked quite how I wanted them to, so i guess I'll stick to Xfwm for the faster performance.

Offline

#10 2009-11-22 09:43:03

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: Incredible lag with Compiz on Eee PC

Cdh wrote:

Have you tried setting KMS on?
That worked for me and compiz runs very fine.

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Int … Setting.29


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB