You are not logged in.

#1 2005-02-11 16:26:08

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Where's my bash man pages at?

I don't know what's going on here, and I don't know where I should post this.

I recently tried a "man bash", and the man pages for bash are gone.  They are not in "/usr/man/man1" like they should be, and at one time were.

Here's the strange thing:

[skoal@morpheus man1]$ pacman -Qs bash 
local/bash 3.0-4
    The GNU Bourne Again shell

I just resynced my ABS, and I only have the 3.0-3 PKGBUILD.  When I rebuilt that version in my abs tree, the man pages are clearly there in "/usr/man/man1".

* How do I have a more recent version of "bash" than what's synced in my ABS tree?  Secondly, why does that newer version not supply the basic man page for it?

Offline

#2 2005-02-11 21:12:05

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Where's my bash man pages at?

I just upgraded to bash 3.0-5

A "pacman -Ql bash"  shows that the man pages are not in the package. I will submit a bug report.

Offline

#3 2005-02-11 22:00:35

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Re: Where's my bash man pages at?

Hey, thanks "frosty".  I thought I was losing it there for a second.

Offline

#4 2005-02-11 22:08:44

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: Where's my bash man pages at?

You did it :-)
http://bugs.archlinux.org/index.php?do=details&id=2186
I added comments about the problem (it's related to info pages installation) . I think this can be easly fixed.

BTW my abs has the latest version of bash PKGBUILD (3.0-5).

Offline

#5 2005-02-11 22:27:38

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Re: Where's my bash man pages at?

lanrat wrote:

[..]BTW my abs has the latest version of bash PKGBUILD (3.0-5).

I synced this morning and it was 3.0-3 before I made this post.  After seeing yalls replies a few hours ago, I resynced and now have 3.0-5 too.  I must have been "fortunate" enough to hit the server in between it's updates.

Offline

#6 2005-02-12 09:44:46

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Where's my bash man pages at?

switching to one ofthe bash version totally screwed my pooch - everytime i logged in bash grabbed the cpu and went for a run! see what it is like with latest

Offline

#7 2005-02-12 17:19:18

skoal
Member
From: Frequent Flyer Underworld
Registered: 2004-03-23
Posts: 612
Website

Re: Where's my bash man pages at?

Ah, sweet...3.0-6.  I got my man pages back baby.

Dibble, everything is running pretty smooth over here.  No cpu spikes.  My bash procs only chew up ~<0.1% of the CPU at any given time.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB